Nav: Home
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 25, 2012, 20:50

Login with username, password and session length

MicrostockGroup

Microstockgroup Sponsors


« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print

Topic: Strange e-mail from Fotolia  

(Read 1828 times)
Anyka
« on: February 03, 2008, 08:19 »

I got this strange e-mail from Fotolia (or from some one claiming to be Fotolia) :

"We regret to inform you that content 2422629 easter duckling looking up in a grass field was not accepted. An error appeared while uploading to the website and only a part of the file has been received. As a result, we can not review the file. This problem sometimes occurs when the upload server is busy or if the connection between your computer and our server has been interrupted.
We are sorry for this inconvenience and we encourage you to submit your file again.

This email has been sent to you by Fotolia. If you do not wish to receive these emails, please modify your profile by clicking here"


The strange thing is, that this image was successfully uploaded a week ago, got approved the day after, and is immediately found when I do a search.

I am definitely not going to click on "here" and will change my password.

Any one else got mails like this? 


Ignore | Logged


DepositPhotos.com
Danicek


Dreamstime GaugeiStock Gauge
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2008, 08:42 »

It may be just a bug on Fotolia side. You can contact their support.

Also, you can easily view the link below that "here". Is it pointing to fotolia or to some other strange URL or even something having IP numbers in it?

On the other hand, I really think you are right with being suspicious and that forwarding this email to them may be really appreciated by them (in case it is just a scam starting to spread around).


Ignore | Logged


Anyka
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2008, 10:14 »

You're right, I'll report it.  I followed your advice and found that the "here" link goes to "as1.emv2.com".


Ignore | Logged


madelaide
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2008, 11:22 »

the "here" link goes to "as1.emv2.com".

Hmm, a clear case of malintention.  It could be password theft or maybe spyware downloading.

And the guy behind it went a long way checking your images to make the email at least partially believable.  You should forward it to FT with the complete headers if possible, because they can get extra information there (IP address and such), although the person may have been very careful about leaving clues behind.

Regards,
Adelaide


Ignore | Logged


Peter



« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2008, 14:37 »

thanx for sharing the info! those thieves never sleep! Curse them all!


Ignore | Logged


Amos Struck
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2008, 13:01 »

as1.emv2.com is Fotolias Supplier for E-Mailing and Newsletters


Ignore | Logged


madelaide
« Reply #6 on: February 04, 2008, 15:19 »

as1.emv2.com is Fotolias Supplier for E-Mailing and Newsletters

Is it so?  I would have never guessed.  My FT emails always come from FT addresses (I've even checked some I have filed), and it is nevertheless strange to have a link to a site that is not FT.

Regards,
Adelaide


Ignore | Logged


msv

Dreamstime GaugeiStock Gauge
« Reply #7 on: February 05, 2008, 05:01 »

Is it so?  I would have never guessed.  My FT emails always come from FT addresses (I've even checked some I have filed), and it is nevertheless strange to have a link to a site that is not FT.

It's a recent change, I noticed it because I had to change my outlook filters for the mail coming from them.


Ignore | Logged


madelaide
« Reply #8 on: February 06, 2008, 12:16 »

Indeed, today I got mails (approvals and sales) from [email protected].

Gladly Hotmail didn't block them.

Regards,
Adelaide


Ignore | Logged


null



« Reply #9 on: February 06, 2008, 13:20 »

You're right, I'll report it.  I followed your advice and found that the "here" link goes to "as1.emv2.com".

Phishing. Also beware of seemingly valid links, but when you hover over them, they link to a Javascript function, which you can see at the bottom on the status line of Firefox.



Ignore | Logged


Microstock InsiderEnvateo Photo Tools
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Related Topics
Subject Started by Replies Views Last post
Strange happenings at Fotolia « 1 2 »
Fotolia.com
ozbandit 29 3619 Last post August 29, 2007, 20:43
by ozbandit
Mail scam
Off Topic
madelaide 10 1638 Last post November 12, 2007, 23:30
by alpy7
Confirm e-mail
Shutterstock.com
Pixart 8 1076 Last post December 13, 2007, 19:42
by admart01
Fotolia Emails - strange - but figured it out
Fotolia.com
rubyroo 7 1307 Last post July 19, 2010, 17:07
by dehooks
Strange trend with buying and selling with Fotolia
General Stock Discussion
RedScarlet 0 519 Last post February 17, 2011, 19:25
by RedScarlet

TinyPortal v1.0.5 beta 1© Bloc