Microstock Photography Forum - General => General Stock Discussion => Topic started by: BaldricksTrousers on May 26, 2014, 13:12

Title: Another scumbag? (Seems it is legit)
Post by: BaldricksTrousers on May 26, 2014, 13:12
http://www.photo-travels.org/ (http://www.photo-travels.org/)

Some of my photos there. A whois lookup says the site is registered to a person in Gdansk, Poland, who is also a nature photographer with work on SS, 500 px, FAA etc.  I've asked for details of how to use someone else's photo for posters and postcards, we'll see what the reply is.
Title: Re: Another scumbag?
Post by: marthamarks on May 26, 2014, 15:33
This site is amazing, actually. Talk about brazen theft! The identity of those "best photographers from around the world" who own the copyrights to these "most beautiful and unique photos" is never revealed.

Here's the pitch statement from the site:

We present you carefully selected pictures from the most interesting places in the world - cities, monuments, buildings, and architectural objects - a cross section through thousands of years of human culture, work and faith. The most beautiful and unique photos of the objects created by men.
One life is too little in order to reach all these places.
The pictures taken by the best photographers from around the world allow you to see the places that you would never see otherwise.
If you want to use images for commercial purposes - send a message: [email protected]
We also invite Investors to help us in this website development.
Title: Re: Another scumbag?
Post by: Maximilian on May 26, 2014, 15:47
Title: Re: Another scumbag?
Post by: BaldricksTrousers on May 26, 2014, 16:05
IT's working find for me on Firefox
(I am, of course, flattered to have emerged as one of the World's  "best photographers" not just once, but many times over.)
Title: Re: Another scumbag?
Post by: Hobostocker on May 27, 2014, 03:48
it looks like a typical ripoff site designed to attract viewers from Google Images but it won't go far as the latest GI update a couple years ago pretty much killed this business once and for all.

Title: Re: Another scumbag? (Apparently not)
Post by: BaldricksTrousers on May 29, 2014, 11:54
It seems that he's ok, I got this reply:

Its possible to download photo with licence for use
by this link:
http://www.shutterstock.com/g/markmirror?rid=70518 (http://www.shutterstock.com/g/markmirror?rid=70518)

regards Mark

So he's trawling for referrals, not reselling illegally.