pancakes

MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: Data Licensing  (Read 1015 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

« on: May 13, 2024, 08:37 »
0
Hello, About a month ago I changed the Data Licensing option to No on Shutterstock. Despite this, some of the photos I upload are still approved for data licensing. What would be the reason ?


« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2024, 09:46 »
+3
probably because shutterstock doesn't care, has done a lot of unethical things in the past, continues to do so now.

« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2024, 12:42 »
0
Hello, About a month ago I changed the Data Licensing option to No on Shutterstock. Despite this, some of the photos I upload are still approved for data licensing. What would be the reason ?

are they approved or just qualified?

« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2024, 13:38 »
0
Shutterstock includes your content in it's data catalog but states it doesn't make it available. The theory is that if you changed your mind later and opted in, they could just turn it on. The problem is that if you don't want a file submitted for creative licensing but rejected to be retained by Shutterstock - perhaps you want to revise it an resubmit - you're stuck.

You can read more about the opt in/out here:

https://support.submit.shutterstock.com/s/article/How-do-I-make-my-content-unavailable-for-downloading?language=en_US

And read the paragraph titled "Data Catalog" here:

https://support.submit.shutterstock.com/s/article/Shutterstock-Data-Licensing-and-the-Contributor-Fund?language=en_US

"For those opted out of data licensing, the Data Catalog will not be visible, however any content that is not acceptable for the creative Marketplace but is acceptable for data licensing will be marked as such in the Review tab. Shutterstock will retain these review results and this content can be published for data licensing in the event that the contributor elects to opt in to future data deals."

« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2024, 06:55 »
+1
You CAN delete from the catalogue but ONLY if you're opted in (which is cynical and ridiculous).

However, you can log in, delete the data catalogue then opt back out.

« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2024, 09:39 »
0

However, you can log in, delete the data catalogue then opt back out.

I am very confident that even opting in for just one second will make Shutterstock take all your files to train their AI. That's all they need.

« Reply #6 on: June 01, 2024, 12:45 »
+1

However, you can log in, delete the data catalogue then opt back out.

I am very confident that even opting in for just one second will make Shutterstock take all your files to train their AI. That's all they need.

Quite likely but remember they trained it on most of our content without asking and before offering opt out so they already have most of it.  I also dont trust them not to use it DESPITE opting out.

« Reply #7 on: June 02, 2024, 06:11 »
0

However, you can log in, delete the data catalogue then opt back out.

I am very confident that even opting in for just one second will make Shutterstock take all your files to train their AI. That's all they need.

Quite likely but remember they trained it on most of our content without asking and before offering opt out so they already have most of it.

Yes, of course, like all agencies. But at least they aren't supposed to use my new content for training - unless I opt in.


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
32 Replies
13114 Views
Last post August 11, 2023, 09:10
by gnirtS
11 Replies
3338 Views
Last post July 28, 2023, 10:21
by alison1414
2 Replies
2191 Views
Last post July 12, 2023, 08:41
by Elijah
11 Replies
5815 Views
Last post September 16, 2023, 16:15
by pancaketom
16 Replies
1441 Views
Last post February 24, 2024, 14:43
by cascoly

Sponsors

Mega Bundle of 5,900+ Professional Lightroom Presets

Microstock Poll Results

Sponsors