MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: I can't disable recently uploaded files  (Read 3831 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Noedelhap

  • www.colincramm.com

« on: March 23, 2015, 10:48 »
+1
"You can disable all files approved more than six months ago at any time. You are allowed to disable 30% of files uploaded in the recent six months however 70% must be kept online for six months from their approval date. You can disable each of your remaining 70% after the six months pass."

RIDICULOUS! I find it disgusting that DT has the gall to keep my files online without my consent. How in the world can they do this?

I just discovered that some time ago, I accidentally uploaded some files which were recently approved and online. Now I want to remove them, but I can't, because they decide in my place that they can keep my files hostage for 6 months. That's just beyond words!  >:(


« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2015, 11:14 »
+5
   It sounds like you are upset because you didn't read the terms of agreement before you started uploading there.

« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2015, 11:16 »
+1
The terms are really bad for contributors but it has been like that forever.  Now you know.

« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2015, 11:27 »
+2
I guess you could always upload more files, so you can get the other files you want to delete under the 30% threshold. It's kind of a strange strategy, but it should work.

« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2015, 11:35 »
0
"I just discovered that some time ago, I accidentally uploaded some files which were recently approved and online. Now I want to remove them, but I can't, because they decide in my place that they can keep my files hostage for 6 months. That's just beyond words!  >:(

If they are already online why don't you send the file numbers, I'm sure they will respectfully remove them for you.    (I know, but wouldn't it be easier if you could do it yourself!)

But, isn't it ironic they were not rejected for being too similar. :)

« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2015, 13:53 »
+2
The terms are really bad for contributors but it has been like that forever.  Now you know.

Not forever - when I first joined in 2004 that requirement wasn't there. It was around the time iStock introduced exclusivity that they started the hold.

What Serban originally proposed was 12 months and a number of us protested and stopped uploading saying that it wasn't reasonable. After some discussion, they agreed to 6 months - and at the beginning it was a flat 6 months from the date of upload to the date you could remove a file. Later they added the percentage of portfolio.

I didn't like the 6 months, but as a compromise, it seemed like something I could live with, and I guess most people felt similarly.

cuppacoffee

« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2015, 14:33 »
0
Because of the ability to move images to lightboxes your image might be saved by a buyer and they would get mad if it suddenly disappeared. If it disappeared after 6 months it is their fault for not buying it, not DT's fault for removing it without notice.

« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2015, 14:36 »
0
The terms are really bad for contributors but it has been like that forever.  Now you know.

Not forever - when I first joined in 2004 that requirement wasn't there. It was around the time iStock introduced exclusivity that they started the hold.

What Serban originally proposed was 12 months and a number of us protested and stopped uploading saying that it wasn't reasonable. After some discussion, they agreed to 6 months - and at the beginning it was a flat 6 months from the date of upload to the date you could remove a file. Later they added the percentage of portfolio.

I didn't like the 6 months, but as a compromise, it seemed like something I could live with, and I guess most people felt similarly.
Ok not literally forever but longer than the OP has been a contributor.

« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2015, 14:58 »
0
The terms are really bad for contributors but it has been like that forever.  Now you know.

Not forever - when I first joined in 2004 that requirement wasn't there. It was around the time iStock introduced exclusivity that they started the hold.

What Serban originally proposed was 12 months and a number of us protested and stopped uploading saying that it wasn't reasonable. After some discussion, they agreed to 6 months - and at the beginning it was a flat 6 months from the date of upload to the date you could remove a file. Later they added the percentage of portfolio.

I didn't like the 6 months, but as a compromise, it seemed like something I could live with, and I guess most people felt similarly.
Ok not literally forever but longer than the OP has been a contributor.

Yap but those from beginning and added later tells 2 different stories  ;)

Noedelhap

  • www.colincramm.com

« Reply #9 on: March 24, 2015, 12:38 »
0
   It sounds like you are upset because you didn't read the terms of agreement before you started uploading there.

You're right, I hadn't read that particular part.  I'd heard about the 6 months term before, but I thought it only applied to removal for exclusivity reasons.


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
12 Replies
5584 Views
Last post June 04, 2011, 03:09
by wordplanet
2 Replies
1541 Views
Last post July 04, 2013, 09:56
by jsfoto
0 Replies
1494 Views
Last post June 24, 2015, 10:42
by The Mighty Jungle
8 Replies
3813 Views
Last post January 03, 2017, 12:20
by etudiante_rapide
2 Replies
1931 Views
Last post March 05, 2020, 03:46
by pics2

Sponsors

Mega Bundle of 5,900+ Professional Lightroom Presets

Microstock Poll Results

Sponsors

3100 Posing Cards Bundle