MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: Review time?  (Read 14585 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

fritz

  • I love Tom and Jerry music

« on: September 16, 2012, 08:06 »
0
Banner says: review time under 2 days. Waiting sucks.
Well, mine are waiting review since 2012-09-06 ten days by now.
What an irony >:(


« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2012, 10:58 »
0
I have never - in my recent stint there since June 2011 - had my review time even close to what's stated on the front page. It will say something like under two hours and mine will take several days. And that will be without any new model releases or IP issues which is the reason they say things can sometimes take longer.

If it goes more than a week I submit a support ticket. Duncan says he'll look at it and then my files get reviewed. I don't know if the site periodically has a brain fart, but I'd suggest submit a ticket and they'll get looked at.

« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2012, 11:18 »
0
The estimated review time has been quite accurate for me.  They're usually one of the fastest sites, reviewing the same day I upload most times.  It's slowed to a couple of days recently but that's not unusual for this time of the year.

« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2012, 11:36 »
0
The only time I've had to wait for long (maybe up to a week max) is when there is a new release attached.

santosa laksana

  • White Flower.88.
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2012, 18:21 »
0
Hello

I was, worrying about it, but all well, I just await the three days and finished.

regards ;) ;) ;)

« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2012, 04:41 »
0
I mentioned it in another Canstock thread - my previous upload was awaiting for ~12 days until it was reviewed. I did open support ticket Duncan confirmed that he didn't see anything special/wrong.

Now my next batch is pending since 09-Sep...

At the same other many other contributors report fast review times.

My only guess is that some reviewers pick up some batches for review and then forget about them....

WarrenPrice

« Reply #6 on: September 18, 2012, 18:59 »
0
Short Review Time is VERY misleading.  They get review fairly fast ... BUT they sit in "Processing" for extended periods before actually being for sale ... or visible for reviews.

With just THREE of over 89  "Approved Files" in the active database, my welcome to CS is very disappointing.


« Reply #7 on: September 18, 2012, 19:46 »
0
I mentioned it in another Canstock thread - my previous upload was awaiting for ~12 days until it was reviewed. I did open support ticket Duncan confirmed that he didn't see anything special/wrong.

Now my next batch is pending since 09-Sep...

At the same other many other contributors report fast review times.

My only guess is that some reviewers pick up some batches for review and then forget about them....

Yup, the uploads from August have been reviewd. I'm currently stuck at around 5 September. I have been uploading daily since mid August, and reviews are seeping through chronologically, but way, way slower than I've grown accustomed to. (still beats Veer by a fortnight, though)

Recently reviewed files show up in my portfolio, but carry the status "Processing" for a while. Never seen that before, either. Guess the CanStockPhoto database and server capacity is maxing out.

Duncan gave me the same response. Time to revive the support ticket :)

WarrenPrice

« Reply #8 on: September 20, 2012, 14:16 »
0
My first upload of 150 images made it out of "processing" in less than a week.  All but 4 images were approve. 
I'm satisfied ... with the review process.

Now, Where's the Money?     ;D ;D

Poncke

« Reply #9 on: September 20, 2012, 16:02 »
0
sales have slowed down and Since a month or so the whole reviewing and processing time has slowed down due to an increase of submitted content. But the upload process is quick. I am happy enough to keep submitting to them because I am sure the sales, reviews and processing will be back up at some point.

« Reply #10 on: September 21, 2012, 12:02 »
0
I think that review time is not a big problem.
CS review time is never as described in orange banner, but is acceptable.
For me is the problem that I have had good sales on CS.
HAVE HAD !
Now, for more than a week NULL; NIENTE; NADA ; ZERO.
:(
Except on IS ( also less than normal), other stocks are ok for my sales.
So ?

« Reply #11 on: September 21, 2012, 12:15 »
0
All the agencies have long review times these days.

Which means "harvest time". All the photogs are spitting out streams of images and they all pile up in the gateway.



WarrenPrice

« Reply #12 on: September 22, 2012, 10:25 »
0
I'm liking the setup ... availability of information.  Now... show me some money.   ;D

« Reply #13 on: September 23, 2012, 01:53 »
0
I'm liking the setup ... availability of information.  Now... show me some money.   ;D

Agree!
I am in the club "SHOW ME SOME MONEY" too.

santosa laksana

  • White Flower.88.
« Reply #14 on: September 24, 2012, 21:16 »
0
I'm liking the setup ... availability of information.  Now... show me some money.   ;D

Agree!
I am in the club "SHOW ME SOME MONEY" too.

I also strongly agree and join CLUB,,,, Show me some money ..... ::) ::) ::) ::) ::)

« Reply #15 on: October 01, 2012, 19:40 »
0
Very slow reviews these days:( oldest file on my queue for 10 days now...

