MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: Shorter review times  (Read 5950 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

« on: March 09, 2010, 18:03 »
0
Anyone noticed that its less than the usual weeks wait right now - more like 3 days..


« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2010, 18:12 »
0
I last submitted a week or 2 ago; it's been consistently about 8 days for reviews. 

« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2010, 18:52 »
0
Yes, I have noticed short review times. Excellent!

« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2010, 18:53 »
0
Same here, much quicker lately.

RacePhoto

« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2010, 19:27 »
0
Anyone noticed that its less than the usual weeks wait right now - more like 3 days..

My answer is currently under review, I'll get back to you when IS gets done with the latest batch. :D

I have come to expect 7-8 days and it doesn't matter since I can only upload 15 a week. Faster would be fine with me, but wouldn't change much else.

« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2010, 20:03 »
0

Yes, I have noticed short review times too and that they take anything now.
I was wondering if there are new reviewers  or new rules directed from Getty.

Kone

donding

  • Think before you speak
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2010, 20:37 »
0
Yeah I noticed that also...reviews times were about four days...there were a couple I submitted that were rather border line that I was surprised they accepted. But you never know. Next week may be totally different.

ap

« Reply #7 on: March 09, 2010, 20:51 »
0
review times seem shorter, 2-5 days, but i also received my first lcv rejection:

 "With the rapid growth of the iStock collection, we give valuable consideration to each file but unfortunately cannot accept all submissions. Please don't take it personally. This isn't necessarily a reflection of your photography or skill, rather a decision by iStock to determine commercial applications for your images as royalty-free stock."

supposedly is never reject on any ground other than technical, but this new direction may help it pare down some of its bulk.
« Last Edit: March 09, 2010, 23:50 by ap »

« Reply #8 on: March 10, 2010, 08:32 »
0
review times seem shorter, 2-5 days, but i also received my first lcv rejection:

 "With the rapid growth of the iStock collection, we give valuable consideration to each file but unfortunately cannot accept all submissions. Please don't take it personally. This isn't necessarily a reflection of your photography or skill, rather a decision by iStock to determine commercial applications for your images as royalty-free stock."

supposedly is never reject on any ground other than technical, but this new direction may help it pare down some of its bulk.

This is new and its similar to ambiguous rejections I get from Fotolia. I hope they will continue to give the best feedback of all the sites as they have done so for a while.

« Reply #9 on: March 11, 2010, 16:28 »
0
same here, less time to review.. but we must wait till "next week" to upload more.. :P

« Reply #10 on: March 11, 2010, 20:43 »
0
same here, less time to review.. but we must wait till "next week" to upload more.. :P

Wat's happening next week?!? geting raise?

Kone

« Reply #11 on: March 11, 2010, 21:16 »
0
same here, less time to review.. but we must wait till "next week" to upload more.. :P

Wat's happening next week?!? geting raise?

Kone

sorry I didn't understand, wasn't I clear?.. next week to upload more 15 photos

« Reply #12 on: March 11, 2010, 21:41 »
0


sorry I didn't understand, wasn't I clear?.. next week to upload more 15 photos
[/quote]

I see.

Kone

« Reply #13 on: March 12, 2010, 18:19 »
0
Photos get reviewed faster, however, this is not true for vectors. Have some pending from last weekend which won't be reviewed for quite a while (at least judging from the file numbers). Usually it was the other way around, what happened?

RacePhoto

« Reply #14 on: March 19, 2010, 12:36 »
0
Anyone noticed that its less than the usual weeks wait right now - more like 3 days..

Yes and...
No, Not anymore!  ;D

But the usual seven day review photos that I sent in on the 10th, got reviewed on the 15th (nice and faster than usual) had some copyright problems and I had a mass rejection. (airplanes even though they had no logos or markings) I guess a jet airplane will be in the same area as automobiles now?

Rest of the batch waiting since March 10th which is longer than usual. I'd suspect that acceptance ratio does matter and mine just went down in flames, crashed and burned. ;)

« Reply #15 on: March 19, 2010, 13:37 »
0
I guess reviewers discovered Copy/Paste functionality :-) Today I got image from outdoors rejected for having direct on camera flash while it was shot on a tripod in cloudy day. Apparently image next to it got similar rejection and it was indeed shot with ring flash :-)  It's whole secret of fast, it is faster to reject :-)

« Reply #16 on: March 19, 2010, 16:32 »
0
10 days and counting for vectors...
They must be popular these days.
But good to know that photos enjoy a faster review time. Hope it lasts.

