MicrostockGroup

Agency Based Discussion => Pond5 => Topic started by: pixel8 on April 03, 2016, 14:15

Title: Pond5 do they review photos anymore?
Post by: pixel8 on April 03, 2016, 14:15
I joined Pond5 over a week ago and still a batch of photos I uploaded to test out their site is just siting there waiting for review. I guess I'm just used to SS looking and approving the same day. Anyone know what Pond5 review time frame is like?

Thanks
Title: Re: Pond5 do they review photos anymore?
Post by: fritz on April 03, 2016, 14:20
1-2 months review time!
Title: Re: Pond5 do they review photos anymore?
Post by: pixel8 on April 03, 2016, 14:23
Sounds like they are not serious about photos then or they must be understaffed!
Title: Re: Pond5 do they review photos anymore?
Post by: Sean Locke Photography on April 03, 2016, 14:47
http://www.microstockgroup.com/index.php?topic=27162.msg450588;topicseen#new (http://www.microstockgroup.com/index.php?topic=27162.msg450588;topicseen#new)
Title: Re: Pond5 do they review photos anymore?
Post by: pixel8 on April 03, 2016, 15:12
[url]http://www.microstockgroup.com/index.php?topic=27162.msg450588;topicseen#new[/url] ([url]http://www.microstockgroup.com/index.php?topic=27162.msg450588;topicseen#new[/url])


Thanks Sean!

So looks like about a 2half month review time and expect a 50% rejection from what I read.
Title: Re: Pond5 do they review photos anymore?
Post by: Mantis on April 03, 2016, 15:38
[url]http://www.microstockgroup.com/index.php?topic=27162.msg450588;topicseen#new[/url] ([url]http://www.microstockgroup.com/index.php?topic=27162.msg450588;topicseen#new[/url])


Thanks Sean!

So looks like about a 2half month review time and expect a 50% rejection from what I read.


50-100%.  They now spot check and batch reject.  So if they don't like the first numbers of videos they review from a batch, they will go ahead and unfairly reject the whole batch.  When I called them on this, they did what others have reported....IGNORE YOU. They are screaming for people to stop submitting.
Title: Re: Pond5 do they review photos anymore?
Post by: sharpshot on April 03, 2016, 15:52
I stopped uploading and will go back to doing more photos than video.  Pond5 was the only site I liked selling video, so their changes have crushed my enthusiasm.  They were never really worth it for images, I only uploaded because they accepted everything and it was easy but now there's no point.
Title: Re: Pond5 do they review photos anymore?
Post by: etudiante_rapide on April 03, 2016, 16:11
Sounds like they are not serious about photos then or they must be understaffed!

there is a 3rd possibility----
atilla from ss has become CEO with Pond5  ;D
Title: Re: Pond5 do they review photos anymore?
Post by: fritz on April 03, 2016, 16:47
Strangely I sell more and more images than clips!
Title: Re: Pond5 do they review photos anymore?
Post by: cascoly on April 04, 2016, 00:59
review timeshave gotten longer but %rejections stays about the same

those looking for immediate reviews and immediate sales should look for another job/hobby - this long a long term game and review times really don't matter much

pond has continued to be my 2-4th best producer due to the higher pay per image sold and for video they far outperform any other site I have
Title: Re: Pond5 do they review photos anymore?
Post by: fotografer on April 04, 2016, 02:22
I stopped uploading and will go back to doing more photos than video.
They are batch rejecting photos too.
Title: Re: Pond5 do they review photos anymore?
Post by: sharpshot on April 04, 2016, 05:01
I stopped uploading and will go back to doing more photos than video.
They are batch rejecting photos too.
I didn't mean I would upload them to P5, that was hardly worth it before the mass rejections.
Title: Re: Pond5 do they review photos anymore?
Post by: KnowYourOnions on April 04, 2016, 10:30
They are moving to the new office now....too busy to review photos!
Title: Re: Pond5 do they review photos anymore?
Post by: r2d2 on April 05, 2016, 03:45
Is the upload via ftp broken?
If i upload a batch of images only two from 10 images are shown on the editing page.

This is going on since a few days. Anyone else with this problem?
Title: Re: Pond5 do they review photos anymore?
Post by: Me on April 05, 2016, 03:59
Same, been trying to upload for two days and FTP won't even connect so cannot upload
Title: Re: Pond5 do they review photos anymore?
Post by: izzikiorage on April 08, 2016, 19:53
The worst is the crazy amount of rejections after all this.
Title: Re: Pond5 do they review photos anymore?
Post by: Mantis on April 08, 2016, 20:45
The worst is the crazy amount of rejections after all this.

Yep. They are definitely going in a different direction.  Ever since I complained about their inspections my sales have dried up.  I went and looked at my popular stuff and I cannot even find in. The only stuff that does show up in the clips where nobody else has any.  Many of my clips used to come up on the first page, today I could not find any of my popular ones with the same keywords.  With the rude feedback I got from their "curator", who was likely sipping a martini, I will focus my time elsewhere.
Title: Re: Pond5 do they review photos anymore?
Post by: sharpshot on April 09, 2016, 03:29
I was going to stop doing video clips but I sold one on Motion Elements, uploaded 6 there a long time ago and forgot about the site.  They seem to have the old Pond5 set up, accept everything, let you set the price and pay 50% once a month.  So if Pond5 isn't going to be what it used to be, they might be a good alternative.  More buyers might go there, when they see Pond5 is rejecting such a high percentage of new and 4k clips.
Title: Re: Pond5 do they review photos anymore?
Post by: cobalt on April 09, 2016, 05:01
In which country are they based? It seems to be somewhere in Asia, but I canīt read the asian script.

ETA: They seem to be based in Singapore. Lots of content missing, so I guess they donīt have that many sales yet.

If someone here knows them, maybe they can send someone to talk to us at msg and explain where they are going. There is a lot of interest in a marketplace that doesnīt micromanage the artist portfolio and treats us as entrepreneurs.
Title: Re: Pond5 do they review photos anymore?
Post by: PigsInSpace on April 09, 2016, 08:24
Same, been trying to upload for two days and FTP won't even connect so cannot upload

 You've probably already checked this, but I know I've forgotten before. You have to continually set a new password for Pond5's FTP upload capability. You have to go onto their website into the upload images section and create a new password if it's been more than a couple days since you've  uploaded via FTP.