pancakes

MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: Review times  (Read 6273 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

CofkoCof

« on: May 23, 2008, 06:44 »
0
How about a sticky thread on review times for the big 6?

SS: my images get constantly reviewed in 2 days
IS: about a week (don't know about exclusive reviews)
DT: no clue, didn't upload anything new in a while, ETR says 127h
FT: same as dt
StockXpert: last images took about a week
123rf: under 24 hours!

I'll add BigStock even though it's not in the Big6.
BigStock: two weeks or more


« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2008, 07:01 »
0
here are my experiences:

SS: 2days
IS: 6-7 days.... much to long
DT: 6-8 days at the moment.... this is getting worse since 3 weeks
FT: really fast in the moment ... 1-2 days
StockXpert: 7-12 days
123rf: 4-12 hours!


« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2008, 07:52 »
0
for 123RF, if you find the review times more than 24 hours after you've uploaded, (and you're sure all keywords, descriptions and releases are there) do send me an email.

Alex.

This one thing I like about 123rf, short review times. That is great and also the support from you and several other features . I just wish I could sell more there, I think is gonna get better, it has been getting better for me.

« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2008, 04:55 »
0
I agree with gualberto, I find difficult to sell anything in 123rf, maybe they have less customers  ???

michealo

« Reply #5 on: May 30, 2008, 05:20 »
0
I don't care what the review times are for any site, I just upload and forget about it ..

« Reply #6 on: May 30, 2008, 14:11 »
0
Although I appreciate quicker review times (Simply because my images are available for sale)
I have to generally agree with michealo "I don't care what the review times are for any site, I just upload and forget about it .."

I upload so many images that everyday new images are being added to my portfolio EVERYDAY regardless of review times.

It appears to me that the only people really concerned with review times are generally amateurs adding images piecemeal
a few images at a time, or once or twice a week or so.

Cranky MIZ

« Reply #7 on: May 30, 2008, 15:00 »
0
My only problem with review times is backlog building. I am in process of reviewing, processing and uploading of my old photos so I submit equally to every site. If there are any limitations: number, process or review, it builds up on some sites. I gave up uploading to BigStock, SV cause it takes light years to review. DT and FT are probably next cause I cannot deal with hundreds of files in queues. Their process is to time consuming. I managed to upload around 1000 photos per month to SS, 123RF, CS, FP.  I got average acceptance rate of 45% but 99% of my sales coming from SS. I am not shooting specifically for  stock right now I just upload whatever I got so I am happy when it sales.

CofkoCof

« Reply #8 on: May 30, 2008, 18:31 »
0
On some sites I dont care what review time is (well actually it's like rjmiz said: "the sooner the image is online the sooner it can start selling". This is true for all sites). But still on some sites I especially like the fast reviews because:
- on SS I usually submit small batches that get online during the first days of the week. I noticed that files get better sales that way (getting files online on friday doesn't work for me. Might be just a random thing, but I still don't like to practise it). So if they review the batches in a day, I can submit a batch every day. If the review them every 2 days then I submit every 2 days (since they tend to review all the pending batches at the same time. Not always, but quite often.).
- same goes for IS. If the images get reviewed fast they can get downloads fast. If they get downloads fast they appear higher in the best match search. Also I like to know when my files will be online on IS so that I can add them to lighboxes(same for 123rf),...
- My acceptance ration at BigStock is currently just under 70% so I can have only 40 images pending (which is not enough for the 2 week waiting period). So I'd like them to review images faster, because I can't get them online as fast as I'd want.
- often I produce similar images which I don't submit in the same batch, since they would get rejected (123rf is strict about that, also fotolia,...). So I break them up in a few batches. If a site reviews images fast then I can get all the batches online faster.

yecatsdoherty

« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2008, 14:17 »
0
exclusive on iStock, review times usually within 24 to 48 hours

CofkoCof

« Reply #10 on: June 13, 2008, 18:35 »
0
Review times on BigStock are a bit better lately. Had the last three batches approved in 5 days.

« Reply #11 on: June 17, 2008, 06:19 »
0
for IS non-exlusives it is more of a "7 and more days" review times, I'm waiting for files uploaded on June 12th to be approved, and there when you look at "browse recent" there is more than 20000 images to come before mine take their turn, while the exclusives' images has surpassed non-exclusive number being approved by more than 40000 images.

tan510jomast

« Reply #12 on: June 17, 2008, 06:48 »
0
Although I appreciate quicker review times (Simply because my images are available for sale)
I have to generally agree with michealo "I don't care what the review times are for any site, I just upload and forget about it .."

I upload so many images that everyday new images are being added to my portfolio EVERYDAY regardless of review times.

It appears to me that the only people really concerned with review times are generally amateurs adding images piecemeal
a few images at a time, or once or twice a week or so.

Cranky MIZ

I hate to agree with MIZ but I have to agree.

If you upload in bulk and you expect the sites to approve your images within 24 hours, you 're not being reasonable.
I upload one at a time, being very selective, giving each site what they tend to prefer, as each site has different needs.

We have to be professional about it, and not just upload everything to every site we belong to. Or else, when you get a bulk rejection,
you will come back here on this forum to complain about being rejected en masse.

finally, as to the speed of review time, I return the favour that each site presents to me. The sooner they accept my images, the more I send them, as I sense their interest in my images are being reflected through their quick review time. Needless to say, I am in this for long term, so I don't judge a site on a quick sale, but more so, how they take an interest in my submission and how communicative they are when I contact them.
« Last Edit: June 17, 2008, 06:56 by tan510jomast »

« Reply #13 on: June 17, 2008, 09:50 »
0
Stop yer bitchin' and moanin'
Take a few of these
http://microstockpix.com/supplies/page2/page2.html

Cranky MIZ
The voice of reason


tan510jomast

« Reply #14 on: June 17, 2008, 10:01 »
0
Stop yer bitchin' and moanin'
Take a few of these
http://microstockpix.com/supplies/page2/page2.html

Cranky MIZ
The voice of reason




do you give discounts on bulk order, MIZ ?  ;D


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
1 Replies
2249 Views
Last post June 15, 2010, 02:17
by peresanz
5 Replies
2693 Views
Last post September 22, 2010, 18:34
by luissantos84
54 Replies
19802 Views
Last post July 26, 2014, 12:50
by etudiante_rapide
5 Replies
2757 Views
Last post February 20, 2014, 11:38
by Goofy
3 Replies
1826 Views
Last post May 13, 2021, 07:27
by qunamax

Sponsors

Mega Bundle of 5,900+ Professional Lightroom Presets

Microstock Poll Results

Sponsors

3100 Posing Cards Bundle