Nav: Home
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 27, 2012, 03:48

Login with username, password and session length

MicrostockGroup

Microstockgroup Sponsors


« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print

Topic: Shutterstock "Your account is LIMITED"  

(Read 2744 times)
yuliang11


« on: December 24, 2010, 10:26 »

just wanna let you guys know there has been a phising attack using this email asking for your username and password.


cheers






Hello ,

Your account is LIMITED For Miscellaneous Activity with Shutterstock .

You can get your own account back by visiting the following page:

http://www.shutterstock.com/reset_account.mhtml?code=QWZJoo5lKUcPaS4hIImZEEeR

This process is designed to ensure the privacy and security of your account information. If you have further questions, please contact [email protected]. Thank you for using Shutterstock.

Best Regards,
Shutterstock


Ignore | Logged


DepositPhotos.com
disorderly


Dreamstime GaugeiStock Gauge
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2010, 10:41 »

I'm going to guess that the link in the email doesn't actually link to shutterstock.com.  That's the way these things usually work: by providing a link whose text looks correct but which really goes somewhere else entirely.


Ignore | Logged


yuliang11


« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2010, 10:42 »

I'm going to guess that the link in the email doesn't actually link to shutterstock.com.  That's the way these things usually work: by providing a link whose text looks correct but which really goes somewhere else entirely.

right.... it's to some website


Ignore | Logged


Fred


Dreamstime GaugeiStock Gauge
« Reply #3 on: December 24, 2010, 10:55 »

So Why are you publishing the link here!  So somebody can make a mistake and click on it!.  

Yuliang:  Please modify your post and put the link in a Code wrapper.

(i.e.)
Code:
http://www.somewhere.com

c h e e r s
fred
« Last Edit: December 24, 2010, 10:56 by Fred »

Ignore | Logged


disorderly


Dreamstime GaugeiStock Gauge
« Reply #4 on: December 24, 2010, 14:01 »

So Why are you publishing the link here!  So somebody can make a mistake and click on it!.  

If they do, nothing bad will happen.  Nothing.

(In the original message, the link went to a phishing website.  Often these are on domains that might look legitimate to a casual observer, but will not be the same as the text you see in the message.  In my mail reader, holding the mouse over the link will show the target, which will generally be identifiable as a phishing site.)


Ignore | Logged


yuliang11


« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2010, 21:37 »

So Why are you publishing the link here!  So somebody can make a mistake and click on it!.  

If they do, nothing bad will happen.  Nothing.


Yes , right. the url of the href is different. I'm just surprised this is happening to shutterstock and it seems only i am getting the message. it makes me think how unsafe the internet could be.


Ignore | Logged


Fred


Dreamstime GaugeiStock Gauge
« Reply #6 on: December 25, 2010, 07:39 »

So Why are you publishing the link here!  So somebody can make a mistake and click on it!.  

If they do, nothing bad will happen.  Nothing.


Yes , right. the url of the href is different. I'm just surprised this is happening to shutterstock and it seems only i am getting the message. it makes me think how unsafe the internet could be.

A couple of more users have reported the problem on the SS forum.

fred


Ignore | Logged


maigi



« Reply #7 on: December 26, 2010, 14:38 »

Here is some information about that phishing site simplepleasuresgallery.com.

======================================

Registrant:
   Simple Pleasures
   111 Skyline Drive
   Downingtown, Pennsylvania 19335
   United States

   Domain Name: SIMPLEPLEASURESGALLERY.COM
      Created on: 11-Jun-00
      Expires on: 11-Jun-12
      Last Updated on: 13-Sep-10

   Administrative Contact:
      Sterlacci, Rick 
      Simple Pleasures
      111 Skyline Drive
      Downingtown, Pennsylvania 19335
      United States
      6103449711      Fax -- 6103449712

   Technical Contact:
      Sterlacci, Rick 
      Simple Pleasures
      111 Skyline Drive
      Downingtown, Pennsylvania 19335
      United States
      6103449711      Fax -- 6103449712


Ignore | Logged


mike ledray

New Member


« Reply #8 on: January 03, 2011, 11:32 »

I too got the same email on Dec 24th 2010

I sent the email and info to SS and they took it very seriously and are looking into it

I have since changed my passwords and paypal passwords and info


Ignore | Logged


elvinstar


Dreamstime GaugeiStock Gauge
« Reply #9 on: January 03, 2011, 13:51 »

Has anyone called Rick? If we all call him a few times a day his life could get pretty miserable pretty fast.  Wink


Ignore | Logged


Microstock InsiderEnvateo Photo Tools
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Related Topics
Subject Started by Replies Views Last post
shutterstock "short term subscription test"
Shutterstock.com
diego_cervo 10 1787 Last post November 01, 2007, 11:03
by grp_photo
Shutterstock - "Noise" Rejection, How to clean up the sky
Shutterstock.com
maco0708 19 3888 Last post May 02, 2008, 07:24
by Dreamframer
"Account Terminated" « 1 2 3 »
Crestock.com
Lior 59 6427 Last post August 15, 2008, 09:55
by leaf
Shutterstock Images - How Many Downloads Do You Need to "Catch On"?
Shutterstock.com
sgcallaway1994 4 1430 Last post September 14, 2009, 07:32
by Noodles
Sync between "Total earnings" and "account balance"
iStockPhoto.com
pet_chia 4 650 Last post December 01, 2010, 18:38
by ShadySue

TinyPortal v1.0.5 beta 1© Bloc