MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: Updates  (Read 91542 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

« Reply #625 on: October 09, 2017, 11:30 »
0
It happens just once a week, not so many times.
It can save you a lot of headache if the program gets terminated incorrectly and the configuration will be reset.

I think it would be enough to remind me less often. Site configurations are something what i change maybe 2 times a year

It's not about site configurations (restoring them is not really a problem usually).
It's about other data (database of uploaded images paths for submitting them, releases database, balance history). Losing all of it will most likely be a disaster.

I see
Can not it be automated?  Like I give the path once, and it always save there after that without any windows coming up


« Reply #626 on: October 10, 2017, 01:23 »
0
It happens just once a week, not so many times.
It can save you a lot of headache if the program gets terminated incorrectly and the configuration will be reset.

I think it would be enough to remind me less often. Site configurations are something what i change maybe 2 times a year

It's not about site configurations (restoring them is not really a problem usually).
It's about other data (database of uploaded images paths for submitting them, releases database, balance history). Losing all of it will most likely be a disaster.

I see
Can not it be automated?  Like I give the path once, and it always save there after that without any windows coming up

I would recommend to have multiple backups, not just the latest one. In case one of the backups will be corrupted or something nasty like power cut will happen during writing the backup.
Besides, creating a backup takes significant time so if the program will just do it silently upon startup some users may think it hanged.

Noedelhap

  • www.colincramm.com

« Reply #627 on: October 10, 2017, 02:55 »
0
I have no problem creating a backup every week or so, but I get the popup every single time (i.e. every day) on startup, even after making a backup yesterday.

What about automatically creating a backup (like an autosave, say five backup files, and then repeatedly overwriting the oldest ones)? The program could say 'Creating backup' at the splash window.
Or at least giving users the option 'Don't show this again'? I understand it's important to backup image data (although power cuts and freezes don't happen often). But this popup window is getting annoying like a spam mail or cookie wall.

« Reply #628 on: October 10, 2017, 03:09 »
0
When I first asked about backups , this is what  I got:

All of my files are stored on a network NAS which is 24/7 on with hybrid RAID + there are 2 local backups to computers on network. Furthermore my NAS is synchronized with backblaze so a cloud backup of FILES THEMSELVES is created. But I click on "no I dont want to backup data" at the startup of the program. Backing up files themselves is I suppose sufficient? If statuses of images by agencies are stored in files themselves then all is good. (video has a seperate file, i know).

Cheers,

« Reply #629 on: October 10, 2017, 06:24 »
0
I have a small feature suggestion:

Above the sites list there are the boxes to tick all sites at once for uploading or submitting. For the upload column there could be one more tickbox which only engages for upload all the site where Stocksubmitter can handle the submission too

« Reply #630 on: October 10, 2017, 22:07 »
0
@Noedelhap

Are you sure you're creating a backup successfully in response to that backup suggestion dialog?
Because if you do so it definitely shouldn't ask about it for a week.

@nd3000

Statuses are indeed stored in the images themselves.
However, there is other important information that you would want backed up I think. Please read my post above about that.

@Desintegrator

I will consider it for inclusion in the future updates, thanks.

« Reply #631 on: October 11, 2017, 10:46 »
+1
Also there is a bigger issue where some warning window or something would be needed
There is this button labelled "RT QuickMeta". I have no idea what does it do or how to use it, but sometimes i click it accidentally and then all my work in the selected file's metadata gets totally messed up. So much that i have to start from scratch. Is it's very annoying.. sometimes there is a lot of thought in properly keywording a file, then all the work disappears without any warning.

There should be a warning window coming up with that button. Even better an option to hide that button, and make it the default setting. It even took me a few occasions of just wondering what had happened to my metadata until i realized that it's triggered by clicking a wrong button.


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
2 Replies
2517 Views
Last post July 29, 2006, 16:10
by leaf
26 Replies
11754 Views
Last post May 16, 2008, 17:21
by hospitalera
1 Replies
1659 Views
Last post September 25, 2012, 15:54
by ShadySue
14 Replies
2349 Views
Last post November 20, 2012, 18:41
by CD123
137 Replies
8439 Views
Last post May 27, 2013, 21:48
by Leo Blanchette

Sponsors

Microstock Poll Results

Sponsors