MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: frustrated with SOME of the lazy reviewers at shutterstock w/100% rejections  (Read 2949 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

« on: April 21, 2020, 21:35 »
+6
very frustrated with some of the reviewers who appear to just do an auto "100%" rejection because they are too lazy to do their job.

seems some of the reviewers shutterstock employs have figured out how to game the system, so are doing zero work, to get paid. (to be clear, not all of them - some do their job - I like those reviewers - it's the ones that don't do their jobs that I don't like).

seems the game is for those ones is - they wait as long as possible to review the items (i.e., say a week) - so it gives the "appearance" of being reviewed to the (semi-automated) metrics shutterstock uses - so they can paid for doing nothing. I'm all for reviewing & approving 'good quality' images & videos, and rejecting poor quality. But when you happen to land one of these reviewers who just wants money for nothing, so autorejects 100%, it's very frustrating.

Would be a great time now shutterstock to either weed out these poor quality reviewers - OR - a different company to do a better job than shutterstock.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2020, 11:31 by SuperPhoto »


« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2020, 21:36 »
+4
sadly, not sure what the point in contacting their support is, because it seems to be a stock reply as opposed to looking into it further...
« Last Edit: April 22, 2020, 11:18 by SuperPhoto »

georgep7

« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2020, 02:26 »
0
Apologies not contributing there,
but in other threads I read for sub sales and peanuts.

Why bother submitting to SS?

« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2020, 02:31 »
+6
Apologies not contributing there,
but in other threads I read for sub sales and peanuts.

Why bother submitting to SS?

Because 5 figures earnings/year, for me, is not 'peanuts' :)
« Last Edit: April 22, 2020, 02:37 by MotionDesign »

« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2020, 02:39 »
0
The once so premiere agency have totally derailed and the future journey can only go downhill!

SpaceStockFootage

  • Space, Sci-Fi and Astronomy Related Stock Footage

« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2020, 02:47 »
+7
Any evidence to support any of this... other than you having all your videos rejected?

« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2020, 03:14 »
+3
In the past I have had video rejections, when I pushed it to the limit with tricks like speed change etc.
In the last reviews that are also taking long time for me, I got rejections for noise.
That was for home shots in low ISO (up to 400 in my case is like zero noise for Sony A cameras), using a tripod and LED lights for still studio like shots.
I had even taken care to denoise with Neat Video any hint of noise in the background, just to be sure.
I have been a Broadcast TV editor for over 25 years.
I say that because many times I had the responsibility of doing (not spot but full-time view) quality control at a finished video, prior of sending it to the master control to play on air. That is a big responsibility if you are paid for it and needs to be spot on.
I mean to explain I follow all broadcast safe levels and details as many other contributors here do and I am certain there is no problem in at least these rejected videos of mine.
The ironic approach would be to say they want to protect us from low earnings so they just do not accept them!
But as many contributors say, we get more rejections that do not seem to be just.
True, I am not using broadcast equipment for stock, just a Sony A camera, but all the work years at TV help me know, see and decide If I am wrong or not.
That is why I find it hard to accept these rejections, if someone and not AI sees our videos at a tablet or mobile phone while we spend time on a calibrated 4K monitor, checking vector scopes and all details.

« Reply #7 on: April 22, 2020, 03:18 »
+1
I uploaded an editorial clip shot handheld on iphone yesterday and it was accepted in a few hours.

I also uploaded a few photos done with iphone and they got accepted.

Maybe I got lucky, but I will start regular uploading of mixed batches and then I will see how it goes.

« Reply #8 on: April 22, 2020, 06:29 »
+4
So, your title mentions videos and images, but you are only talking about videos...

Regarding photos, however, I totally don't share your analysis, based on my experience.

 I just counted over the past two weeks. On the first submission, I usually get 20% rejection for these stupid noise and focus reasons. It's definitely more than before. However, after resizing the files, the final ratio is much closer to 1 or 2%, which has not changed a lot over the past few years. Even better, I have the feeling that the initial rejection rate is falling a bit.

So, in a nutshell, I have more the impression that SS is trying to limit the amount of files being put for sale using bogus reasons. If you insist, however, they end up accepting your photos, because, in the end, they don't want to lose opportunities. That being said, it looks like video submissions are a bit more problematic, indeed...

« Reply #9 on: April 22, 2020, 07:32 »
0
Any evidence to support any of this... other than you having all your videos rejected?

yes.

