pancakes

MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: Shutterstock hiring cheap work-at-home reviewers  (Read 33721 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Hobostocker

    This user is banned.
« Reply #50 on: April 01, 2015, 01:58 »
0
ahhh the old "1 dollar a day" myth ....
here's the cheapest jobs i've seen in the last year so far :

- cambodia : female garment workers enslaved in chinese factories for 80-90$/month, they're often on strike asking for 150$/month but in the meantime it's 3$/day including 2 meals and transportation and such a low salary is only possible because they're women so their money adds up to the salary of their husband or their family, men will make 100-120$ even cleaning toilets and an apprentice clerk or shopkeeper makes 150$ in the capital while white collars jobs in office go from 2-300$ up and same for sales jobs + commissions and bonuses.

- vietnam : inflation booming, salaries from 150$ up.

- indonesia : more or less on par with cambodia unless we talk about Bali or Jakarta, in that case you just can't find anyone for less than 5$/day unless you provide meals and accomodation.

- philippines : similar scenario, you may heard of very cheap salaries but they include rooms and food and extras

- thailand : forget it, the minimum salary by law is now 10$/day (300 baht) and even illegal workers won't move a finger for less than 5-7$.

- malaysia : white collars earning easily 500-1000$/month, blue collars 3-400 + extras.

- singapore : salaries as high as in the west, with an army of enslaved immigrants from indonesia and philippines working for 3-400$/month which is really a pittance in Singapore but still 10-13 bucks per day ...


now ... where's this mythological land of "1 dollar per day" ?



Semmick Photo

« Reply #51 on: April 01, 2015, 02:34 »
+3
Did you watch the documentary A Dollar a Day? Its about a Mayan village where they only make a dollar a day. I actually donated to charity to help the people there after seeing the docu. They are happy people, but only make on average a dollar a day.

Hobostocker

    This user is banned.
« Reply #52 on: April 01, 2015, 03:51 »
+7
Did you watch the documentary A Dollar a Day? Its about a Mayan village where they only make a dollar a day. I actually donated to charity to help the people there after seeing the docu. They are happy people, but only make on average a dollar a day.

but some hands-on background is required to understand why in the poorest backyards of the third world people can survive with 1$/day ... i visited such places and the pattern is obvious once you get there and see the small details :

they're farmers, and most of what they need (food but also gasoline, meds, etc) they get by exchanging bags of rice, fruit/vegs, cattle, or doing some work, and this allows them to live "money free" in one way or another ... ask them how much they spend per day and they will say zero or one dollar, but in reality they spend maybe 10 kg of rice per family.

since they live off the land they can pretty much follow a quite spartan lifestyle ...rainwater in big storage tanks, water from wells, electricity from 12V batteries or diesel generators, often no electricity at all  ...

transportation .. battered down old trucks and scooters, i mean i've seen plenty of Honda Super Cub from the 60s, they must have been fixed 100 times ... and ancient chinese trucks that are considered a relic even in china !

healthcare : very basic, and again they can trade a doctor's visit with rice.

schooling : they only get village schools for kids, when they're 12 they go back work in the fields, if they've some money they send the kids in the city to enroll in high school.

i mean it's such an easy and linear life, no taxation, no burocracy, no high tech, but they all looked happy and smiling and relaxed.

the most important factor is that they're not too much impacted by inflation and their whole village is based on family clans that help each other, if one member is in deep sh-it the family will come to rescue or find some money, if somebody goes working in the city and lose his job he just goes back to the village and they know they've a roof on their head and hot meals.

the limit of this model is the scalability, it doesn't scale too well moneywise unless they sell meat or fish that pays better than rice but nobody is starving, it's quite another planet from living in a city and they don't miss anything of what we take for granted, no electricity for instance .. it's a non issue for them ... actually they love setting up a fire by night and eat together outdoors.

unpaved roads, lack of hygiene, same as above .. once you're born in the sh-it that's your natural environment.

« Reply #53 on: April 01, 2015, 04:15 »
-1
No wonder only white background images are accepted lately.

« Reply #54 on: April 01, 2015, 05:14 »
+1
"once you're born in the sh-it that's your natural environment."

That is a pretty patronising first world comment.

