MicrostockGroup

Microstock Footage Forum => Video Equipment / Sofware / Technique => Topic started by: mortenkjerulff on April 16, 2013, 15:12

Title: Anybody using kdenlive ?
Post by: mortenkjerulff on April 16, 2013, 15:12
I am new to video, and using Linux on my computer.

It seems that kdenlive is one of the best programs for editing video on Linux, but I am not able to produce a video using the right encoding for stock (so far iStock).
I am using a Canon 5Dii.

Any hints?

Best regards
Morten
Title: Re: Anybody using kdenlive ?
Post by: sharpshot on April 16, 2013, 17:48
I did have a look at kdenlive a while ago but had the same problem.  I've seen that some people use Blender for video editing on Linux.  Haven't had a play with that yet but it might be worth a look.
http://blendersushi.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/basic-blender-video-editing-101.html (http://blendersushi.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/basic-blender-video-editing-101.html)
Title: Re: Anybody using kdenlive ?
Post by: cardmaverick on April 16, 2013, 18:47
http://winff.org/html_new/ (http://winff.org/html_new/)

If you have some patience, you can get a copy of Lightworks from Editshare at the end of the month. It's a real professional NLE, no holds barred, and you'll even have access to all the proprietary codecs the post industry uses. Once it's out, I suspect Kdenlive will probably lose a lot of users and go defunct. Hard to compete with a program like Lightworks.
Title: Re: Anybody using kdenlive ?
Post by: mortenkjerulff on April 17, 2013, 07:11
Thanks Sharpshot and Cardmaverick, I will look at your suggestions :-)
Title: Re: Anybody using kdenlive ?
Post by: gigidread on April 18, 2013, 08:32
Hi!

When I have clips that don't need editing I use directly Mpeg Streamclip (www.squared5.com (http://www.squared5.com)) with WINE.

If I have to edit something then I use Kdenlive and export first with this preset:

Code: [Select]
s=1920x1080 aspect=@16/9 b=220000k vcodec=dnxhd acodec=pcm_s16le
and then I made a script to re-convert every files in mjpeg:

Code: [Select]
#!/bin/bash

for file in /home/gigi/FOLDER/*; do `ffmpeg -i $file -r 30 -s hd1080 -vcodec mjpeg  -qmax 1 -qmin 1 -acodec copy $file.mov` ;done


exit 0;

Gigi

Title: Re: Anybody using kdenlive ?
Post by: mayaartist on April 18, 2013, 09:51
Hi

I just add some small thing that's I'm using a lot(It's useful for isolated objects if you've got rendered image sequence from any 3d software like Maya, 3dsmax or other into *.tga or *.tif RGBA):

How to get a Grayscale Alpha "Lume" from image sequence(*.tga RGBA)

Code: [Select]
ffmpeg -i image_name.%d.tga -vf "[in] format=rgba, split [T1], fifo, lutrgb=r=minval:g=minval:b=minval, [T2] overlay [out]; [T1] fifo, lutrgb=r=maxval:g=maxval:b=maxval [T2]" image_name_alpha.%d.tga
Title: Re: Anybody using kdenlive ?
Post by: mortenkjerulff on April 19, 2013, 13:44
Thanks gigidread an mayaartist.

@gigidread:
Mpeg Streamclip looks simple to use, but unforunately it crashes for me when I try to export a video.

Since gigidread are using ffmpeg to transcode your export from Kdenlive, it must be doable directly from Kdenlive, as Kdenlive makes use of ffmpeg. Unfortunately I do not yet have the experience needed to write a preset.

I am now trying out Lightworks on a windows virtual machine, and will await the linux version.

Thanks again all.
Title: Re: Anybody using kdenlive ?
Post by: gigidread on April 19, 2013, 16:42
Quote
Since gigidread are using ffmpeg to transcode your export from Kdenlive, it must be doable directly from Kdenlive, as Kdenlive makes use of ffmpeg. Unfortunately I do not yet have the experience needed to write a preset.

It is doable, but the quality is terrible... I don't know why... It's ok just if you do the two steps...  :-\

Mpeg Streamclip crashes to me too, but not if I use the "batch list" option...