« Reply #16 on: October 05, 2012, 06:45 »
0
I'm liking the setup ... availability of information.  Now... show me some money.   ;D

Agree!
I am in the club "SHOW ME SOME MONEY" too.

I also strongly agree and join CLUB,,,, Show me some money ..... ::) ::) ::) ::) ::)

Ej, Ej, Ej, Santosa , my friend,

I think that we must pay member fee for our club,
or nothing with sales
:)


tab62

« Reply #17 on: October 05, 2012, 09:40 »
0
Duncan has been nothing but outstanding with my experiences! The majority of clubs take about a week or longer if you include Veer and Pantermedia.

Poncke

« Reply #18 on: October 05, 2012, 12:16 »
0
I want $$$ regardless of nice or bad guys running the site.

« Reply #19 on: October 06, 2012, 00:36 »
0
I want $$$ regardless of nice or bad guys running the site.

Wow, we have a new member in our " SHOW ME SOME MONEY" club.

santosa laksana

  • White Flower.88.
« Reply #20 on: October 12, 2012, 04:18 »
0
I want $$$ regardless of nice or bad guys running the site.

Wow, we have a new member in our " SHOW ME SOME MONEY" club.
---------------------

He he,,,,, friend ...
Make it free for members, and will continue to add members of Give Me Some Money
 :-* :-* :-*

« Reply #21 on: October 13, 2012, 07:29 »
0
I want $$$ regardless of nice or bad guys running the site.

Wow, we have a new member in our " SHOW ME SOME MONEY" club.
---------------------

He he,,,,, friend ...
Make it free for members, and will continue to add members of Give Me Some Money
 :-* :-* :-*
.

Agree!
First month free, then free beer for everybody who pays 10 bucks monthly fee.
A, good stock thinking, agree?
Nice weekend to all.

CD123

« Reply #22 on: October 13, 2012, 07:56 »
0
I am sure Duncan will not mind me posting our communication here, as it go a far way in explaining the review time calculation the site displays. I was querying the fact that my images was in queue for nearly 3 days while the review time fluctuated between 3 days, 0 hours, 1 day, two days during that time (now 4). Duncan's explanation:

"Hi Charl,

We have different upload lines for different file types. So photos, illustrations, and videos are approved separately. The average on our front page is *all* approvals within the last hour. Depending on what team is most active within the last hour, and depending on what file type is being approved, the times may change quite a bit.

It is accurate in that it is the real average approval time within the last hour - we're not projecting or guessing an average wait time. However, it may not represent the kind of files you submit, and may not be the same by the time your images come up for inspection.

Regards,

Duncan
Can Stock Photo Support"

My response to this was:

Hi Duncan

But if it is based on such diverse information, is the info of any use. About no one submit all types. Why not break it down into the types or, if not possible, just leave it out completely? As mentioned, it causes more questions in my opinion that supplying answers.

Regards

Charl"

Awaiting further feedback on my suggestion.

Think it creates "false hope" of the time you have to wait.

Poncke

« Reply #23 on: October 13, 2012, 11:31 »
0
Well, thats some review time indicator then. It will be interesting to know what he replies to your question.

CD123

« Reply #24 on: October 15, 2012, 10:00 »
0
Reply from Duncan:
"
Hi Charl,

It's our experience that most people see this has a "fun" statistic and don't get too concerned over it being a hard-guarantee. Since it's a real average, for every person that has a file that takes longer than the posted average, one person will have a file that is approved quicker.

Of course the reality is that how long it takes to approve an image really does not make much difference in the grand scheme of things, whether it be a few hours or a few days.

Regards,

Duncan
Can Stock Photo Support"

From above posts it does however seems like some contributors do take the indication seriously and have some expectation based on it. If I recollect correctly the Canstock add on MSG also made specific reference to this waiting period.

The longer time one waits to get your images approved the less time it was available for sales. We also have budgets. So I do believe waiting time does make a huge difference (therefore used in their advertisement as an advantage, not so?).

Sorry Duncan. Big supporter of your site, but can unfortunately not agree with you on this one.  Was great when you, on average, was able to keep to the indicated review times 90% of the time. Now that it seems not to be able any longer (seemingly 80% longer for images submissions than the indicated general average) , it might have served its purpose. :-\

PS Duncan made aware of this thread for his direct further response to your feedback if he so prefers.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2012, 10:15 by CD123 »


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
30 Replies
11477 Views
Last post March 19, 2007, 05:06
by Karimala
9 Replies
3512 Views
Last post November 27, 2006, 16:36
by madelaide
36 Replies
8067 Views
Last post July 05, 2013, 01:48
by Ron
2 Replies
1840 Views
Last post May 16, 2008, 15:30
by trucic
review time

Started by Dan « 1 2  All » Veer

39 Replies
6514 Views
Last post March 25, 2014, 08:52
by Goofy

Sponsors

Microstock Poll Results