Update - got reviewed a moment ago. Faster than Veer, that's for sure.
« Last Edit: March 19, 2010, 16:48 by Eireann »

« Reply #17 on: March 19, 2010, 17:15 »
0
Like a couple of you guys, I just had some off-the-wall rejections.   I've quit uploading to IS for a while - maybe things will start making sense again at some point, but whatever is going on there now, it just isn't worth all the hassle to me.  I no longer have any idea what will be rejected or approved. You would think that as time goes by (a year in my case) you'd get a better sense of what they want.  Just the opposite has happened.

I'm looking now for new sites that might have a future.  IS is becoming the crazy old aunt with all the money, that you're so tired of trying to please.

« Reply #18 on: March 19, 2010, 19:03 »
0
I think that the bad weather in this period of year is reason why lots of outside snappers dont have new images to upload while number of reviewers are the same.

« Reply #19 on: March 24, 2010, 04:45 »
0
I just checked how many images are ahead of mine in the review process and found a funny thing. Highest file IDs of newly accepted non-exclusive files are about the same as for the exclusive files. Some non-exclusive images that were uploaded yesterday are already online :) Just some (new?) reviewer who started picking images from the wrong pile?

PS: I'm not complaining, as far as I'm concerned it can stay that way.
« Last Edit: March 24, 2010, 04:47 by LostOne »

« Reply #20 on: March 24, 2010, 17:34 »
0
i think the short review time happened because IS was going to do some maintenance, so they rushed to review the backlog.
at least that's what happened to my last batches. it was almost overnight approval.
so fast, i almost thought i did something wrong. lol.

but now it's back to the usual week or two.
or maybe it was due to me having full 15 images on queque for that week. something i never did before.

does anyone know if filling up the queque to have full 15 images on queque actually quickens your review time?

« Reply #21 on: March 24, 2010, 17:36 »
0
No it doesn't. I've had my queue full for a couple of months and never saw any faster review times.

About my previous post: looks like it was just a few batches of images that got reviewed faster, now non-exclusive files have much lower ids.

« Reply #22 on: March 24, 2010, 19:05 »
0
No it doesn't. I've had my queue full for a couple of months and never saw any faster review times.

About my previous post: looks like it was just a few batches of images that got reviewed faster, now non-exclusive files have much lower ids.

good to know. thx lostone.
so it was just a once in a blue moon thing that i had a super fast review and approval of my last batch of 15.
now i guess it 's back to old snail. so i  won't worry to hurry and give  them 15 then.

RacePhoto

« Reply #23 on: March 24, 2010, 21:34 »
0
First time I've seen this. Interesting?

I had a few photos rejected for copyrighted content, (they contain modern jet aircraft I suspect is the problem) so I took the time to ask scout what I could do to avoid this and what I did wrong. Listed a couple of the last files, which I thought I had figured out. No problem, I may be wrong, but here's what my last two files say now.

Pending executive

I think IS manages to slot things around and keep them under an orderly review. Now that I had a number of concurrent failures, I look forward to the answer.

At least it doesn't just say waiting for review. It gives me the indication that something is under review?

KB

« Reply #24 on: March 24, 2010, 23:11 »
0
At least it doesn't just say waiting for review. It gives me the indication that something is under review?

"Pending executive" means the inspector couldn't decide whether to reject or accept it (in this case, for copyright), and they put it in the queue of a senior inspector.

The bad news is twofold: It generally takes a much longer time to get reviewed. Waits of one month are typical, and I've heard of some cases where people have waited six months (that's very uncommon, though). Also, if rejected, there's no use in Scouting, as Scout would surely not overturn the decision. (I'm not even sure that there is a difference; perhaps PE is just another way of saying "auto Scout".)  :)

I think I'm about 50-50 with PEs. Good luck!


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
5 Replies
3780 Views
Last post April 10, 2008, 17:05
by camera shy
4 Replies
2734 Views
Last post November 08, 2007, 12:07
by vonkara
49 Replies
13865 Views
Last post August 10, 2008, 08:01
by borg
Review times

Started by CofkoCof General - Top Sites

14 Replies
6272 Views
Last post June 17, 2008, 10:01
by tan510jomast
8 Replies
3529 Views
Last post June 23, 2009, 12:40
by goldenangel

Sponsors

Mega Bundle of 5,900+ Professional Lightroom Presets

Microstock Poll Results

Sponsors

3100 Posing Cards Bundle