« Reply #10 on: April 22, 2020, 07:40 »
0
Any evidence to support any of this... other than you having all your videos rejected?

No not many rejects I am talking money! all that is important!

SpaceStockFootage

  • Space, Sci-Fi and Astronomy Related Stock Footage

« Reply #11 on: April 22, 2020, 08:31 »
+1
Any evidence to support any of this... other than you having all your videos rejected?

yes.

But you're deciding not to share it?

« Reply #12 on: April 22, 2020, 08:45 »
+1
Lots of threads about rejections on SS these days but I also don't share that experience, all seems normal. The only time I get rejection is when I miss some logo and that's totally valid and my mistake.

« Reply #13 on: April 22, 2020, 08:57 »
0
I'm sorry that happened to you, however today they have reviewed 14 videos that I uploaded about 7 days ago, with the result of 5 approved and the others rejected due to noise, similar, etc.

« Reply #14 on: April 22, 2020, 09:00 »
0
Any evidence to support any of this... other than you having all your videos rejected?

yes.

But you're deciding not to share it?

hi, sent you a PM. thanks.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2020, 11:16 by SuperPhoto »

SpaceStockFootage

  • Space, Sci-Fi and Astronomy Related Stock Footage

« Reply #15 on: April 22, 2020, 09:36 »
+3
No, currently on less than half what I'd normally make in a month from Shutterstock. The reason I'm questioning what you're saying is that "shutterstock has CLOSED acceptance of new videos/images..." is a big thing. Like massive... headline news. But unless you can provide some kind of evidence that they have, then it's just not true. Please tell me you're not basing such a claim just on the fact that you're having all your content rejected?! That would be like me submitting five videos, having five videos accepted and then starting a thread saying that "Shutterstock are now accepting 100% of all content submitted".

« Reply #16 on: April 22, 2020, 09:47 »
+7
Maybe you should take a look at your own videos and see why they are being rejected instead of putting the blame on the 3rd world. I have a 90 percent approval rate in the last 2 weeks and it doesn't seem to be an issue for many other contributors either. As for reviews taking time, of course they are. Don't you know what's going on in the world?

As for speaking English, some of us who live in the 3rd world can speak and write better English than some of you can. So maybe, just maybe, keep your racist diatribe to yourself?


Noedelhap

  • www.colincramm.com

« Reply #17 on: April 22, 2020, 09:54 »
+2
Ridiculous title, totally misleading. Shutterstock did not closed acceptance of new videos or images.

You make it sound as if Shutterstock released a statement to contributors to postpone reviewing, but the reality is this is just a bitter post from someone venting his frustration about rejections. Which is fine in itself, but don't make it sound like it's an official statement and needlessly scare contributors with misleading titles.

FYI, I got my uploads (both video and images) reviewed and accepted within 2-3 days.

« Reply #18 on: April 22, 2020, 10:34 »
0
Maybe you should take a look at your own videos and see why they are being rejected instead of putting the blame on the 3rd world. I have a 90 percent approval rate in the last 2 weeks and it doesn't seem to be an issue for many other contributors either. As for reviews taking time, of course they are. Don't you know what's going on in the world?

As for speaking English, some of us who live in the 3rd world can speak and write better English than some of you can. So maybe, just maybe, keep your racist diatribe to yourself?

as for 'racist', no, its not in fact you are being quite racist by labeling someone as racist simply because you disagree with them.

if you are not a native english speaker, then yes - you do speak very well & congratulations, not an easy feat!
« Last Edit: April 22, 2020, 19:56 by SuperPhoto »

« Reply #19 on: April 22, 2020, 10:39 »
0
Ridiculous title, totally misleading. Shutterstock did not closed acceptance of new videos or images.

You make it sound as if Shutterstock released a statement to contributors to postpone reviewing, but the reality is this is just a bitter post from someone venting his frustration about rejections. Which is fine in itself, but don't make it sound like it's an official statement and needlessly scare contributors with misleading titles.

FYI, I got my uploads (both video and images) reviewed and accepted within 2-3 days.

Re: the title - no, it was not an announcement that shutterstock made (which is why I added the "because of sh** reviewers which I thought would make it obvious). But reviewing the actions they have been taking speaks louder then what they may or may not say. I didn't consider the title could be interpreted a different way, so thank-you, I've retitled it to be more specific.

