MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: Did anybody meet a SS reviewer??  (Read 11037 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

« on: March 09, 2015, 15:53 »
0
I want to know who are the people who review my images...

I want to ask especially if they give some kind of score to the images which then affects their location in the search engine


dpimborough

« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2015, 16:59 »
-1
I want to know who are the people who review my images...

I want to ask especially if they give some kind of score to the images which then affects their location in the search engine

Laurin Rinder used to be one I understand

Noedelhap

  • www.colincramm.com

« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2015, 18:19 »
+3
I want to ask especially if they give some kind of score to the images which then affects their location in the search engine

I find that hard to believe.

« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2015, 18:35 »
0
I want to ask especially if they give some kind of score to the images which then affects their location in the search engine

I find that hard to believe.

I'm trying to understand the criterion/algorithm by which some images are at the top (when you make a search) and other go to the end; even with the same keywords

Rinderart

« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2015, 20:10 »
+3
Has nothing to do with a reviewer.

« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2015, 20:50 »
0
Has nothing to do with a reviewer.

Any idea how this criteria works??

« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2015, 21:19 »
+8
LOL, when i read the heading, i thought it was to rally a lynch mob for atilla  :D

« Reply #7 on: March 09, 2015, 21:51 »
+5
LOL, when i read the heading, i thought it was to rally a lynch mob for atilla  :D

Dont worry...

No reviewers were harmed in the making of this thread

« Reply #8 on: March 09, 2015, 22:06 »
+1
Has nothing to do with a reviewer.

Who did you review for and how long?

Me


« Reply #9 on: March 10, 2015, 00:34 »
+2
Has nothing to do with a reviewer.

Who did you review for and how long?

And how long ago?

« Reply #10 on: March 10, 2015, 10:14 »
+10
You won't ever meet them.  They're all together in one city and it's statistically unlikely that it's your city.  It's not NYC. 
If you did meet one, they probably wouldn't know they work for Shutterstock.  Technically they work for a third party and they're not told too many details that don't directly improve their performance. 
And if you did meet one who knew their work ultimately went to Shutterstock, they certainly wouldn't divulge details about their systems or processes. 

It hasn't always been this way, but that's how I understand it to be now. 

Many agencies rate images at review.  The better agencies don't rely on it much, if at all.  Instead, they use data.  Lots of it.  In case you were wondering, Shutterstock is one of the better agencies. 

If you want to get your images higher up the search results, there's one guaranteed way: create better images.  ;)

« Reply #11 on: March 10, 2015, 12:05 »
+4
If you did meet one, they probably wouldn't know they work for Shutterstock


That seems strange. Given that Shutterstock is currently advertising for image reviewers.

See also: many more image reviewer openings at Shutterstock (scroll down to subheading Content) - including New York, New York.

Shelma1

« Reply #12 on: March 10, 2015, 12:13 »
0
There are always job openings for reviewers there, all over the world. It seems to me that reviewers see work from their own geographical area.

Uncle Pete

« Reply #13 on: March 10, 2015, 12:49 »
0
Fine, there should be a good turnover of people who aren't worrying about losing a job that they quit, or at the very least don't have any more. Why doesn't just one of them step up and explain or at least defend their company orders for how to accept or reject images.

I'm betting one is not, random rejections that have nothing to do with the actual images.  ;)

Before anyone gets the wrong idea. I wouldn't want the job. I think I'd rather stick burning bamboo under my fingernails, or have my TV broken so I'm forced to watch the shopping network or the Country and Western Network.

I know the ad is for NYC and has the standards of seven days a week. If they are outsourcing to get more reviews done, so we don't have a huge backlog, you can be assured that some is done in India or offshore by people hired to review, who possibly have never taken a photo with a high quality camera.

IS used to rate images. That's gone now. SS we don't know, but if it's done, it's invisible. I think the AI reads views, clicks, zooms, DL, where, if it's a big buyer or little buyer, sub account or OD purchaser and then 100 more things. It's like watching a train wreck. Knowing it's going to happen or seeing it changes nothing.

