Nav: Home
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 26, 2012, 07:04

Login with username, password and session length

MicrostockGroup

Microstockgroup Sponsors


« previous next »
Pages: 1 [2] Print

Topic: Me? or has my prime language failed me?  

(Read 4088 times)
madelaide
« Reply #25 on: July 31, 2009, 10:16 »

I am a little confused here: are you surprised about the Fotolia API and the fact that they have this type of redistributors? 
madelaide.... if it was all up front in plain language, shame on me... I missed it. But to answer your question.. I'm not surprised at anything that comes out of the FT stable.  Cool=tom

Tom, many FT partners have already been "found" here at MSG, that's why I was surprised with your surprise. Smiley


Ignore | Logged


DepositPhotos.com
a.k.a.-tom
« Reply #26 on: July 31, 2009, 16:39 »

a.k.a.-tom you are my new hero with your excellent positive attitude.  Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy


 Cheesy  Thanks fotografer... But I'm not all that special.  I just try to keep it all balanced and in perspective... easiest way to do that is look around and....     ...it's not hard to find someone that has problems worse than I do.
      In my case, I was fortunate to catch it in the very beginning... stage one and localized..   so it's not all that hard to be positive when you're looking at a 95-100% cure. 
      When I sit in that clinic for the chemo and look around... I count my blessings. My heart is torn in two when I look at many of the others sitting around me with far less hope than I.   Sad, sad thing.    ...   Thanks for the support none-the-less, my friend, it is appreciated very much!    Tom


Ignore | Logged


m@m



« Reply #27 on: July 31, 2009, 16:57 »

On the contrary Tom, YOU ARE! a very special person, positive people like yourself are rare now days, that's why you will always win regardless of what low curve life may throw at you...my prayers are with you buddy!


Ignore | Logged


cclapper
« Reply #28 on: July 31, 2009, 18:22 »

simple abuse of business ethics

As the economy goes further down the toilet, more and more of this is happening, and not just with microstock sites. Employers are free to rip off their employees however they want, and a lot of employees are shaking in their shoes over losing their jobs and they are willing to go along with whatever is dealt to them. And the ones that don't put up with it, well, when they look around behind them, nobody is there.

If there is going to be any change in microstock, many, many people are going to have to be willing to go without supper for awhile. And I just don't think that will happen. Let me know if it does, I'm there.

It all boils down to the whole corporate America's mantra nowadays...the guys at the top travel in style, the guys doing the work can't even afford a car.

Sorry for the rant...this hit a personal note.

edit: Fotolia...I bailed a long time ago. Sounds like a made a wise decision for once. Tom...my thoughts are with you. Glad you caught it early. Hang in there.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2009, 18:24 by cclapper »

Ignore | Logged


ann
« Reply #29 on: September 30, 2009, 12:47 »

so is Photo Clubs a legitimate reseller/redistributor of Fotolia's, or are all our files stolen?


Ignore | Logged


click_click


Dreamstime GaugeiStock Gauge
« Reply #30 on: September 30, 2009, 14:10 »

Please anyone correct me if I'm wrong but I was under the impression that anybody who has a web site can use Fotolia's API to sell Fotolia images on their web site.

Preferably it should be a site dedicated to stock images to make it worthwhile for the visitor but as far as I can see, it's totally legitimate.

Fotolia's API registers all sales and directs payouts and commissions to everybody involved.

I thought this is an interesting way of letting others do the marketing. Why not? It gives our images more exposure and we may even make an occasional sale from these sites.

Who's getting hurt?

I've also found many distributors from Fotolia that no one knew about but they all turned out to be for real. Whether it is worth for those people who run the API on their web site is a totally different story though and not my problem whatsoever.


Ignore | Logged


madelaide
« Reply #31 on: September 30, 2009, 16:44 »

Who's getting hurt?

From a previous thread here, I got the impression that these resellers have access to all images and not just thumbs - this would be a major concern.  Isn't that correct?

