MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: 500px - Kelly Thompson strikes again  (Read 36649 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

« Reply #200 on: November 04, 2016, 03:26 »
+1
Looks like they're like some STD, once you get it, it's hard to get rid of it...


« Reply #201 on: November 04, 2016, 06:01 »
+8
And it stinks really bad!
I received an answer from 500px: You photos have not been deleted because you logged back into your 500px account, which re-activates it. This is the reason we inform our members we'll keep their photos safe for a little while. Once you log into your account, the 60 day deletion period is cancelled.
As a matter of fact  I didn't log back in. Because I knew 500px would pull this trick. I was asked to log back in if I wanted my earnings of this one sale of 1.80. But I definitely didn't log in to claim this money because I knew this would happen. And still they persist that I did log in. So now another two months they can earn money of chasing the people who may have stolen my images and keep the money for themselves.  I am afraid that this is their business model. Not selling photos.


« Reply #202 on: November 04, 2016, 07:26 »
+2
And it stinks really bad!
I received an answer from 500px: You photos have not been deleted because you logged back into your 500px account, which re-activates it. This is the reason we inform our members we'll keep their photos safe for a little while. Once you log into your account, the 60 day deletion period is cancelled.
As a matter of fact  I didn't log back in. Because I knew 500px would pull this trick. I was asked to log back in if I wanted my earnings of this one sale of 1.80. But I definitely didn't log in to claim this money because I knew this would happen. And still they persist that I did log in. So now another two months they can earn money of chasing the people who may have stolen my images and keep the money for themselves.  I am afraid that this is their business model. Not selling photos.

What an idiotic way to conduct business...what does logging back in to your account to check on things have to do with your request to have all your photos deleted? Not having an account and having photos deleted are two separate things!  >:( For instance, I deleted all my photos at istock years ago, but I left my account active (just in case good sense prevailed and somebody new took over and turned the site back into something good for contributors...ha, fat chance. I should go over there and cancel my account now, though).

A contributor wouldn't know of those bad tactics when signing up in the beginning, but now that you have brought it to light, anybody who keeps dealing with these kinds of bad businesses is just asking for it, IMHO.

« Reply #203 on: November 04, 2016, 08:36 »
+1
I also deleted my account after KT cut commissions. Sounding like he brought some Istock quality with him.

I'm curious. Is this more than two months ago and are your images really gone? I closed my account but when I go to 500px and fill in my name I still see them. I didn't log in because the time starts ticking again and then you have to wait another two months.

I just double checked and they are all off their site. That was right after they announced the pay cut, 7-8 months ago. I do recall having to go back and make them remove ALL of my stuff. But it's gone now.

Noedelhap

  • www.colincramm.com

« Reply #204 on: November 04, 2016, 09:34 »
0
And it stinks really bad!
I received an answer from 500px: You photos have not been deleted because you logged back into your 500px account, which re-activates it. This is the reason we inform our members we'll keep their photos safe for a little while. Once you log into your account, the 60 day deletion period is cancelled.
As a matter of fact  I didn't log back in. Because I knew 500px would pull this trick. I was asked to log back in if I wanted my earnings of this one sale of 1.80. But I definitely didn't log in to claim this money because I knew this would happen. And still they persist that I did log in. So now another two months they can earn money of chasing the people who may have stolen my images and keep the money for themselves.  I am afraid that this is their business model. Not selling photos.



You should demand some evidence if this did not happen. Either way, it's a ridiculous policy to reactivate images just because you logged in.

« Reply #205 on: September 01, 2017, 19:19 »
0
I haven't logged in in _months_, except for today when I received another notification of a sold image. If I click on the link to the image in the email, I get a page not found error. Whether it's malicious or just a poorly written platform, the fact is your images still exist somewhere on 500px no matter what you do.

« Reply #206 on: September 01, 2017, 19:42 »
0
« Last Edit: September 01, 2017, 20:36 by Zero Talent »


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
4 Replies
2957 Views
Last post November 19, 2008, 22:43
by hali
22 Replies
6100 Views
Last post September 21, 2010, 11:24
by Case
107 Replies
23708 Views
Last post April 13, 2011, 04:53
by ShadySue
84 Replies
19811 Views
Last post January 23, 2012, 21:38
by Suljo
87 Replies
13011 Views
Last post November 27, 2015, 01:49
by shiyali

Sponsors

Microstock Poll Results