« Reply #55 on: April 01, 2015, 05:41 »
0
Couple of people I have known in the past went to India in the 1960s on the "Hippy trail"
They both said you could live for a dollar a day out there back then. . . :)

Dook

« Reply #56 on: April 01, 2015, 06:04 »
+2
Couple of people I have known in the past went to India in the 1960s on the "Hippy trail"
They both said you could live for a dollar a day out there back then. . . :)
I thought hippies don't need money  :)

ShadySue

« Reply #57 on: April 01, 2015, 06:45 »
0
Still, this thread has wandered a bit, as SS specifically want people in Europe for these posts. Wonder why?
And are trialling the all-month subs only in the US and Canada. (Prsumably the vast bulk of their market?)

« Reply #58 on: April 01, 2015, 07:18 »
+2
Still, this thread has wandered a bit, as SS specifically want people in Europe for these posts. Wonder why?
And are trialling the all-month subs only in the US and Canada. (Prsumably the vast bulk of their market?)

Because the reviews are regional. If you live Europe your images are reviewed by someone in your region of Europe.

If you live in the states your images are reviewed by someone in your region. If you notice the job board for shutterstock they are advertising for reviewers in various regions of the US.

« Reply #59 on: April 01, 2015, 07:25 »
+1
I am from Europe. If i received the status at 3-4am, belive me that the reviewer is not from Europe. I don't think someone is working in the night :)
Sometimes i get the status in the evening, sometimes at lunch and sometimes in the night.

ShadySue

« Reply #60 on: April 01, 2015, 07:30 »
+1
Still, this thread has wandered a bit, as SS specifically want people in Europe for these posts. Wonder why?
And are trialling the all-month subs only in the US and Canada. (Prsumably the vast bulk of their market?)

Because the reviews are regional. If you live Europe your images are reviewed by someone in your region of Europe.

If you live in the states your images are reviewed by someone in your region. If you notice the job board for shutterstock they are advertising for reviewers in various regions of the US.

How strange. So if I shot an isolated apple or made images in Tuvalu, my images would be subject to different criteria than if an American or Australian make the same images?  ::)

« Reply #61 on: April 01, 2015, 09:59 »
+2
Couple of people I have known in the past went to India in the 1960s on the "Hippy trail"
They both said you could live for a dollar a day out there back then. . . :)
I thought hippies don't need money  :)
Hey man you must be a capitalist!
Can you lend me some bread? :)

Hobostocker

    This user is banned.
« Reply #62 on: April 01, 2015, 23:20 »
+1
"once you're born in the sh-it that's your natural environment."

That is a pretty patronising first world comment.

i've seen both sides of the world, and even in the first world there's a lot of people living in the sh-it by choice.

there's nothing wrong in living minimal as long as you do it by choice and not out of poverty or desperation ... actually i'm all for minimalistic lifestyle, if i could i would live in a van or RV for some time and become a "digital nomad" (in europe known as "fulltimers"), it seems to be popular among landscape photographers traveling in remote locations.




« Reply #63 on: April 01, 2015, 23:39 »
+2
I am from Europe. If i received the status at 3-4am, belive me that the reviewer is not from Europe. I don't think someone is working in the night :)
Sometimes i get the status in the evening, sometimes at lunch and sometimes in the night.

I will have to let my wife know that she is no longer allowed to work all hours anymore.

;) You might have to wait longer for reviews if she and her friends are relegated back to 9 to 5 work hours.

Reviewers can work when the please.

« Reply #64 on: April 02, 2015, 01:27 »
+4
Work From Home Vector & Illustration Image Reviewer (Europe)
http://www.shutterstock.com/jobs/listings/2709-work-from-home-vector-illustration-image-reviewer-europe-

so, despite making billions of $ they can't even afford to provide you a cubicle in an office, you're also expected to use your own computer, work during weekend, and pay for your own fast 25Mb+ line ... no mention about salary but you can guess it's on par with grilling burgers at mcdonalds.

this is a new low for photography, skills like image reviewing or  photo editing are basically considered worthless even by the top tier photo agencies like SS.


After reading all the entries in this 3 page long thread it looks like this is actually a great opportunity for people who like working from home. The practice that every agency does these days...that in particular can help reviewers who live in much cheaper places...and the quality of reviews is not affected at all. 

