Nav: Home
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 26, 2012, 20:33

Login with username, password and session length

MicrostockGroup

Microstockgroup Sponsors


« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print

Topic: Where are all those Fotolia ads coming from?  

(Read 1209 times)
jbarber873


« on: February 21, 2011, 20:16 »

   A question for the computer geeks out there- you know who you are.  Smiley  I've been noticing that wherever I happen end up on the web- say a news article, or something totally unrelated to microstock, I will very often- at least every other time- get an ad from Fotolia or Dreamstime or Thinkstock, among others. At first I just put it down to the intense competition from these sites, but It's starting to occur to me that maybe my browser is telling the website that i spend a lot of time at microstock sites, and they are serving up those ads. I suppose this is a naive question to many, but I didn't know they could do that so effectively ( if they are doing it, and it's not just coincidence.) Am I paranoid, or is my browser out to sell me something?


Ignore | Logged


DepositPhotos.com
ppdd


« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2011, 20:22 »

Yes, advertisers track you. Since you visit those sites, and the ad network knows this, you get the ads. I think it's kind of dumb since you obviously already visit them, but you have been profiled yes. If you install another browser, you'll not see those ads, I'd guess.


Ignore | Logged


jbarber873


« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2011, 20:27 »

  Creepy!


Ignore | Logged


Blufish



« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2011, 20:55 »

Have you cleaned out your cookies recently? That can help


Ignore | Logged


visceralimage


Dreamstime GaugeiStock Gauge
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2011, 07:04 »

Have you cleaned out your cookies recently?

Eat them Grin Grin


Ignore | Logged


Blufish



« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2011, 08:13 »

Lol!


Ignore | Logged


jbarber873


« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2011, 08:57 »

Yum- cookies! I guess i can do that, but then all the websites that preload my preferences will be zeroed out. I think I'd rather see the fotolia ads. Maybe I'll click on some of them. They don't bother me, I was just curious if this was a marketing tool or random chance. I get the feeling there's no such thing as random in cyberspace!


Ignore | Logged


Xalanx


« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2011, 11:18 »

  Creepy!
Also, they know where you live.


Ignore | Logged


Xalanx


« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2011, 11:19 »

Just kidding...


Ignore | Logged


Xalanx


« Reply #9 on: February 22, 2011, 11:20 »

Maybe...


Ignore | Logged


fotografer
« Reply #10 on: February 22, 2011, 17:09 »

^^^^LOL  I've noticed Dreamstimes ads all over the cheezburger site and wondered if it was because I regularly visit DT but as pointed it seems a bit pointless to advertise it to me if I already use the site.


Ignore | Logged


Envateo Photo ToolsMicrostock Insider
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Related Topics
Subject Started by Replies Views Last post
Christmas is coming....
General Stock Discussion
hatman12 6 1214 Last post May 31, 2007, 04:03
by leaf
Best of the up and coming?
General Stock Discussion
tsmarkley 15 2150 Last post July 27, 2007, 00:27
by epixx
Up and Coming???
New Sites - General
fotoxalia 3 1044 Last post October 17, 2007, 13:34
by epixx
2010 Fotolia Tax coming !! « 1 2 3 4 5 »
Fotolia.com
elwynn 117 17393 Last post January 14, 2010, 16:02
by madelaide
DP, is really coming on!
DepositPhotos
Lagereek 21 1684 Last post January 28, 2012, 15:56
by luissantos84

TinyPortal v1.0.5 beta 1© Bloc