MicrostockGroup Sponsors

Author Topic: Who buys vector stock?  (Read 9349 times)

« on: June 16, 2015, 19:32 »
I'm new to selling vector stock, and I really enjoy making vector images in Illustrator. I'm trying to figure out what are the best vector images to sell. I think it would help to know about who buys most vector art and why? I know it is graphic designers, but what kind? what do they use it for most? how can I figure out what vectors will sell for me?

Thanks for any help!
Karla

ShadySue

• There is a crack in everything
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2015, 20:31 »
You've just got to 'suck it and see', i.e. upload your work to various agencies and see what sells. You may find differences between the agencies.
What sells for other people means that there are well-established people in that subject area or style who are your competition.

« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2015, 20:00 »
I know it is graphic designers, but what kind? what do they use it for most?

You are right, professional graphics designers use Illustrator and InDesign. They do work for businesses because businesses have money to spend on advertising. The guy who wants images for his book cover and the woman who wants pics for her blog probably do not know what a vector is. The surest way to make money is to learn about business and technology issues and what kind of illustrations are being used for ads and content about those issues.

« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2015, 20:31 »
...what kind? what do they use it for most? how can I figure out what vectors will sell for me?