pancakes

MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: Everyone with a Complaint about IStock - THIS WORKED  (Read 14974 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

« Reply #25 on: April 04, 2011, 19:42 »
0
Someone needs to contact this iStocker:

I just noticed my account dropped $60+. I haven't received an email or sitemail regarding this action.  Are we getting Banged again?


http://www.istockphoto.com/forum_messages.php?threadid=321042&page=1


Thread is locked and admins are contacting him/her privately. That way, none of us can know exactly why their account dropped $60.


It was really annoying to see how quickly Andrew locked that thread.  What a great way to earn our trust back!


« Reply #26 on: April 05, 2011, 05:07 »
0
Hi nruboc,

Glad it worked out for you. My images are still there in spite of several complaints and requests of removal. My mails are being forwarded and I never hear back. I was thinking about sending a DMCA takedown notice, but this seems better.

I just have no idea which radio buttons to check here ?

Quote
Does your complaint concern employment practices?
 Yes  No
Does your complaint allege discrimination?
 Yes  No
Does your complaint allege civil rights violations?
 Yes  No
Has this complaint case ever been involved in litigation?
 Yes  No

Hi There,

I put 'No' for all of those, but you may interpret 'employment' in the first question differently. Since they are paying you. I think either a Yes or No for the first question would apply

Thank you. I decided to put no for all of them. Hope to finally see some action and I find my complaint very legitimate as I already tried to deal with iStock directly.


As Lisa said, I hope people won't abuse the system. I know it's more complicated than so, but legally they would be in their right to cut commissions whenever they want to right? And I don't see how they would address this sort of complaint with anything other than a "no thanks". (And no, I don't endorse the paycuts)

« Reply #27 on: April 05, 2011, 05:57 »
0
Hi nruboc,

Glad it worked out for you. My images are still there in spite of several complaints and requests of removal. My mails are being forwarded and I never hear back. I was thinking about sending a DMCA takedown notice, but this seems better.

I just have no idea which radio buttons to check here ?

Quote
Does your complaint concern employment practices?
 Yes  No
Does your complaint allege discrimination?
 Yes  No
Does your complaint allege civil rights violations?
 Yes  No
Has this complaint case ever been involved in litigation?
 Yes  No

Hi There,

I put 'No' for all of those, but you may interpret 'employment' in the first question differently. Since they are paying you. I think either a Yes or No for the first question would apply

Thank you. I decided to put no for all of them. Hope to finally see some action and I find my complaint very legitimate as I already tried to deal with iStock directly.


As Lisa said, I hope people won't abuse the system. I know it's more complicated than so, but legally they would be in their right to cut commissions whenever they want to right? And I don't see how they would address this sort of complaint with anything other than a "no thanks". (And no, I don't endorse the paycuts)
I agree, just complaining in general about istock and how it works would probably have a reverse effect,  i was thinking about for example the people who see $0 royalties for about 2 months now and as only reply get: we're looking into it...all the others who want their images gone from the PP or the other way round, etc. all very specific and justified things to form a complaint for...

Would you guys think a $10 EL at less than $0,50/credit (which is about 1/3rd of the normal credit price) is a valid reason for complaint? I really dont know, imho it sounds very incorrect but thats my guts speaking, not sure if this is the sort of thing BBB is for..

« Reply #28 on: April 05, 2011, 06:41 »
0

Would you guys think a $10 EL at less than $0,50/credit (which is about 1/3rd of the normal credit price) is a valid reason for complaint? I really dont know, imho it sounds very incorrect but thats my guts speaking, not sure if this is the sort of thing BBB is for..

I would try the forums here, the istock forums and contacting iStock support before anything else.

« Reply #29 on: April 05, 2011, 06:47 »
0
Thanks Tyler :)
I wont try their forums, im 100% sure Lobo will forward me to CR and lock the thread, so i skipped that step and put up a ticket for support, 99% sure though i'll just get the standard 'its a discount for certain buyers' reply, but i'll await that one before taking further steps :)

« Reply #30 on: April 05, 2011, 06:52 »
0
Thanks Tyler :)
I wont try their forums, im 100% sure Lobo will forward me to CR and lock the thread, so i skipped that step and put up a ticket for support, 99% sure though i'll just get the standard 'its a discount for certain buyers' reply, but i'll await that one before taking further steps :)

You could start a problem specific thread here too.  Not everyone reads every thread, and your problem is a bit off topic to the original post, or perhaps more specific than the original post.  You could start a thread with a good informative subject title and you might find someone else who has figured it out before.

« Reply #31 on: April 05, 2011, 07:55 »
0
True Tyler; for now im just going to wait for the response from CR ... i'll keep you guys posted :)

« Reply #32 on: April 05, 2011, 08:22 »
0

Would you guys think a $10 EL at less than $0,50/credit (which is about 1/3rd of the normal credit price) is a valid reason for complaint? I really dont know, imho it sounds very incorrect but thats my guts speaking, not sure if this is the sort of thing BBB is for..

I would try the forums here, the istock forums and contacting iStock support before anything else.

No, that credit price is not out of the ordinary, unfortunately.

« Reply #33 on: April 05, 2011, 08:56 »
0

Would you guys think a $10 EL at less than $0,50/credit (which is about 1/3rd of the normal credit price) is a valid reason for complaint? I really dont know, imho it sounds very incorrect but thats my guts speaking, not sure if this is the sort of thing BBB is for..

I would try the forums here, the istock forums and contacting iStock support before anything else.

No, that credit price is not out of the ordinary, unfortunately.
But just because its not out of the ordinary it doesnt mean its ok and we shouldnt complain about 'bad business'.
If i hire a real estate dude to sell my house for me and he on his own decides to sell my house for 1/3rd of the price we agreed on, just because the buyer is 'a good loyal customer' its not ok either...

« Reply #34 on: April 11, 2011, 16:48 »
0
Progress so far:

My images are still at Thinkstock. Apparently my account at StockXpert has been cancelled (I get that message when I click  "forgot pass"). That wasn't what I asked for however, and I had a payment of $59.xx pending there, which I doubt I'll ever see. I was planning for that to be my last payment from StockXpert.

The site below still reads 7 closed complaints, so mine hasn't been closed yet:
http://www.bbb.org/calgary/business-reviews/stock-photograph-suppliers/istockphoto-lp-in-calgary-ab-42552

Practically this means they're selling my images and I have no way of receiving due royalties as my StockXpert account is gone - I'm opted out of the PP program at IS. I won't jump to any conclusions, but I hope they will do what's right.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2011, 16:51 by ThomasAmby »

« Reply #35 on: April 12, 2011, 12:09 »
0
Really great idea!  Thanks so much for sharing this!

I might suggest only contacting BBB with specific complaints though.  If they are suddenly flooded with all sorts of complaints along the lines of "they suck", I think they may not take them as seriously. 

+1

I agree: Complaints should be pointed and as specific as possible.

By now we all have enough personal experience and instances to provide for said sorts of official complaints or reports to an agency like the BBB.


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
2 Replies
3334 Views
Last post March 13, 2007, 16:11
by ludesal
63 Replies
14696 Views
Last post January 10, 2014, 21:16
by ShadySue
0 Replies
1388 Views
Last post December 28, 2015, 12:27
by seawhisper
4 Replies
2667 Views
Last post January 29, 2018, 12:09
by BaldricksTrousers
10 Replies
9584 Views
Last post February 08, 2020, 02:58
by Alex_YayImages

Sponsors

Mega Bundle of 5,900+ Professional Lightroom Presets

Microstock Poll Results

Sponsors

3100 Posing Cards Bundle