Nav: Home
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 25, 2012, 07:32

Login with username, password and session length

MicrostockGroup

Microstockgroup Sponsors


« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print

Topic: Blank e-mail  

(Read 1722 times)
Bateleur


Dreamstime GaugeiStock Gauge
« on: March 23, 2007, 04:23 »

I've just received a completely blank e-mail from Dreamstime ... or apparently from Dreamstime. No text, no subject line, nothing. The address of the sender is [email protected]

I'm reluctant to reply to it directly as, with scammers these days, you never know.

Anyone else had one of these?


Ignore | Logged


DepositPhotos.com
fotografer
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2007, 04:25 »

Contact support rather than replying directly to e.mail.


Ignore | Logged


Freezingpictures


Dreamstime GaugeiStock Gauge
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2007, 04:48 »

Yeah, I got one of these two...


Ignore | Logged


Greg Boiarsky


« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2007, 10:29 »

I cannot stress this enough--NEVER, EVER REPLY TO AN EMAIL WITH AN UNKNOWN SENDER.  Don't think about it.  Don't read it.  Delete it immediately.

Even if an email looks blank, it could contain a 1-pixel image that links to a virus or bot script.  Sometimes, just passing your mouse over these micro-images can launch a script, such as a tracking script that tracks your web surfing.

Logged


CJPhoto


« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2007, 11:37 »

I cannot stress this enough--NEVER, EVER REPLY TO AN EMAIL WITH AN UNKNOWN SENDER.  Don't think about it.  Don't read it.  Delete it immediately.

Even if an email looks blank, it could contain a 1-pixel image that links to a virus or bot script.  Sometimes, just passing your mouse over these micro-images can launch a script, such as a tracking script that tracks your web surfing.

it wasn't exactly an unknown sender.  it was the fact that it was blank that it was suspicious.  YOu can only tell this by openning it I assume?


Ignore | Logged


Bateleur


Dreamstime GaugeiStock Gauge
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2007, 17:45 »


it wasn't exactly an unknown sender.  it was the fact that it was blank that it was suspicious.  YOu can only tell this by openning it I assume?


No. I can tell before opening it, strange though it may sound.

I use an anti-spam program called Mailwasher which gives me a list of e-mails waiting on the server, and which allows me to delete unwanted ones, or even bounce them (making it look as if my e-mail address doesn't exist), before I download them to my computer.

It also allows me to look inside e-mails to see what they contain before I download them. That's how I knew this e-mail was blank.

Of course I contacted support, and this was the reply I received ...

Thank you for contacting us.
This is a legitimate  email address of Dreamstime.
Most likely this was sent by accident. We apologize for any inconvenience.


So ... problem solved.


Ignore | Logged


Peiling


« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2007, 19:55 »

yah anything that is strange or look a little weird i usually dont read and i report as spam to the original company.


Ignore | Logged


Microstock InsiderEnvateo Photo Tools
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Related Topics
Subject Started by Replies Views Last post
Blank model release
General Stock Discussion
Stepunk 8 1841 Last post November 12, 2007, 13:37
by Pixart
Earnings page on 123rf is showing up blank this am US (EST 6:30am)
123RF
ljooc 19 3220 Last post January 25, 2009, 15:10
by Ploink
Fotolia site returning blank?!
Fotolia.com
leaf 9 1119 Last post January 04, 2010, 00:05
by MatHayward
Blank Upload Page
iStockPhoto.com
rimglow 10 732 Last post July 22, 2011, 13:16
by ShadySue
iStock site mail
iStockPhoto.com
mtilghma 21 675 Last post May 21, 2012, 10:53
by sgoodwin4813

TinyPortal v1.0.5 beta 1© Bloc