Cost cutting that leaves ALL agencies with more money, the extra cash that sadly  contributors will never get.

« Last Edit: April 02, 2015, 14:54 by KnowYourOnions »

« Reply #65 on: April 02, 2015, 10:23 »
+4
Well, we've always suspected that many reviewers are not exactly top-tier or even remotely qualified. I was always willing to give the reviewers a little slack, but today . . .

Rejections for "Editorial Caption--Image requires proper caption and must be tagged as editorial."

After thousands of editorial acceptances I'm pretty sure I have the process down pat. The above reason is simply not true. Where did it come from and what are they thinking?

« Reply #66 on: April 02, 2015, 10:43 »
+1
Well, we've always suspected that many reviewers are not exactly top-tier or even remotely qualified. I was always willing to give the reviewers a little slack, but today . . .

Rejections for "Editorial Caption--Image requires proper caption and must be tagged as editorial."

After thousands of editorial acceptances I'm pretty sure I have the process down pat. The above reason is simply not true. Where did it come from and what are they thinking?

moral case in a nutshell ----
masochist aspires to be microstock contributors
sadist aspires to be ss reviewers

atilla bloodline thrive on giving rejections to experienced types like you  :D
i too am seeking blood lately, so maybe i will apply to be a reviewer 8)



« Reply #67 on: April 02, 2015, 11:44 »
+2
Work From Home Vector & Illustration Image Reviewer (Europe)
http://www.shutterstock.com/jobs/listings/2709-work-from-home-vector-illustration-image-reviewer-europe-

so, despite making billions of $ they can't even afford to provide you a cubicle in an office, you're also expected to use your own computer, work during weekend, and pay for your own fast 25Mb+ line ... no mention about salary but you can guess it's on par with grilling burgers at mcdonalds.

this is a new low for photography, skills like image reviewing or  photo editing are basically considered worthless even by the top tier photo agencies like SS.



Until we know the revenues it's a little bit early to judge them....  ;)

....who knows they ask for alot but MAYBE they offer according.... MAYBE the only one scrwed there are us, contributors.
« Last Edit: April 02, 2015, 13:33 by nicku »

gillian vann

  • *Gillian*
« Reply #68 on: April 02, 2015, 17:00 »
+3
Still, this thread has wandered a bit, as SS specifically want people in Europe for these posts. Wonder why?
And are trialling the all-month subs only in the US and Canada. (Prsumably the vast bulk of their market?)

Because the reviews are regional. If you live Europe your images are reviewed by someone in your region of Europe.

If you live in the states your images are reviewed by someone in your region. If you notice the job board for shutterstock they are advertising for reviewers in various regions of the US.

How strange. So if I shot an isolated apple or made images in Tuvalu, my images would be subject to different criteria than if an American or Australian make the same images?  ::)

this topic has come up elsewhere, but having Aussie images judged by Americans is also annoying, as they don't actually know what is iconic here (eg, a Granny Smith apple is an Aussie variety, and so is the preferred image for say, apple pie, or apple crumble, which is just as popular). I noticed there are no reviewer positions in any country that uses proper British English, which might explain why the SS vocab still flags words like "colour" as incorrect.

ShadySue

« Reply #69 on: April 02, 2015, 17:33 »
+2
Still, this thread has wandered a bit, as SS specifically want people in Europe for these posts. Wonder why?
And are trialling the all-month subs only in the US and Canada. (Prsumably the vast bulk of their market?)


Because the reviews are regional. If you live Europe your images are reviewed by someone in your region of Europe.

If you live in the states your images are reviewed by someone in your region. If you notice the job board for shutterstock they are advertising for reviewers in various regions of the US.


How strange. So if I shot an isolated apple or made images in Tuvalu, my images would be subject to different criteria than if an American or Australian make the same images?  ::)


this topic has come up elsewhere, but having Aussie images judged by Americans is also annoying, as they don't actually know what is iconic here (eg, a Granny Smith apple is an Aussie variety, and so is the preferred image for say, apple pie, or apple crumble, which is just as popular). I noticed there are no reviewer positions in any country that uses proper British English, which might explain why the SS vocab still flags words like "colour" as incorrect.