(I know some people hate that I say that, but we don't have control over the search, nor do we have any idea, how it works. Lots of speculation, including conspiracies and calling it broken. We Don't Know.)

I'd like to know how the reviews work, that's at least possible and there have to be hundreds of people who worked for SS who could explain, without giving up any trade secrets. Even SS could give us a workflow description, and it would be informative.



There are always job openings for reviewers there, all over the world. It seems to me that reviewers see work from their own geographical area.

Semmick Photo

« Reply #14 on: March 10, 2015, 12:54 »
+1
They have to sign a non disclosure agreement. I am 99% sure of that. I think some ex reviewer once said that. Sorry  cant recall. Rinder was reviewer, he knows.

Rinderart

« Reply #15 on: March 10, 2015, 13:10 »
+5
Has nothing to do with a reviewer.

Who did you review for and how long?

2006/2009ish. Then we had access to your complete history. accepted/ rejected/port and all exif data. One click with cursor on any Part of Image and another window came up to that area 100%. And I did Not work for Shutterstock. After awhile, trust me when I say you could see issues in a second and clearly focus issues without opening it up. In those Days, Noise was a fairly large issue. Im not sure But I think reviewers Nowdays look Farther than 100%, could be wrong. we even had a little chat room all to ourselves. And, In those days the pay was quite good But it was based as im sure it is now on How many you did, we also got a bonus by doing More. If I remember correctly?...I could do about a 1000 in 4 hours, Did I/WE have favorites? Yes and certain people got a pass and was never really Looked at closely and we loved it when we saw certain Heavy Hitters who submitted tons of stuff, Bam and done, Ca Ching. But, I must say i looked at some stuff that would Litterly Curl your hair. We had as im sure today there were dropdown menus of reasons and...We had the ability to write notes which was frowned upon. Around 2010 or so, SS asked if I would review for them, They told me the pay and I said No. I think we also could see  a list of submitters so that we could Pick and choose who we wanted to do...I think. Our team was about 12 people, Our leader [ A great gal]is still There in a different position.  I did learn a lot at times and could help a lot of people on SS critique forum which I did with that experience, and will do again when Time permits. I also did it in the beginning as research for our first book.

Focus issues were the #1 issue as it is now. The thing that is strange to me, Is at least 90% of the early folks are gone now. At least doing Micro. Personally I didn't look for noise,WB and not to much composition, I looked for the Impact of the Image, The instant recognition of story,Time and place and most of all, those who stepped out of a comfort zone. Im sure Lots has changed since then. Last I heard FT has about 25 people, SS has 200 Plus, We did all categories then, Now its specialized.
 I do suggest that anyone that wants to do this....Do it. You learn a lot, not only stock But General Photography.  I have no idea what the qualifications are now But then, It was port size,Variety Of subjects your familiar with, processing skills and the need to be able to work in your pajamas.....And, It ain't Rocket science.LOL

Do I think reviewers now are to Picky? Yes especially for what the commission rate is and some think there working for the Guggenheim Museum. It's MICRO Guys!!

Sometimes it's fun,Most times it's boring as sin and after awhile your eyes start Playing tricks on you. I got to see some amazing work and some Horrible work. But remember...the early days were pretty basic stuff and what we called the "Isolation Wars" when everyone submitted every thing and every item you could find under the sun...Isolated.   and folks are still doing it.  The good thing was, Just when the cue got small, All ya had to do was wait a few hours and BAM, another 20,000 were there. Just Like now Im sure, Hence why review times shorter, then Longer.

thats it, And just Like then as Now, It's a fairly Transient Job. Burn Out is High. About 2 years ago, I was having a chat with a Admin at SS, I asked what is the acceptance rate nowdays? he said 75%. Maybe then.... Now? I don't think so. 200+ reviewers?...that must be a astronomical amount of submissions and that will Only increase.. Are there some that go off the rails Now and then?  There has to be. When i joined SS, Jon was a reviewer and he used to call me asking for advice on what camera to buy......LOL  and YES, we all signed ND agreements and yes they are in every time zone so It moves 24/7.

