MicrostockGroup Sponsors

Author Topic: Has anyone had any success with the "On the Red Carpet" Program?  (Read 4481 times)

« on: February 06, 2015, 07:36 »
I'm relatively new to Shutterstock (although not to microstock), and recently I came across the "On the Red Carpet" program. I was just wondering how successful others have been at using the program to gain access to these kind of events.

I've submitted my application for the 6 nations rugby tournament in the UK, so hopefully i'll get good news.  :)

Any experience with the program would be great.

« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2015, 08:45 »
+4
I submitted a red carpet application for a couple of events and was granted access.  One event has earned me enough money to have been worthwhile, the other not at all.  I think the trick is to pick events that have image use / interest spanning a much broader market than the event itself.  You probably aren't going to sell many (if any at all) news images from the event - the majority (or possibly all) of the sales will come from searches done in the following months / year.

Rugby could be a good topic.  Good luck.

« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2015, 08:55 »
Thank you for the reply leaf.  :D

Ideally I would like the photos to be useful universally, as you say, and therefore more popular, but even if this was not the case, to gain access to these kind of high-profile expensive and incredibly popular events would be great.

« Last Edit: February 16, 2015, 10:20 by tridgers »

« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2015, 12:25 »
+2
I think it might be OK if you're shooting celebrities. I've tried to use the Red Carpet program twice. The first time, Shutterstock did not impress the credentials committee, The second time Shutterstock ignored my request for help. I have better results negotiating on mu own.

« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2015, 07:23 »
Thanks for your reply BikeTourist.