As I mentionend - it seems particular reviewers (not all) just specific ones do a 100% rejection rate. I have had 'normal' reviews of uploaded images/videos - but it is very frustrating when I encounter one of these with the absurd rejection reasons. And I'm not the only one - many, many people are experiencing this - it just seems to be luck of the draw.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2020, 10:59 by SuperPhoto »

« Reply #20 on: April 22, 2020, 10:41 »
0
No, currently on less than half what I'd normally make in a month from Shutterstock. The reason I'm questioning what you're saying is that "shutterstock has CLOSED acceptance of new videos/images..." is a big thing. Like massive... headline news. But unless you can provide some kind of evidence that they have, then it's just not true. Please tell me you're not basing such a claim just on the fact that you're having all your content rejected?! That would be like me submitting five videos, having five videos accepted and then starting a thread saying that "Shutterstock are now accepting 100% of all content submitted".

No, I'm not basing it on that. I did not consider the title could be interpreted that way - so have re-titled it. Thank-you.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2020, 19:57 by SuperPhoto »

« Reply #21 on: April 22, 2020, 10:43 »
0
So, your title mentions videos and images, but you are only talking about videos...

Regarding photos, however, I totally don't share your analysis, based on my experience.

 I just counted over the past two weeks. On the first submission, I usually get 20% rejection for these stupid noise and focus reasons. It's definitely more than before. However, after resizing the files, the final ratio is much closer to 1 or 2%, which has not changed a lot over the past few years. Even better, I have the feeling that the initial rejection rate is falling a bit.

So, in a nutshell, I have more the impression that SS is trying to limit the amount of files being put for sale using bogus reasons. If you insist, however, they end up accepting your photos, because, in the end, they don't want to lose opportunities. That being said, it looks like video submissions are a bit more problematic, indeed...

I do agree with your analysis with respect to the photos. They do still seem to be getting a (semi) legitimate review moreso than the videos.

« Reply #22 on: April 22, 2020, 10:47 »
0
In the past I have had video rejections, when I pushed it to the limit with tricks like speed change etc.
In the last reviews that are also taking long time for me, I got rejections for noise.
That was for home shots in low ISO (up to 400 in my case is like zero noise for Sony A cameras), using a tripod and LED lights for still studio like shots.
I had even taken care to denoise with Neat Video any hint of noise in the background, just to be sure.
I have been a Broadcast TV editor for over 25 years.
I say that because many times I had the responsibility of doing (not spot but full-time view) quality control at a finished video, prior of sending it to the master control to play on air. That is a big responsibility if you are paid for it and needs to be spot on.
I mean to explain I follow all broadcast safe levels and details as many other contributors here do and I am certain there is no problem in at least these rejected videos of mine.
The ironic approach would be to say they want to protect us from low earnings so they just do not accept them!
But as many contributors say, we get more rejections that do not seem to be just.
True, I am not using broadcast equipment for stock, just a Sony A camera, but all the work years at TV help me know, see and decide If I am wrong or not.
That is why I find it hard to accept these rejections, if someone and not AI sees our videos at a tablet or mobile phone while we spend time on a calibrated 4K monitor, checking vector scopes and all details.

Yes, I 100% agree with you. I've done broadcasting too, among other things - so am familiar with the process of quality control/review/etc - so take time to make sure I use the right equipment, right lighting, right settings, etc - and even inspect frame by frame video to ensure their are no artifacts, etc especially at 4K levels. So it is frustrating when you get a beautiful picture/video that is rejected using an obvious non reason for rejection, such as  'low light' or 'noise' or something along those lines...

m

« Reply #23 on: April 22, 2020, 10:59 »
+1
there is plenty of evidence online that shutterstock uses reviewers from all over the world. You just need to look on linkedin
« Last Edit: April 22, 2020, 11:02 by m »

wds

« Reply #24 on: April 22, 2020, 14:56 »
+1
My favorite rejections are the arbitrary "invalid model release" where they don't tell you what is "invalid" about the release...they're just too busy to be helpful I guess.  >:(

« Reply #25 on: April 22, 2020, 16:20 »
+9
English is my second language, though I did grew up in an English speaking country, and at this point I only speak English. I'm not white. I also thought the OP was kind of racist when I first read the post. I just choose not to say anything at the time. I've also reviewed images before for one of the big 4 stock agencies. I think I did it for 2 years. It takes no more effort to accept all your images vs reject all your images. Either way, they are just pressing either an accept button or reject button. In fact if they are giving you a reason about the rejection, then it takes more effort to reject your videos because they have to find the correct rejection reason among the list they can choose from.

