pancakes

MicrostockGroup Sponsors

Author Topic: Keyword phrase query on Shutterstock search  (Read 4828 times)

« on: July 04, 2013, 23:50 »
Hi all

I am new to Shutterstock. I have a query regarding the use of keyword phrases and its impact on the search results. What would happen in the following three scenarios if the user searched using the two words - clay & pot:
1. The image has two separate keywords -> clay & pot
2. The image has the keyword phrase -> clay pot
3. The image has the keyword phrase in quotation marks -> "clay pot"

Thanks for any clarity on this.

« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2013, 01:05 »
If an image has been keyworded with quotation marks it will appear with out them on ss as a phrase. So "clay pot" will be - clay pot -. If the user searched with the words clay & pot and you had them as separate keywords or with words together as a phrase, I believe there would be little difference in search results.

The point of keyword phrases is to eliminate your images appearing for irrelevant search terms. For example, I have images of Orchard road in Singapore, I use the keyword phrase - orchard road - and not the words orchard & road separately, as if someone were to to type the word orchard they should see images of orchards and not images of a city.

« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2013, 01:39 »
Thank you Microstock Posts. That clarifies. As you said, SS removes the quotes and so, there is no scenario where a keyword phrase will appear within quotes. I tried it just now and it works the way you said (quotes are being removed).

I also understand your point about ensuring that my images dont appear in irrelevant searches by using keyword phrases appropriately. Thanks !

« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2013, 01:44 »
I have another query regarding SS keywords. SS seems to order the keywords (and phrases) alphabetically even though I submit them in an order of relevancy. Is it OK ? Will if affect the search in any way ? Thanks !

« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2013, 02:58 »