MicrostockGroup Sponsors

Author Topic: Model Release for travel photos  (Read 8493 times)

« on: March 18, 2012, 00:55 »
Hello

I am a travel photographer and take all types of related photos. But I can not submit these to stock agencies (except landscapes) as because none of these has model release. I face a similar problems if I visit a market place and photograph human behavior and interaction. I am referring to photos like these: http://www.istockphoto.com/stock-photo-18783154-arrogant-gunners.php?isource=EN_PHOTOFMA [nofollow]
How am I suppose to obtain Model releases in these cases?

Thank you

traveler1116

« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2012, 01:40 »
Seems pretty straight forward, you have to ask your model to sign a release.

« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2012, 02:15 »
Seems pretty straight forward, you have to ask your model to sign a release.

Thank you.
Did you have any experience like this where you have obtained model releases from total strangers? What about those who can not sign and moreover can not sign in English?

grp_photo

« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2012, 02:29 »
You can submit those images to Alamy as Editorial/RM without Modelrelease. Getty has Modelreleases in many languages including Mandarin for example. There isn't much commercial need for RF-pictures like this if an Ad-agency would make a campaign around photography like this they go to Getty/Corbis and buy these pictures RM with exklusive rights. For all other uses books (travelbooks), magazines you don't need releases I would recommend Alamy to you for this kind of stuff.

« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2012, 09:33 »
Hello