« Reply #26 on: April 23, 2020, 09:15 »
+1
very frustrated with some of the reviewers who appear to just do an auto "100%" rejection because they are too lazy to do their job.

seems some of the reviewers shutterstock employs have figured out how to game the system, so are doing zero work, to get paid. (to be clear, not all of them - some do their job - I like those reviewers - it's the ones that don't do their jobs that I don't like).

seems the game is for those ones is - they wait as long as possible to review the items (i.e., say a week) - so it gives the "appearance" of being reviewed to the (semi-automated) metrics shutterstock uses - so they can paid for doing nothing. I'm all for reviewing & approving 'good quality' images & videos, and rejecting poor quality. But when you happen to land one of these reviewers who just wants money for nothing, so autorejects 100%, it's very frustrating.

Would be a great time now shutterstock to either weed out these poor quality reviewers - OR - a different company to do a better job than shutterstock.


I think you could be dead right. I also heard this from a guy who used to review our work for years and many have figured out a way to game the systems and so on. Auto review thats all.
Well as I said earlier nothing surprises me anymore when it comes to this site.


« Reply #27 on: April 23, 2020, 11:14 »
+2
very frustrated with some of the reviewers who appear to just do an auto "100%" rejection because they are too lazy to do their job.

seems some of the reviewers shutterstock employs have figured out how to game the system, so are doing zero work, to get paid. (to be clear, not all of them - some do their job - I like those reviewers - it's the ones that don't do their jobs that I don't like).

seems the game is for those ones is - they wait as long as possible to review the items (i.e., say a week) - so it gives the "appearance" of being reviewed to the (semi-automated) metrics shutterstock uses - so they can paid for doing nothing. I'm all for reviewing & approving 'good quality' images & videos, and rejecting poor quality. But when you happen to land one of these reviewers who just wants money for nothing, so autorejects 100%, it's very frustrating.

Would be a great time now shutterstock to either weed out these poor quality reviewers - OR - a different company to do a better job than shutterstock.

I have been experiencing bogus rejections as well.  I posted about one of them awhile back where they rejected my waterfall photos for ""Title: Title must be descriptive and relevant to the subject matter and must be in English. Titles cannot contain special characters, spelling/grammar errors, or repeat words/phrases in excess."  My title for both (same waterfall, different angles) was: Name of waterfall, Name of National Park, Name of State, USA.  All in English. Completely relevant to the subject matter.  All spelled correctly.  Nothing repeated.  No special characters - just commas.  I re-submitted them and they still rejected one of them, even though the focus was on the waterfall and was f/13 taken on a tripod. 

The other bogus rejection I got recently was for another waterfall.  This time it said I was missing a property release and that the title/key words contained trademark issues.  Again, I re-submitted it and it was accepted....because a property release was not needed nor were there any trademarked words in it.

It would be nice if SS would address these reviewers who aren't doing their job properly.

« Reply #28 on: April 23, 2020, 12:05 »
0
Last night I uploaded a mixed themes batch with 14 photos, shot with various cameras, some outdoors with iphone, some with full frame dslr, some with digital toning, some with studio light...really mixed.

Today 13 were accepted and one declined.

Maybe I just got lucky.


Uncle Pete

  • Great Place by a Great Lake - My Home Port
« Reply #29 on: April 24, 2020, 06:58 »
+1
Last night I uploaded a mixed themes batch with 14 photos, shot with various cameras, some outdoors with iphone, some with full frame dslr, some with digital toning, some with studio light...really mixed.

Today 13 were accepted and one declined.

Maybe I just got lucky.

And that takes us back to the bottom line, biggest complaint.  Inconsistency.

We don't know if the rejection is real, a mistake, someone who can't comprehend English or just lazy.

« Reply #30 on: April 24, 2020, 09:38 »
0
Are you sure there is a human behind the IA? In my batches, when I send them to SS and BS the same pictures are rejected with the same reason.

I'm not sure there is always one person clicking. Looks like sometimes It's automatic, sometimes not.


« Reply #31 on: April 24, 2020, 09:45 »
0
Are you sure there is a human behind the IA? In my batches, when I send them to SS and BS the same pictures are rejected with the same reason.

