MicrostockGroup

Agency Based Discussion => iStockPhoto.com => Topic started by: ravens on September 13, 2016, 07:52

Title: IStock 2048x1365 image preview
Post by: ravens on September 13, 2016, 07:52
I don't know how long it's been there, but I was quite shocked to notice today the 2048 x 1365 image preview & download at Istock. Downloaded two of my own images at that size...

Some square images can be downloaded at 2048 X 2048.

Don't know if there is a thread already about this, but I find this quite shocking. Images with a light background and lots of white are under little or practically no protection.
Title: Re: IStock 2048x1365 image preview
Post by: Sebastian Radu on September 13, 2016, 08:12
Stop uploading on IS !!!!
Title: Re: IStock 2048x1365 image preview
Post by: B8 on September 13, 2016, 08:20
Stop uploading on IS !!!!

Meanwhile you have nearly 3,000 snaps on IS, lol.
Title: Re: IStock 2048x1365 image preview
Post by: Sebastian Radu on September 13, 2016, 08:28
Stop uploading on IS !!!!

Meanwhile you have nearly 3,000 snaps on IS, lol.

True, but from 1th of July I have not uploading anything... Now I'm thinking to remove all of them and close my account..
Title: Re: IStock 2048x1365 image preview
Post by: angelawaye on September 13, 2016, 08:31
Good thing I pulled almost all of my images! Why am I not surprised they are doing this ...
Title: Re: IStock 2048x1365 image preview
Post by: skyfish on September 13, 2016, 09:13
I always had thoughts that some agencies can be involved in regular leaking of highres photos. There can be some reasons.
Title: Re: IStock 2048x1365 image preview
Post by: etudiante_rapide on September 13, 2016, 09:38
LOL they are just going back to their original purpose
ie give away other ppl's work for free.

if i am not mistaken, istock started out as an agency to give away free hi res photos.

still, with ss blacking out many of their contributors portfolio and introducing their latest
hi-tech IT marvel "look ma, no portfolio !!!"
or "we have  millions of photos and vectors, but many are more or less invisible!!!"
...
at least your ports in istock is visible ;)
Title: Re: IStock 2048x1365 image preview
Post by: ShadySue on September 13, 2016, 09:48
if i am not mistaken, istock started out as an agency to give away free hi res photos.
Not exactly: I wasn't around then, but I believe there was an early sharing credits system, for every so many you uploaded (2 or 3), you could download one.

I think there are some here who were 'in with the bricks' who can clarify.
Title: Re: IStock 2048x1365 image preview
Post by: hellou on September 13, 2016, 11:27
Preview images are watermarked. What do you mean? It`s fine for me.
Title: Re: IStock 2048x1365 image preview
Post by: ShadySue on September 13, 2016, 11:31
Preview images are watermarked. What do you mean? It`s fine for me.

It depends on the image. The watermark hardly shows at all on light-coloured images or isolations.
Title: Re: IStock 2048x1365 image preview
Post by: hellou on September 13, 2016, 12:11
Preview images are watermarked. What do you mean? It`s fine for me.

It depends on the image. The watermark hardly shows at all on light-coloured images or isolations.
Yes, you are right. On a few isolated images of mine. Not many.
The worst still FT. No watermark for all images. Perfect size for many many needs and no watermark. Horrible.
I think we will see a hard decrease in sales for "size XS" at FT. No one needs to buy this size any more.
Title: Re: IStock 2048x1365 image preview
Post by: cathyslife on September 13, 2016, 13:03
Yes, you are right. On a few isolated images of mine. Not many.
The worst still FT. No watermark for all images. Perfect size for many many needs and no watermark. Horrible.
I think we will see a hard decrease in sales for "size XS" at FT. No one needs to buy this size any more.
I wonder what you mean here. I just checked a comp image and the image on the page and i see watermarks. I must be misunderstanding something.
https://us.fotolia.com/id/87277466 (https://us.fotolia.com/id/87277466)

edit: do you mean on the thumbnails? that's the only place I don't see any watermark. And those are less than about 2" wide at 72ppi. I guess they could be used for something, but...
Title: Re: IStock 2048x1365 image preview
Post by: hellou on September 13, 2016, 14:37
I wonder what you mean here. I just checked a comp image and the image on the page and i see watermarks. I must be misunderstanding something.
https://us.fotolia.com/id/87277466 (https://us.fotolia.com/id/87277466)
edit: do you mean on the thumbnails? that's the only place I don't see any watermark. And those are less than about 2" wide at 72ppi. I guess they could be used for something, but...

 ::)
Check your image size at FT. Size "for free": 360px 240px. OK.
https://t3.ftcdn.net/jpg/00/87/27/74/240_F_87277466_049MrAD726hRXU0NCAZG6k05R7iFPMfG.jpg (https://t3.ftcdn.net/jpg/00/87/27/74/240_F_87277466_049MrAD726hRXU0NCAZG6k05R7iFPMfG.jpg)
Now check the size customers use your images. I can see 7 images at the first 3 pages. Size around 360px.
Drag and drop your image here https://www.google.com/imghp (https://www.google.com/imghp)
Title: Re: IStock 2048x1365 image preview
Post by: ravens on September 14, 2016, 04:12
Removing those watermarks is easy for an average Photoshop user and yes, XS and S image sizes are used most on web. From Istock they can download 2048x1365 quality preview, "fix" it and resize to make sure it looks neat. They will end up with images large enough for web use.

Using the thumbnails free is easy too. It's easy to enlarge them, take a screenshot and save just by some keyboard clicks.
Looks like the new policy of the microstock agencies is "let's throw the images out there and maybe somebody will actually pay"

Anyway, I have stopped uploading to Istock for the time being and will email Istock support.
Do the same!

Is it still possible to disable images from Istock? Or do we need to have their consent now?


Title: Re: IStock 2048x1365 image preview
Post by: BaldricksTrousers on September 14, 2016, 04:21
Fortunately, nobody seems to look at my images on iStock any longer, so the watermarks aren't an issue for me.