Rinderart

« Reply #16 on: March 10, 2015, 13:11 »
0
You won't ever meet them.  They're all together in one city and it's statistically unlikely that it's your city.  It's not NYC. 
If you did meet one, they probably wouldn't know they work for Shutterstock.  Technically they work for a third party and they're not told too many details that don't directly improve their performance. 
And if you did meet one who knew their work ultimately went to Shutterstock, they certainly wouldn't divulge details about their systems or processes. 

It hasn't always been this way, but that's how I understand it to be now. 

Many agencies rate images at review.  The better agencies don't rely on it much, if at all.  Instead, they use data.  Lots of it.  In case you were wondering, Shutterstock is one of the better agencies. 

If you want to get your images higher up the search results, there's one guaranteed way: create better images.  ;)


Funny Lee...And true.


Uncle Pete

« Reply #17 on: March 10, 2015, 13:43 »
0
Good one Rinder. Here's a link to something you posted from a reviewer from the "old days" which I always get a laugh out of, when I read it.

http://submit.shutterstock.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10847

Here's a small slice of one day in the life of a reviewer ...

(I cut out the meat and the humor. You'll have to follow the link)

So that was a small slice of the entire 10 plus hours I spent reviewing images today. Wonder what tomorrow will bring?


I believe the author has been identified a number of times, but since I was asked not to say, I'll let someone else do that. She was a real trooper.

Rinderart

« Reply #18 on: March 10, 2015, 13:55 »
+1
And, A very fun Gal.

« Reply #19 on: March 10, 2015, 16:24 »
+1


 ;D

Semmick Photo

« Reply #20 on: March 10, 2015, 16:55 »
0
Good one Rinder. Here's a link to something you posted from a reviewer from the "old days" which I always get a laugh out of, when I read it.

http://submit.shutterstock.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10847

Here's a small slice of one day in the life of a reviewer ...

(I cut out the meat and the humor. You'll have to follow the link)

So that was a small slice of the entire 10 plus hours I spent reviewing images today. Wonder what tomorrow will bring?


I believe the author has been identified a number of times, but since I was asked not to say, I'll let someone else do that. She was a real trooper.


The story is posted here by the original reviewer

http://submit.shutterstock.com/forum/post-2598883.html

Anne Kitzman

http://www.shutterstock.com/gallery-uannieannie.html

Its been posted here:
http://www.microstockgroup.com/general-stock-discussion/let-see-it-the-other-way-the-ranting-of-a-reviewer/

Here:
http://www.stockphotothailand.com/index.php/80-shutterstock-contibutor/92-inspector

Here:
http://www.annekitzman.com/a-day-in-the-life-of-a-stock-photography-reviewer.html

Here:
http://submit.shutterstock.com/forum/post-186646.html

« Last Edit: March 11, 2015, 02:21 by Semmick Photo »

Rinderart

« Reply #21 on: March 10, 2015, 20:16 »
0
A Micro classic. and Right on the money what it's Like. we Both reviewed for the same Place.

« Reply #22 on: March 11, 2015, 02:17 »
+1
BEWARE - The final link in Semmick Photo's post immediately above is currently pointing to a pornographic website. Either his account has been hacked or, possibly, it is a DNS issue. (the link which begins my boardgame etc)

Semmick Photo

« Reply #23 on: March 11, 2015, 02:22 »
+1
Deleted the last url. That didn't come up yesterday. Thanks for pointing that out

« Reply #24 on: March 11, 2015, 02:24 »
+1
 >:(


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
0 Replies
1844 Views
Last post September 24, 2008, 16:15
by News Feed
61 Replies
24209 Views
Last post February 18, 2009, 14:04
by Brian O'Shea
25 Replies
6951 Views
Last post July 02, 2009, 23:48
by JMchen0918
6 Replies
3782 Views
Last post March 31, 2015, 22:14
by Jojo - Super Image Market
4 Replies
4076 Views
Last post October 11, 2018, 06:24
by Everypixel DAM

Sponsors

Mega Bundle of 5,900+ Professional Lightroom Presets

Microstock Poll Results

Sponsors

3100 Posing Cards Bundle