I'm not sure there is always one person clicking. Looks like sometimes It's automatic, sometimes not.

yes, pretty sure.
a) If it was AI - computer's dont "need" a week to review a photo/video/etc. "They" could do a batch of 10,000 videos, or 100,000 images in a fraction of the time it would take a human reviewer. (You certainly wouldn't wait a week for results, and computers wouldn't get "ill" and need to work from home and need more time to process, etc).
b) For the nature of the photos/videos, etc - it would be difficult to make it pure AI algorithm vet photos/videos. Sure - it could flag certain things for follow up (i.e., if you really did have a 'noisy' photo) - but it would still need to be manually reviewed because maybe that 'noise' is good (i.e., static on a t.v. screen, rainfall, fast moving but desirable editorial footage, etc, etc).

Not sure what "bs" is though? What agency is that?

« Reply #32 on: April 24, 2020, 11:04 »
0
Big Stock. It follows the same patterns as SS.

The delay could be just a way to lie us or a way to make us upload slowly. Before this "delay period" my pictures used to be processed in one second.

« Reply #33 on: April 24, 2020, 14:07 »
0
Last night I uploaded a mixed themes batch with 14 photos, shot with various cameras, some outdoors with iphone, some with full frame dslr, some with digital toning, some with studio light...really mixed.

Today 13 were accepted and one declined.

Maybe I just got lucky.

And that takes us back to the bottom line, biggest complaint.  Inconsistency.

We don't know if the rejection is real, a mistake, someone who can't comprehend English or just lazy.



And you think the artists are consistent in the quality of their uploads?

My new results:

Last night I uploaded a mixed theme batch of 16 images.

- one was declined...because I had already uploaded it before and it was already in my portfolio (my stupid mistake)

- one was declined for legal reasons, apparently benches in Hyde Park are under copyright which I didnt know

- one was part of a series and they liked the others more (fair enough)

- one was declined for focus, that is the only one I dont quite understand, but I can always downsize and resubmit

So overall...pretty normal and reasonable result

« Reply #34 on: April 24, 2020, 18:12 »
0
I too am getting a lot of rejections. This wasn't the case a year ago but now 90% of a catalog will be rejected due to similar content, grain, or any other excuse. These reviewers don't even look at the footage half the time and the rejections are within a few hours.


« Reply #35 on: April 25, 2020, 04:16 »
0
Big Stock. It follows the same patterns as SS.


In my case BS rejects completely different pictures than SS does....
If they get rejected on SS BS will accept them - and the other way round.

« Reply #36 on: April 29, 2020, 23:49 »
0
I still get my photos accepted here and there, although it is true that they seem to be more strict lately.

Also, in my experience, if you submit an image that's in saturated topic (meaning SS already has a lot of similar images to yours), then it will be very difficult to get accepted. The reviewers will reject for various reasons: noisy, similar, not focus, etc etc. But if you submit an image that's not in saturated topic, it will be very easily accepted; even if it is noisy, not focus, etc.


« Reply #37 on: April 30, 2020, 07:11 »
0
15 rejected - 2 film noise/grain, 1 focus and 12 file transfer error, next submit all accepted, then 8 rejected - file transfer error, next all accepted

« Reply #38 on: April 30, 2020, 15:45 »
+3
Im now only submitting 3 or 4 (different) pictures at the same time and this seems to work- nearly no rejections. As soon as submitting more pictures than 4 at once they get rejected.

Friday edit: yesterdays and todays pics again all rejected for blurr.
Same scenes as pics that were accepted before.
Either they all get accepted or all get rejected. Although they have nothing in common (different days, different subjects).

I simply cant understand their system. It seems to be completely depending on WHO is reviewing the pics....
« Last Edit: May 01, 2020, 07:01 by Astrantia »

Uncle Pete

  • Great Place by a Great Lake - My Home Port
« Reply #39 on: May 01, 2020, 11:31 »
0
Last night I uploaded a mixed themes batch with 14 photos, shot with various cameras, some outdoors with iphone, some with full frame dslr, some with digital toning, some with studio light...really mixed.

Today 13 were accepted and one declined.

Maybe I just got lucky.

And that takes us back to the bottom line, biggest complaint.  Inconsistency.

We don't know if the rejection is real, a mistake, someone who can't comprehend English or just lazy.



And you think the artists are consistent in the quality of their uploads?

My new results:

Last night I uploaded a mixed theme batch of 16 images.

