MicrostockGroup

Agency Based Discussion => Pond5 => Topic started by: Microstock Man on November 26, 2012, 20:43

Title: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: Microstock Man on November 26, 2012, 20:43
Anyone else noticing bugs at Pond5?

At the moment, I can't get 95% of images to show up. Some have thumbs, but most do not.

Also, I just got two sitemails from them approving my images, and the formatting of them scrolled way off the screen.

Plus, my portfolio count has been off by a couple of hundred for weeks now. Seems like it hasn't been updated with new approvals in a month or so.

Should I even mention that sales seem to have stopped? Last month was great and showed huge promise. This month, nothing... (EDIT: Few hours after typing this, a full-size sale came in. Strange how that often happens!)
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: enstoker on November 27, 2012, 01:46
Anyone else noticing bugs at Pond5?

At the moment, I can't get 95% of images to show up. Some have thumbs, but most do not.

Also, I just got two sitemails from them approving my images, and the formatting of them scrolled way off the screen.

Plus, my portfolio count has been off by a couple of hundred for weeks now. Seems like it hasn't been updated with new approvals in a month or so.

Should I even mention that sales seem to have stopped? Last month was great and showed huge promise. This month, nothing... (EDIT: Few hours after typing this, a full-size sale came in. Strange how that often happens!)

Wait, wait, I also have NO sales.
Will type this and wait...
 ;)
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: gillian vann on November 27, 2012, 04:38
me too. i've only got 3 files up there currently, I gave up on them when I couldn't work out the MR system.
i shall wait for some big sales to spur me into ftp... they've quietly moved up the ranks of late so I'm going to put some stuff up.
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: enstoker on November 27, 2012, 05:49
me too. i've only got 3 files up there currently, I gave up on them when I couldn't work out the MR system.
i shall wait for some big sales to spur me into ftp... they've quietly moved up the ranks of late so I'm going to put some stuff up.

This is good  ;)
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: Carl on November 27, 2012, 09:35
I'm having many of the same issues, plus issues with the "bins."  I can edit bins and see the clips contained in them, but when I try to view them as a customer would, the bin count indicates the correct number of photos or video clips, but only a few of them show, and sometimes none of them show at all.  I notified support, and they said they fixed the problem, but I'm still seeing it.

Over the years, the folks at P5 have treated me well, and the site has performed admirably, both in terms of functionality and sales.  I suspect that they've recently hired a bunch of third-world programmers who are willing to work for peanuts, and they're proving once again that you get what you pay for (if indeed this is the case).  Nevertheless, because of my track record with them, I'm willing to be patient.
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: gillian vann on November 27, 2012, 16:49
me too. i've only got 3 files up there currently, I gave up on them when I couldn't work out the MR system.
i shall wait for some big sales to spur me into ftp... they've quietly moved up the ranks of late so I'm going to put some stuff up.

This is good  ;)
glad you saw the humour in that.
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: djpadavona on February 09, 2013, 17:39
I can't upload images at all. Every attempt is met with an error message that the file failed to process and that I have too many files open.

I used to like Pond5 for video, but the image upload appears to be broken and I don't see support answering anyone's questions in the forum.
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: cobalt on February 09, 2013, 17:57
I uploaded files yesterday but had to do it several times, kept getting error messages.
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: djpadavona on February 09, 2013, 18:02
Interesting, thanks for the feedback. If you try to upload something this evening, let me know if you are experiencing the same issues.
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: fritz on February 09, 2013, 19:53
No problem using ftp but after upload I'll have to use old uploads page to set the price and send. New doesn't work!
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: djpadavona on February 09, 2013, 20:47
That is weird. I just used FTP and I got the same message:

There's been a problem processing some of your recent uploads. These uploads were not processed:
- Fireworks Flag 2    21194041: [Errno 24] Too many open files     5479864 bytes


Maybe I am doing something wrong? The FTP site is the same for photos and video, correct?
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: enstoker on February 10, 2013, 03:12
On POND5 is must to check if Model releases are attached.
Sometimes can occur that You attach MR ok, but in NOTE is described:
NOTE: No model/property release on file for this clip; may be suitable for editorial (news and documentary) usage only

Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: djpadavona on February 10, 2013, 09:15
That's not it. The images I attempted to upload did not need a model release. Clearly I am doing something wrong. I did send a message to support, but based on the forum messages I don't expect to hear anything back soon. I'll try a few more times later.
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: djpadavona on February 10, 2013, 10:11
Tried another upload this morning. This one processed fine, but it hasn't shown up yet for keywording, etc., and it has been over an hour. That seems to be a common problem others are seeing too...the uploads never seems to show up after processing. I hope they get these bugs fixed someday because I like Pond5. But until then I'm not going to give it any more effort.
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: cybernesco on February 10, 2013, 15:59
Yes, I am having the same problems too.  Coincidentally and in addition to Pond5, myself and someone else have been reporting similar problems with Panthermedia.
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: djpadavona on February 10, 2013, 16:17
A poster in their forum replied that he had success uploading to FTP2. I tried 9 images and they all came through instantly.   8)
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: cybernesco on February 10, 2013, 16:25
A poster in their forum replied that he had success uploading to FTP2. I tried 9 images and they all came through instantly.   8)

Thanks Dan! I Just noticed and in the process of uploading a few files through FTP2. Will let this thread know if it works for me as well.
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: cybernesco on February 10, 2013, 16:33
A poster in their forum replied that he had success uploading to FTP2. I tried 9 images and they all came through instantly.   8)

Thanks Dan! I Just noticed and in the process of uploading a few files through FTP2. Will let this thread know if it works for me as well.

Yep! works for me as well! 6 files uploaded, all came through instantly.
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: fotografer on March 10, 2013, 16:53
I tried to upload by ftp this morning with no luck so I uploaded quite a few on the site uploader and they came though fine.  This afternoon I tried 3 batches and 2 didn't upload at all and showed error messages.  One batch said that they were uploaded but they never appeared.
ETA Just tried ftp again and the first image has come through fine :D
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: Mantis on March 10, 2013, 18:58
I tried to upload by ftp this morning with no luck so I uploaded quite a few on the site uploader and they came though fine.  This afternoon I tried 3 batches and 2 didn't upload at all and showed error messages.  One batch said that they were uploaded but they never appeared.
ETA Just tried ftp again and the first image has come through fine :D

I've stopped using their FTP site.  It is too unreliable and almost never works.
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: fotografer on March 10, 2013, 20:47
I tried to upload by ftp this morning with no luck so I uploaded quite a few on the site uploader and they came though fine.  This afternoon I tried 3 batches and 2 didn't upload at all and showed error messages.  One batch said that they were uploaded but they never appeared.
ETA Just tried ftp again and the first image has come through fine :D

I've stopped using their FTP site.  It is too unreliable and almost never works.
After it not working this morning I have just managed to upload over 100 images successfully.
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: hofhoek on March 14, 2013, 06:19
Having a problem with the reviewing. I have uploaded a bunch more than two weeks ago and still waiting..Not used to that long. Maybe a bug too?
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: MicrostockExp on March 14, 2013, 06:34
Not a bug they are very slow to review at the moment :(
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: rubyroo on March 14, 2013, 06:36
I hope someone won't mind answering some questions I have about Pond 5:

1. What's the QC like there?  Do they reject anything or accept everything? 
2. Are they active in protecting our work by pursuing infringers? 
3. I read somewhere that we have to choose our own licenses.  Is that a tedious process?
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: Mantis on March 14, 2013, 06:54
I hope someone won't mind answering some questions I have about Pond 5:

1. What's the QC like there?  Do they reject anything or accept everything?
Accept most everything but do reject on some items.  I wouldn't worry about not getting most of your work accepted. 
2. Are they active in protecting our work by pursuing infringers?
I will defer this to Tom at P5.  Their image sales are very slow right now as their core competency is video, with a slow progression towards photos and illustrations. If they want to be top notch (and they are a fav of mine due to their pricing and ease of upload) they would serve the community well by integrating a robust infringement policy/process if they haven't already. 
3. I read somewhere that we have to choose our own licenses. No.  You choose your pricing, though.  You have the option to set pricing for each of your images, another feature I love to see trending in MS Is that a tedious process?It is an extra step, but you don't have to if you don't want.  You can simply choose to set all your images at one price if you so choose.  Pretty simple though and there is no setting categories (thanks for that P5) so that saves a lot of time
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: rubyroo on March 14, 2013, 06:59
That was fast!  Thank you very much Mantis :)

That's helpful.  I'll ponder some more on this one ('ponder'.... get it?!) and hopefully Tom will chime in on the infringement policy, as you say.

Thanks again.  :)
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: Mantis on March 14, 2013, 07:03
That was fast!  Thank you very much Mantis :)

That's helpful.  I'll ponder some more on this one ('ponder'.... get it?!) and hopefully Tom will chime in on the infringement policy, as you say.

Thanks again.  :)

Your funny ;D
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: rubyroo on March 14, 2013, 07:07
Well... thanks again!  ;D
Title: Re: Bugs at Pond5
Post by: Mantis on March 14, 2013, 07:30
Well... thanks again!  ;D

Anytime!