MicrostockGroup Sponsors

Author Topic: Elements 8.0 or CS4?  (Read 7532 times)

« on: February 12, 2010, 10:27 »
I'm new in microstock and though I have been taking photos for several years, I never did some postprocessing. I've downloaded the trial of Elements 8 and I'm thinking of buying it after the trialperiod. But I'm not sure if it is sufficient in the long term, could I better buy CS4?
My main question is: What are the advantages of CS4, what can you do with it which isn't possible in Elements?
Thanks in advance.

« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2010, 11:31 »
My main question is: What are the advantages of CS4, what can you do with it which isn't possible in Elements?

What I would miss in Elements (if it's still the same in 8, I used 6 before switching to CS): Working in layers on a 16-bit image. Elements didn't allow that, you could either work in 16-bit colors flat files or in 8-bit colors layers.

You might also want to look into Lightroom. Price is between Elements and CS. It's more photographer oriented than CS, you can do a lot of things in there easily. But the interface is pretty different, so it's hard to get tips from others. I use it as a library tool and for the RAW conversion before switching to CS for the fine-tuning of the image.

Then again, if you don't earn a lot money with photography yet, you might want to keep your investments low at the beginning. It's not as easy to get the money back as a newbie than it might have been three or four years ago.

abimages

« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2010, 12:18 »
The Pen Tool. I couldn't do without it. :)

« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2010, 12:29 »
The main differences would be CMYK and Lab color modes, and the Pen Tool.

If you need to ask "what is Lab color?" then you don't need it. The Pen tool essential for me to do quick isolations.