MicrostockGroup Sponsors

Author Topic: Newbie experience  (Read 25704 times)

« on: February 08, 2014, 17:16 »
I am new to both photography/illustration and stock photo, starting to upload this Jan. Wanted to get some sense how typical my experiences are.

I now uploaded about 80 pics. It's shocking how much difference there is in the review process among big 4. Can never get 7 approved at ss. It's almost 100% at is, 50% at dt, and 20% at ft.

And I though things might start at the most selective one, namely ft. Nope. It's with the least selective is. So far I have about 20 dls from is and nothing from the other 2 at all. In fact most of the dls at is were rejected at the other 2 sites.

Is this typical? If so should I even bother uploading at the other 2?

And then there is ss... Enough said about how hard for newbies to get in there. They are extremely inconsistent. I have several approved in different submissions, but always rejected in the next submission, making me totally at loss what they like. I don't think I will try again there.
« Last Edit: February 08, 2014, 17:18 by Crystal »

« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2014, 17:28 »
+3
If you're 'new' to photography, and decided to jump right into submitting, it's likely you don't have a consistent quality that will get you a majority of acceptances.

« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2014, 17:42 »
If you really want to do stock then you will need patience and frustration resilience. It takes time,sometimes years, to discover what the agenvies take, what sells where, what are you good at producing and what do you enjoy producing?

And of course you have to keep learning new things because your competition doesn't sleep.

Good luck!

« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2014, 17:52 »
Sean is right, it is more likely that it is you, who have inconsistencies, although there can be some randomness in the review processes on the different agencies.

ShadySue

• There is a crack in everything
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2014, 18:41 »
+2