MicrostockGroup

Agency Based Discussion => Adobe Stock => Topic started by: Chichikov on January 04, 2017, 05:28

Title: How to put the “Description” field in the “Title” field ?
Post by: Chichikov on January 04, 2017, 05:28
As Fotolia/Adobe does not use the “Description” field from Lightroom, but the “Title” field, and as I don’t want to spend (too much) time to edit the files after they have been exported from LR or uploaded on the site, I would like to know if there is, on Mac, some tool/application/script/automator/droplet giving the possibility to automatically invert these two fields, putting the “description” field into the “Title” filed in the file?
Title: Re: How to put the “Description” field in the “Title” field ?
Post by: 50% on January 04, 2017, 07:12
Photomechanic can do this
Title: Re: How to put the “Description” field in the “Title” field ?
Post by: Sean Locke Photography on January 04, 2017, 09:16
I wish SS used the title field instead of the description field.  123 as well.
Title: Re: How to put the “Description” field in the “Title” field ?
Post by: wds on January 04, 2017, 09:25
I believe if the Title field is blank, Fotolia will use the Description field.
Title: Re: How to put the “Description” field in the “Title” field ?
Post by: Jo Ann Snover on January 04, 2017, 10:20
I wish SS used the title field instead of the description field.  123 as well.

I don't much care which is which, but some uniformity would be helpful for contributors.

You can't plan for anything with the mish-mash of rules. Rules about minimum and maximum lengths as well as whether one or both fields are used.

It'd be great if sites read both fields and let us pick which to use (if they allowed only one).
Title: Re: How to put the “Description” field in the “Title” field ?
Post by: dirkr on January 04, 2017, 16:17
I believe if the Title field is blank, Fotolia will use the Description field.

Right, they do.
Since I discovered that, I use short script running ExifTool to just delete the titles before uploading to Fotolia (as I upload to each agency out of a specific folder, that does not affect uploads to other agencies).

Put the following line into a script / batch file (don't know how that works on Mac, on windows you can simply create file with the editor and give it the .bat extension, then run it with double clicking on it):

C:\Programs\ExifTool\exiftool.exe -L -k -overwrite_original "-IPTC:Headline=" *.jpg

where (obviously) the path in the beginning points to your installation of ExifTool.

This will delete the title in all jpg files in the current folder.
Title: Re: How to put the “Description” field in the “Title” field ?
Post by: dirkr on January 04, 2017, 16:19
Oh, and I would like FT to use the description field, as what they want / what makes sense to put their is a long description. Some agencies use both title and description.
So title should be title, description should be description.
Title: Re: How to put the “Description” field in the “Title” field ?
Post by: Chichikov on January 04, 2017, 16:30
I believe if the Title field is blank, Fotolia will use the Description field.

Yes, but some sites ask for both, and I don't want to spend time to edit in different ways for different sites.

By the way I have noticed that Fotolia does not accept long titles, and generally my descriptions are much longer than the titles because I try to insert the more possible important keywords in it.

I think that Fotolia is a big "loser" from this point of view
Title: Re: How to put the “Description” field in the “Title” field ?
Post by: Chichikov on January 16, 2017, 05:30
I have found this
https://exifeditorapp.com/

With it I can delete the title data (called "Object Name")
In this way when I upload in Fotolia the description ("Caption-Abstract") becomes the title.

It works in batch.
Title: Re: How to put the “Description” field in the “Title” field ?
Post by: images on January 18, 2017, 04:12
You could just make them the same. AFAIK, DT is the only agency that won't accept a file if the two fields are the same. I just add one or two words to elaborate and make it different enough for them to accept.

e.g.
Title:
Woman wearing headset eating salad and smiling with thumbs up.
Description:
Beautiful woman wearing headset eating healthy salad and smiling with thumbs up.
Title: Re: How to put the “Description” field in the “Title” field ?
Post by: YadaYadaYada on January 19, 2017, 21:42
I wish SS used the title field instead of the description field.  123 as well.

I don't much care which is which, but some uniformity would be helpful for contributors.

You can't plan for anything with the mish-mash of rules. Rules about minimum and maximum lengths as well as whether one or both fields are used.

It'd be great if sites read both fields and let us pick which to use (if they allowed only one).

Agree, have to make the title blank so FT reads description. But get ready for Alamy that reads Headlines from Origins tab. Add one more.

Uniformity would be good.