pancakes

MicrostockGroup Sponsors

Author Topic: Royalties lower than 2004!  (Read 22111 times)

« on: March 07, 2011, 14:08 »
I started a thread in IS's help forum this morning because I received a 34 cent royalty on an XS image sale (regular collection, not dollar bin). At a 35% royalty rate and 2 credits for that size, the buyer paid 48 cents a credit.

If a newbie independent - at 15% royalty - made an XS sale (1 credit) that would net them just over 7 cents. That's less than the 10 cents a sale royalty I got for a small size (it was S, M, L then) in 2004 when I was a newbie (and there was no exclusivity then; everyone was 20%). Even Yuri at 20% would only net 9.6 cents royalty on an XS.

You can see the discssion - if there is any - here, including Sean's referencce to an earlier enquiry about 50 cent per credit prices where CR had responded that it was a special deal for a large buyer.

I guess my thought was that too many credit sales at that sort of a discount and you've effectively brought the partner program to iStock - I'd have made 42 cents a sale on that image if it had been via the partner program.

I'm not sure where contributors go with this sort of price squeeze. But it does make me think that we have more to worry about than the RC targets that will determine our 2012 royalty rates. If IS is trying to bolster market share by cutting prices to bigger buyers our $$ per download are going to slip. Very depressing stuff.
« Last Edit: March 07, 2011, 16:42 by jsnover »

lisafx

« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2011, 17:57 »
Yikes!  That is disturbingly low.  Thanks for linking the discussion at IS.  Can't believe I will be expected to accept royalties lower than 10 cents a download!  

I haven't had any yet, that I know of, but I don't really watch that sort of thing closely.  You can bet I will be watching now!

Just checked.  I had three today at .15 and one at .09!!!  :o

I'm going to be sick....  >:(  :P  :'(
« Last Edit: March 07, 2011, 18:04 by lisafx »