So an American reviewer would reject a Granny Smith apple, just because it was a variety they might be unfamiliar with? Grief. Thank goodness I'm not there. [1]
Still doesn't address the issue, in the case of localised cultural limitations, what if people submit images from outwith their home area (e.g. I do a lot)?

BTW, we use various forms of British English in the UK and are part of Europe, so I guess Brits are eligible to apply for the positions under discussion here, should they wish to do so.

[1] But after I posted the above, I remembered this discussion:
http://www.istockphoto.com/forum_messages.php?threadid=48380
which illustrated the problem of the low pay of reviewers so that they didn't have time to check on terms they weren't familiar with.
« Last Edit: April 02, 2015, 18:35 by ShadySue »

Shelma1

« Reply #70 on: April 02, 2015, 18:09 »
+5
??? Granny Smiths are pretty popular here.

« Reply #71 on: April 02, 2015, 18:32 »
0
ahhh the old "1 dollar a day" myth ....
here's the cheapest jobs i've seen in the last year so far :

- cambodia : female garment workers enslaved in chinese factories for 80-90$/month, they're often on strike asking for 150$/month but in the meantime it's 3$/day including 2 meals and transportation and such a low salary is only possible because they're women so their money adds up to the salary of their husband or their family, men will make 100-120$ even cleaning toilets and an apprentice clerk or shopkeeper makes 150$ in the capital while white collars jobs in office go from 2-300$ up and same for sales jobs + commissions and bonuses.

- vietnam : inflation booming, salaries from 150$ up.

- indonesia : more or less on par with cambodia unless we talk about Bali or Jakarta, in that case you just can't find anyone for less than 5$/day unless you provide meals and accomodation.

- philippines : similar scenario, you may heard of very cheap salaries but they include rooms and food and extras

- thailand : forget it, the minimum salary by law is now 10$/day (300 baht) and even illegal workers won't move a finger for less than 5-7$.

- malaysia : white collars earning easily 500-1000$/month, blue collars 3-400 + extras.

- singapore : salaries as high as in the west, with an army of enslaved immigrants from indonesia and philippines working for 3-400$/month which is really a pittance in Singapore but still 10-13 bucks per day ...


now ... where's this mythological land of "1 dollar per day" ?

Hobostocker, thank you for share your knowledge with us; i may have to travel to Asia in a few months and this info will be very useful to know the context of different countries.

When i say that in India people earn 1US$ per day I based on a personal communication I had with a friend on 2005 (not my personal experience because i never was in Asia before); he told me that people earn about 2 or 3 rupiahs per hour and 25 rupiahs was a dollar, so i calculated 10 hours of work about 1 dollar (1 dollar per day).

Of course as you told this is not the situation of most workers, but maybe of some of them.

By the way, did you know what is the average salary in Taiwan??
« Last Edit: April 02, 2015, 18:34 by Mrblues101 »

« Reply #72 on: April 02, 2015, 18:33 »
0
(sorry double post by accident)

« Reply #73 on: April 03, 2015, 01:07 »
+1
[1] But after I posted the above, I remembered this discussion:
http://www.istockphoto.com/forum_messages.php?threadid=48380
which illustrated the problem of the low pay of reviewers so that they didn't have time to check on terms they weren't familiar with.


+10


Hobostocker

    This user is banned.
« Reply #74 on: April 03, 2015, 02:06 »
+2
Until we know the revenues it's a little bit early to judge them....  ;)

....who knows they ask for alot but MAYBE they offer according.... MAYBE the only one scrwed there are us, contributors.

try searching for photography jobs in UK for instance, even for full time studio jobs they offer salaries around 15-20K/year ...  and some as low as 12K pounds, which is basically poverty line in UK and especially in London.





 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
3 Replies
2665 Views
Last post August 11, 2008, 06:03
by Microbius
17 Replies
5934 Views
Last post November 12, 2008, 17:15
by AVAVA
3 Replies
3041 Views
Last post December 11, 2008, 13:37
by icefront
29 Replies
4882 Views
Last post May 25, 2017, 14:13
by Pauws99
11 Replies
1716 Views
Last post May 07, 2019, 09:19
by BalkanskiMacak

Sponsors

Microstock Poll Results