- one was declined...because I had already uploaded it before and it was already in my portfolio (my stupid mistake)

- one was declined for legal reasons, apparently benches in Hyde Park are under copyright which I didnt know

- one was part of a series and they liked the others more (fair enough)

- one was declined for focus, that is the only one I dont quite understand, but I can always downsize and resubmit

So overall...pretty normal and reasonable result

Fair enough, but one day something will be rejected for grain, the next day, same shoot, same camera, same settings, same lens... same processing will be refused for focus. Another day, another reason. What I'm getting at is not the fact that something is rejected, but the reasons vary and are inconsistent with the same images or others in the same setting, that were accepted or rejected.

Horrors, would I upload something substandard just to see if it passes? Yes I would.  :) And if something is rejected because it should be or because of some flaw I didn't detect, that's fine too.  8) I'll say that the most I upload the same image is the first time and maybe once more. After that, time to move on. I'm positive that there are some people who upload the same many times, different weeks or months. I don't think something that's that marginal is so important.

If the reviews were consistent, we could learn and adapt and maybe avoid uploading images that are going to get rejected?

Uncle Pete

  • Great Place by a Great Lake - My Home Port
« Reply #40 on: May 01, 2020, 11:32 »
+1
15 rejected - 2 film noise/grain, 1 focus and 12 file transfer error, next submit all accepted, then 8 rejected - file transfer error, next all accepted

File transfer error is not a rejection.

« Reply #41 on: May 02, 2020, 07:19 »
+1
No, currently on less than half what I'd normally make in a month from Shutterstock. The reason I'm questioning what you're saying is that "shutterstock has CLOSED acceptance of new videos/images..." is a big thing. Like massive... headline news. But unless you can provide some kind of evidence that they have, then it's just not true. Please tell me you're not basing such a claim just on the fact that you're having all your content rejected?! That would be like me submitting five videos, having five videos accepted and then starting a thread saying that "Shutterstock are now accepting 100% of all content submitted".
I have a similar experience to the OP.
In the last few months, for VIDEO at SS there was this thing widely reported of batches with 30 to 50% of files rejected without any logical reason (Often sequentially, like the first 12 rejected, the other accepted).
But it was only a matter of resubmitting and they would all be accepted.
But lately I have had a couple of batches with 100% rejections and then rejected again. After that I cannot upload to SS anymore, just cannot make connection through Filezilla.
The funny thing is that with ADOBE I had for the first time a whole batch rejected (hardly any rejections before) and not one single sale in March and April. I generally had 15-20 videos sold each month.
Finally I had a batch totally rejected at POND 5 (never ever had a single rejection there, they simply do not review files). Not a big problem because Pond 5 for me is dead and buried.
But there is certainly something going on, and that is not surprising because of the virus

georgep7

« Reply #42 on: May 03, 2020, 08:25 »
0
Here is an odd thought,
We are happy to use tools to bulk upload and multi agencies submit but do agencies can handle both curation storage and promotion of this large amount of work? Is there any reason for most files especialoy if eitherway they appear through most agencies and their partner sites, resellers, etc etc?

Not sure if i got the bigger picture correct.

Uncle Pete

  • Great Place by a Great Lake - My Home Port
« Reply #43 on: May 03, 2020, 10:16 »
+1
Here is an odd thought,
We are happy to use tools to bulk upload and multi agencies submit but do agencies can handle both curation storage and promotion of this large amount of work? Is there any reason for most files especialoy if eitherway they appear through most agencies and their partner sites, resellers, etc etc?

Not sure if i got the bigger picture correct.

Here, try this? Partners for some of the agencies, old list.  https://www.microstockgroup.com/general-stock-discussion/a-list-of-partner-programs/

I'm against the upload everything = everywhere plan. Some people like it. I think the uploading to as many sites as possible takes the market and makes us cheap, a pure commodity, nothing to do with quality and where the price is lowest wins. But look? Some people were still hanging on at Crestock or Yay or the others that have been nearly dead for years.

For What? So someone can sell our work and never pay, or so someone can hope for a payment every few years? Are people that desperate that they don't value their own work and don't see that the tiny parasite agencies are going away and unreliable. The idea that making a little is better than making nothing, seems to ignore that sold and not getting paid, is not only making nothing, but also means, missed sales from reliable agencies?

