pancakes

MicrostockGroup Sponsors

Author Topic: Anything that i could improve on my vectors in order to generate more sales?  (Read 4145 times)

« on: October 18, 2012, 18:42 »
I am now considered doing this full time, however my monthly sales can never exceed USD$100, so i seriously need some help here. I do not know what is the problem and any comments or suggestions will be very much appreciated.

http://www.shutterstock.com/gallery-559120p1.html

Currently i am selling my design on Shutterstock, Vectorstock and 123rf..Is there any other good sites to sell vectors? i have tried Istock and Dreamstime,and it's a nightmare for me as i keep getting rejections, not quite sure what is the problem..

Please let me know what do you think about my design or anything u would like to share with me..=) Thankiu!

« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2012, 22:34 »
I'm not a vector artist but I really like your stuff! As far as I can say your characters (snowman, people, animals) like well proportioned which is something a lot of illustrators are struggling with.

I can see your stuff selling really well at Zazzle and Cafepress plus you can set your own commission which makes it even more attractive.

Maybe microstock is not the best place for such illustrations.

Some Zazzlers can easily rake in a couple grand a month with wedding invitations, baby shower announcements etc. using just that style. Do a search on Zazzle to see the competition. It's hard to get started - BUT - there are no reviewers!!! You need to get a critical amount of designs in your store and ideally direct traffic to your store (Twitter, FB, personal referrals etc.). But even their own marketplace search engine can earn you several hundreds a month.

I didn't check a lot of your images in regards of keywords but they looked ok from what I saw.

I'd say keep doing what you're doing. Apply to more sites - it's tough but it'll pay off in the long run and think about offering print on demand products like Zazzle.