MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: Opting out of images sales altogether  (Read 809 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

« on: March 01, 2020, 14:51 »
0
Does anyone has any insight into the specific option to opt. out of images sales on SS altogether?

If ones does this does this happen right away or does it have to go through some type of process that takes a certain amount of time? I read on here in order to remove your archive from SS you have to wait a certain period of time? Is that true and if so how long?

If you opt out of images sales will your archive be taken off line immediately and not available to the clients to purchase or download?

Unfortunately I am weighing a few different option as some of the issues I have I have yet to be able resolve. Has anyone ever had luck in speaking with a human over there who will actually respond to real concerns and try to sort a solution?


« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2020, 18:35 »
+2
Does anyone has any insight into the specific option to opt. out of images sales on SS altogether?

If ones does this does this happen right away or does it have to go through some type of process that takes a certain amount of time? I read on here in order to remove your archive from SS you have to wait a certain period of time? Is that true and if so how long?

If you opt out of images sales will your archive be taken off line immediately and not available to the clients to purchase or download?

Unfortunately I am weighing a few different option as some of the issues I have I have yet to be able resolve. Has anyone ever had luck in speaking with a human over there who will actually respond to real concerns and try to sort a solution?




I have opted out of image sales. I dont believe it happens immediately, I think they update their servers every so often and it gets changed then. As far as removing your images, you can do that anytime through the catalog manager. Again, if you delete an image, it isnt taken down immediately, but disappears with next server update. I just deleted all my images a couple of weeks ago.
Never have spoken to a human there.




« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2020, 11:42 »
0
I thought you can only delete a certain amount of images every so often? Say you want them to stop selling your images? what would be the quickest and most most effective way to do that?

I was under the impression opting out of images sales would take them off rather quickly whereas deleting your account entirely takes several months?

Anyone know for sure?

« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2020, 12:55 »
0
I thought you can only delete a certain amount of images every so often? Say you want them to stop selling your images? what would be the quickest and most most effective way to do that?

I was under the impression opting out of images sales would take them off rather quickly whereas deleting your account entirely takes several months?

Anyone know for sure?
https://www.shutterstock.com/contributorsupport/articles/kbat02/000006645?fs=RelatedArticle&l=en_US
I guess it takes the same time. The pictures won't be visible to new customers, that is all that matters if you are going Istock exclusive route. I think the ones (customers) who have your pictures in their lightbox saved for future projects approval can still use them. Anyway, Istock knows exactly how long it takes to remove files from SS, you are not the first one to do that. So, don't worry, they'll accept your application as soon as you tell them you clicked Opt out button on SS.
« Last Edit: March 02, 2020, 13:02 by pics2 »

« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2020, 15:06 »
0
What's the difference between opt out and deleting? Does that mean, e.g. if you are licensing an RF image in an RM way - e.g. giving a direct client a one-year exclusive license - you can opt out and leave the image there and then opt in again? Or, in your case, trying iStock exclusive and keeping portfolio on ss hidden so you can c=go back if you change your mind without re-uploading?

« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2020, 17:50 »
+1
What's the difference between opt out and deleting? Does that mean, e.g. if you are licensing an RF image in an RM way - e.g. giving a direct client a one-year exclusive license - you can opt out and leave the image there and then opt in again? Or, in your case, trying iStock exclusive and keeping portfolio on ss hidden so you can c=go back if you change your mind without re-uploading?

No, when you opt out of sales all you images are effected. 
Shutterstock ? This allows us to license your images to customers. Contributors should only select No in very rare instances such as waiting for an exclusivity clause with another party to end.

I have turned them off in the past for a few weeks to no ill effect.

« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2020, 16:31 »
0
So basically, if one opts out or image sales - the account will be taken off line somewhat immediately and they will not be allowed to license your images to buyers unless you opt back in?

Also - if you do opt back in, do you images start from scratch in terms of rankings? If you had top rated images do they go to the bottom of the pile after opting back in?


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
38 Replies
9894 Views
Last post November 10, 2010, 04:26
by RacePhoto
15 Replies
13625 Views
Last post July 20, 2011, 07:18
by zager
11 Replies
2498 Views
Last post September 18, 2012, 18:33
by phildaint
48 Replies
2821 Views
Last post March 11, 2020, 16:43
by Uncle Pete
0 Replies
248 Views
Last post March 01, 2020, 15:03
by ShadySue

Sponsors

Mega Bundle of 5,900+ Professional Lightroom Presets

Microstock Poll Results

Sponsors

3100 Posing Cards Bundle