Anyway, I don't have to upload to 25 terrible cheap sites, the agencies are doing that for us.  ;)

« Reply #44 on: May 03, 2020, 10:39 »
+1
Some reviewer at SS has limited imagination, shots with same GH5 from different dates, indoors, outdoors, landscape, travel, health and safety, aquarium, driving - 10 out of 13 or 16 out of 18 rejected for "Content contains noise, film grain, compression artifacts, pixelation, and/or posterization that detracts from the main subject". It started a couple of months ago like this - commercial clips waiting for review 7-10 days (used to be 3-4 days), but editorials reviewed in a day or two from same batch and accepted. I am loosing interest in doing this. If SS would give contributors new rules/guidelines/examples what's acceptable and what's not it wouldn't be frustrating or tell us to slow down if they can't cope it would be understandable, but now out of nothing rejecting majority of work is not encouraging at all.

« Reply #45 on: May 07, 2020, 05:55 »
+1
The inconsistency in reviewing is not only at SS. While it's currently a lot better at Adobe Stock I have a 3D illustration pending for 8 days now. Other images and illustrations that were uploaded afterwards (sometimes days later) have already been approved.
Coincidence? sure but then why does it only seem to happen to my best work?

Reviewers are either your best friend or your worst enemy in stock, be it micro, macro, boutique, etc... In my case they are the enemy practically from day one.
I submitted the same image to SS and it got approved the day after. But then SS reviewers like to play games and randomly reject which requires a resubmission to get a proper review, most likely by a reviewer admin. Well this was the case a few years ago anyway. Maybe now they jump from one clown to the other.

Now that's all fine and dandy if you're uploading images and illustrations but 4K video? I don't know where you guys get the motivation to play along with these fools.
Obviously there are some justified rejections but most of the time it's just messing around.

If you do think reviews are done properly then explain to me why there are thousands of stolen images, almost exact copies (similars) and what not? They slipped trough? yeah right!

Meanwhile I see people trying to find rational explanations for what is happening, quite amusing actually. Don't you realise what power reviewers have in this business? Don't you think they can push one's exposure while limiting others with their reviewing tactics? Push one contributor in search while limiting others? Or just demotivate you to continue uploading by rejecting randomly? To me they practically run the show here, they are in control! not the admins or higher up. Keep that in mind when you get your next weird rejection ;)

« Reply #46 on: May 07, 2020, 08:16 »
0
Some reviewer at SS has limited imagination, shots with same GH5 from different dates, indoors, outdoors, landscape, travel, health and safety, aquarium, driving - 10 out of 13 or 16 out of 18 rejected for "Content contains noise, film grain, compression artifacts, pixelation, and/or posterization that detracts from the main subject". It started a couple of months ago like this - commercial clips waiting for review 7-10 days (used to be 3-4 days), but editorials reviewed in a day or two from same batch and accepted. I am loosing interest in doing this. If SS would give contributors new rules/guidelines/examples what's acceptable and what's not it wouldn't be frustrating or tell us to slow down if they can't cope it would be understandable, but now out of nothing rejecting majority of work is not encouraging at all.

easy: rules are:

a) you have to be a friend of the reviewer
b) you have to BE a reviewer

if you aren't one of those two - REJECTED!


georgep7

« Reply #47 on: May 07, 2020, 08:28 »
0
The blame game (if i got the phrase right).

Yes, curators might be or feel little Gods with their approve/reject buttons
but if agencies had actual people to address our concerns or requests or problems
there would be no issues unsolved. Right?

Here is a native phrase from my language, the fish stinks from it's head.

« Reply #48 on: May 07, 2020, 09:46 »
0
I submitted 1 image to SS four days ago. Landscape, a small road, a walkway running parallel next to a shoreline into infinity. Some trees, the ocean water, and the road. That is all. No signs no people, no nothing. This image was rejected for Property Release. I resubmitted yesterday. I will post the result.


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
25 Replies
11786 Views
Last post April 04, 2015, 16:03
by stuttershock
957 Replies
143207 Views
Last post November 04, 2015, 14:39
by cascoly
22 Replies
5728 Views
Last post April 04, 2015, 18:37
by shudderstok
212 Replies
22731 Views
Last post December 20, 2019, 10:08
by Snow
78 Replies
7254 Views
Last post March 01, 2020, 02:46
by trabuco

Sponsors

Mega Bundle of 5,900+ Professional Lightroom Presets

Microstock Poll Results

Sponsors

3100 Posing Cards Bundle