pancakes

MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: What is the default action? edit - Give away images free.  (Read 2315 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Leo Blanchette

« on: July 07, 2013, 03:58 »
0
Email from dreamstime:



This is an automated notification. Your portfolio includes images that have been online for more than 4 years with no downloads up to the present. In order to keep up with the current standards we believe they should be removed from our commercial database, allowing fresh content to be more visible.


The following action options are available for you to decide:


- donate the image to the free section (default action) which can provide significant portfolio exposure and increase your sales; images can be disabled at any time later.

- disable the image; this is permanent deletion of your image and should be used as a last resort.


In order to review the images and take the desired action, please access the link below.

If no action is taken, the default one is automatically selected.

Review the images: http://www.dreamstime.com/oldfiles.php



What is the default action? I'm not familiar with it since I only log in every few weeks to collect my earnings.

Edit, nevermind - I just read the part in parenthesis ... default action is they are automatically opted into free section.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2013, 06:34 by Leo »


« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2013, 04:18 »
0
I have set default action to disable.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2013, 04:24 by ajt »

« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2013, 05:02 »
0
Remember that you can switch the default action in deactivating the file

gillian vann

  • *Gillian*
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2013, 05:11 »
0
I don't disagree with the notion of disabling files that are 4 years old with no sales (& low views?), but DT presuming they can have these "useless" images in a free section seems odd... a bit Libran really. Do they like them, or not?

The free section is full of so much junk as to be almost useless searching through, although I suppose that's a good thing.

Leo Blanchette

« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2013, 06:23 »
0
If I never got this message they would give them away.

« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2013, 07:05 »
+1
If I never got this message they would give them away.
Every time an image is elegible to this action they sent the email. Also if you have any doubt, in your management area you can see if any of your files are in the free section. Go in management area in the middle in the statistic section the last row there is the line with the number of your files in the free section. Is something like " 10 free "images". So if you want click on the number (is a link to these images); and in the new page you can manage the files and disable it to keep the control over them.

Leo Blanchette

« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2013, 07:35 »
0
I have much to learn. This was new for me.

« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2013, 10:23 »
0
You should be able to change your default for all images to "delete" too, so if you miss a message they won't go into  the free section.

« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2013, 13:28 »
+1
I think there's a 30 day grace period before it goes anywhere if I read the email correctly.  Definitely set it to disable and not free.  If it's still available on other sites why give it away there?


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
6 Replies
3049 Views
Last post December 16, 2011, 11:46
by cybernesco
1 Replies
1822 Views
Last post January 08, 2013, 11:12
by cobalt
62 Replies
10325 Views
Last post June 04, 2013, 16:18
by sdeva
4 Replies
1931 Views
Last post December 07, 2013, 08:52
by marthamarks
6 Replies
763 Views
Last post March 12, 2019, 12:36
by davidbautista

Sponsors

Microstock Poll Results