Maybe there are two categories of resellers, one that can simply create a virtual store redirecting to Fotolia itself, others like Pixmac which have their own site, search tools, and redistribute FT images.  The latter would be my concern.


Ignore | Logged


click_click


Dreamstime GaugeiStock Gauge
« Reply #32 on: September 30, 2009, 16:59 »

Who's getting hurt?

From a previous thread here, I got the impression that these resellers have access to all images and not just thumbs - this would be a major concern.  Isn't that correct?

Maybe there are two categories of resellers, one that can simply create a virtual store redirecting to Fotolia itself, others like Pixmac which have their own site, search tools, and redistribute FT images.  The latter would be my concern.

I remember vaguely that Chad from Fotolia did make a statement about that in regards to one of their distributors. I'm pretty sure that any transaction outside of Fotolia are secured by their API which means that no high-res images are released directly to their distributors.

Of course it would be more than stupid if Fotolia handed their entire collection over to all their distributors HOPING that they report back all sales. I can not imagine that a company of that size would act so naive.

I'm trying to dig out Chad's statement mentioned above. I hope I can find it.


Ignore | Logged


OM


« Reply #33 on: October 01, 2009, 19:35 »

Up late, surfing the web as I do occassionaly to see what pops up under my name or company... and I come across this.

Photo Club RF stock photo.  Has my pix for sale. At the bottom of the page there is this;
this product uses the Fotolia API, but it is not certified, endorsed or sponsored by Fotolia and Photo Clubs is not affiliated or related to Fotolia.

http://photo-clubs.net/getMediaData.php?id=3488891

And at the top there is a shortcut to Fotolia.  What gives? What am I missing? How do I know I'm getting paid?
Hope I haven't missed a thread on this somewhere...Cool=tom


Thanks for that tip. I went to their site and searched for one of my very few images on my Fotolia Europe site. I found it complete with a pricing in USD. One problem.........all my images are priced in Euro on the Fotolia site. So.......how does someone buy one of my images there (on Photo Club) in USD credits when my pricing is in Euro credits.The credits on Photo Club go 1,2,4,5 in USD and my credits on FT are the same but in Euro. So, that means, as an exclusive FT contributor, I get paid 60 Eurocents when a buyer pays $1 = 69 Eurocents. I didn't think that microstock agencies worked for such a small margin........maybe that's the reason the file sold like hot cakes for the first month and then abruptly halted. Dunno..........maybe I'll risk getting banned and broach the subject on FT.


Ignore | Logged


leaf
« Reply #34 on: October 02, 2009, 01:08 »

depending on where the customers is on Fotolia, they purchase in either $$ or Euro direct on the fotolia site and you get paid in the currency that your account is based on.  There have been a few threads about this before albeit a while ago now.

http://www.microstockgroup.com/fotolia-com/different-fotolia-payout-in-different-countries/


Ignore | Logged


OM


« Reply #35 on: October 02, 2009, 05:06 »

Thanks leaf. Stoopid of me to post that...works the same if a US buyer buys an image through FT.com.

Posted a query about PhotoClubs on the FTeu message board last night but it's vanished this morning.
No trace of  the message.


Ignore | Logged


Envateo Photo ToolsMicrostock Insider
Pages: 1 [2] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Related Topics
Subject Started by Replies Views Last post
Canon wide angle prime lens vs. 24-70mm zoom
Cameras / Lenses
common 16 5370 Last post April 08, 2008, 21:39
by Lizard
123RF uploads FAILED
123RF
Vonkara 3 836 Last post March 02, 2009, 04:13
by Magnum
Is Alamy actually saying which image failed QC?
Alamy.com
melastmohican 20 3536 Last post May 24, 2010, 00:21
by Danybot
New 70-300, as good as the prime!
Canon
Lagereek 0 347 Last post November 07, 2011, 15:21
by Lagereek
If one is failed in istock approval..?
iStockPhoto.com
gemmy12 4 620 Last post November 10, 2011, 05:57
by gemmy12

TinyPortal v1.0.5 beta 1© Bloc