MicrostockGroup Sponsors

Author Topic: Lighting 101  (Read 4581 times)

tab62

« on: March 23, 2011, 12:52 »
Hi Stock Folks,

On this particular photo it was rejected do to the following reasons-

Poor lighting setup, poor contrast or incorrect exposure

I am new to the photo world thus not sure what is might by the rejection in full detail? I had the exposure to 100 ISO and thought the lighting was good. Guess not.

Thanks.

Tom

« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2011, 13:08 »
you need to bring more light into the set.. it is dark dark despite a few blinks.. buy some strobes and you will see what I am talking about.. you can always place your set near a window and try to capture some of that light :)

tab62

« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2011, 13:15 »
The sad thing is that I had the lights and didn't use them- my fault. Lighting is an art by itself and I've got a lot to learn...

« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2011, 13:26 »
As mentioned in the other thread, why are you sticking slimy, uncooked fish with clean vegetables?  What's the message here?

red

« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2011, 14:25 »
Check your monitor too. Are you seeing something different on your monitor as compared with the images on the websites? All of your images appear to be on the dark side. What colorspace are you working in? Do some measuring of your white and black values. Are you post processing your images on a decent monitor?

tab62

« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2011, 15:49 »
yeah, the composition is weak with the fresh veggies and uncooked fish. My monitor is a cheap Princeton $175 that I got from cosco a few years back. Any recommendations on monitors?

« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2011, 16:32 »
The Dell u2210 is a great deal, or if you can afford it then the u2211.
if you have deeper pockets then we work with th u2410 which is a great monitor (saving up for the u3011)

« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2011, 18:15 »