MicrostockGroup Sponsors

Author Topic: Vivozoom on the 99 cent bandwagon it seems  (Read 4804 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.


  • Stand up for what is right
« on: June 09, 2014, 12:50 »
I didn't find a Vivozoom category, so here goes...

I received this email from Vivozoom today ( I haven't uploaded there since 2007 and thought they were out of business)  :o

"I am pleased to announce that we have licensed  the Vivozoom images through 99cimages.com, a new image licensing site targeting the latent consumer market for licensed images.

99cimages is a market place where image owners license their images directly to image users.  The standard license template provides the buyer with a single use, limited print run (just 50,000 compared to the standard 250,000) license for 99c.  99cimages charges a 39c service charge,  Photographers and Illustrators therefore generate 60c per license.

As an early supporter of 99cimages, through being a contributor on Vivozoom, you will receive 100% of this income namely 99c, through your Vivozoom account, for the first 6 months of operation, and thereafter this will revert to 60c.

We expect that this new initiative will expand the market considerably for images by providing an affordable image price through a simple purchase and download process, by providing a real alternative to non-professional image users otherwise tempted towards copyright infringement.

As the owner managers of both 99cimages and Vivozoom, we wanted to share this news with you,  before launch of the service tomorrow.  Please feel free to check out the site 99cimages.com and please let us know if you have particular images you wish not to be licensed through 99cimages.

Our plan for Vivozoom is, in due course, to build on this relationship and provide a complimentary  high value, warranted service alongside 99cimages for the more professional image buyer.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions.


Lawrence Gould
CEO Vivozoom "

« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2014, 15:16 »
Trying to close my account for more than a year now. Absolutely no response from them and no way to delete my images. Those that are not with Vivozoom - stay away from them as far as you can.  >:(

« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2014, 15:24 »
Trying to close my account for more than a year now. Absolutely no response from them and no way to delete my images. Those that are not with Vivozoom - stay away from them as far as you can.  >:(

I closed my account there a long time ago. Waste of my time.

« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2014, 15:47 »
I thought I'd take a look and see what was available (their search doesn't make that easy; multi-word searches are OR'd so Boston Harbor gets you any harbor anywhere in the world)

Monkey Business Images has work there:

(that file is on all the micros).

The file is credited to ImagePick, Inc. which is apparently in Golders Green (London).

But that isn't MonkeyBusiness Images because Andres Rodriguez's work has the same credit



99 cent images about page says "99cimages is based in London and was founded by two ex-Gettyimages executives, Lawrence Gould & Tom Donnelly. "

So no credit to the copyright holder and not even the $10 a month "commitment" the Dollar Photo Club requires: "You may download as many images as you require for a flat-rate per-image price of less than a dollar; no subscriptions, no credits. Just 99c per download. "

Sickening (I'm not there, but many big "factories" are...). The license is not RF - one user, one use 50K print run, but in all honesty, with RF so prevalent, will buyers come back to reuse in a second blog post?

They're on Facebook and Twitter, but don't seem to be very active thus far...



Google + (kind of) with a link to an ad on a bus (not the most inspiring YouTube video)

« Last Edit: June 09, 2014, 16:18 by Jo Ann Snover »

« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2014, 16:35 »
Yikes! My whole portfolio is there even though I quit Vivozoom years ago. They list the publisher as Imagepick Inc. Am I going to have to do a DMCA for every image?  >:(


  • Stand up for what is right
« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2014, 17:53 »
Yeah, real bad news.


« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2014, 17:58 »
Vivozoom still hasnt updated their OpenSSL to fix heartbleed so be careful with your login. And changing it doesnt help until the bug is patched.


« Reply #8 on: June 09, 2014, 19:48 »

Pete's post at the end of that thread notes that in 2011 it was indicative that the copyright at the bottom of the home page still said 2010.

And today? "Vivozoom 2010 Imagepick Inc."

« Reply #9 on: June 09, 2014, 19:52 »
Yikes! My whole portfolio is there even though I quit Vivozoom years ago. They list the publisher as Imagepick Inc. Am I going to have to do a DMCA for every image?  >:(

Vivozoom has you still there


« Reply #10 on: June 09, 2014, 20:59 »
I love the checkout process here - buyers don't need to register or buy credits or anything, just a paypal account and download it. All the other budget offerings I can think of  tie buyers in to packs of credits or subscriptions - or there's a catch and 'pay more' if you want just a one off image.

it might not be great to have a high res images for 99c, but is it that much worse than a 20% of high res for $3-5 dollars when all of the sales are 60% of 99c rather than a mix including plenty of S sized downloads at 20% of $1 (sure that 20% is only the noob rate at most agencies that are that low).

as jo ann wrote http://www.microstockgroup.com/22821/22821/msg383642/#msg383642 the license is also a very 'budget' license (un enforceable etc), but for that license I don't think this is such a bad deal

and for the record yes I think vivo looks like a site that no-one cares about, and there are plenty of sucky/lazy things about 99c images that follow in it's footsteps and that of plenty of other half baked startups - all who seem to insist on going to market with sites that look unfinished! I DO like how simple that checkout process looks!

« Reply #11 on: June 20, 2016, 23:15 »
Just received an  email from vivozoom :
Dear contributor
Please be advised that effective May 31, 2016 your contract was transferred from Imagepick Inc. to 99cimages Ltd.,in the United Kingdom.  All payments due to you under your contract will continue to be paid to your nominated PayPal account, and all inquiries regarding your contract should be directed to [email protected]
Yours faithfully
and after looking on the site i found my images are there , but even no author name , they are jus imagepick , i think its not legal to just act like this but im just an author .


Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
203 Replies
Last post May 02, 2009, 00:50
by donnelt
4 Replies
Last post January 19, 2009, 15:23
by leaf
18 Replies
Last post July 09, 2009, 03:10
by Magnum
5 Replies
Last post May 18, 2011, 02:17
by RacePhoto
8 Replies
Last post June 30, 2021, 09:27
by Uncle Pete


Mega Bundle of 5,900+ Professional Lightroom Presets

Microstock Poll Results


3100 Posing Cards Bundle