MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: Shutterstock hiring cheap work-at-home reviewers  (Read 32179 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Hobostocker

    This user is banned.
« on: March 30, 2015, 04:38 »
+10
Work From Home Vector & Illustration Image Reviewer (Europe)
http://www.shutterstock.com/jobs/listings/2709-work-from-home-vector-illustration-image-reviewer-europe-

so, despite making billions of $ they can't even afford to provide you a cubicle in an office, you're also expected to use your own computer, work during weekend, and pay for your own fast 25Mb+ line ... no mention about salary but you can guess it's on par with grilling burgers at mcdonalds.

this is a new low for photography, skills like image reviewing or  photo editing are basically considered worthless even by the top tier photo agencies like SS.



Semmick Photo

« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2015, 05:01 »
+4
You also need to own the software to review images. You are required to own Adobe Illustrator to review vectors.

« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2015, 05:10 »
+7
Without knowing the income potential this is a blind judgement - but I would have thought anyone with the skills they are advertising for could find a more lucrative and satisfying way to spend 25-30 hours a week?

« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2015, 05:28 »
+13
So I assume that also means that SS has officially absolutely no control over monitors on which images will be reviewed.

Good like with white balance rejections.  ;)

Hobostocker

    This user is banned.
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2015, 05:38 »
+12
too many red flags :

1 - not a single word is spent about salary, fees, benefits
2 - you're only hired as "freelance", not full time.
3 - no mention about career advancement, bonus packages
4 - no training provided, despite their laundry list of requirements including complex legal things like fraud detection, release, and copyright.




« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2015, 05:41 »
+6
That why the reviews are loopy  ::)

Beppe Grillo

« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2015, 05:59 »
0
Work From Home Vector & Illustration Image Reviewer (Europe)
http://www.shutterstock.com/jobs/listings/2709-work-from-home-vector-illustration-image-reviewer-europe-

so, despite making billions of $ they can't even afford to provide you a cubicle in an office, you're also expected to use your own computer, work during weekend, and pay for your own fast 25Mb+ line ... no mention about salary but you can guess it's on par with grilling burgers at mcdonalds.

this is a new low for photography, skills like image reviewing or  photo editing are basically considered worthless even by the top tier photo agencies like SS.



If their photo reviewers are hired in this way this probably explains most of the rejections for "white balance"
I am not sure that they will all use calibrated Eizo monitors or any calibrated monitor at all O_o

Good move iStock!



« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2015, 06:02 »
+19
Hasn't it always been like this in microstock?  Guess who would be paying for it if the sites had professional reviewers and paid them properly.

Hobostocker

    This user is banned.
« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2015, 06:03 »
+8
That why the reviews are loopy  ::)

sure but that's not the point, what we're seeing now is yet another devalueing of photography jobs, and if that matter i spotted a couple similar job posts by well known RM agencies like Arcangel seeking part time reviewers in UK and this is a bad trend considering agencies put such an emphasys on the idea that their collections are "carefully edited" by super duper professionals .. yeah and then you have random pennyless students working at home on a freelance basis rejecting good images while eating a burger and rubbing their ba-lls ?

if this is the trend, they will reap what they sow, no wonder they treat us like sh-it.


« Reply #9 on: March 30, 2015, 06:09 »
0
Hasn't it always been like this in microstock?  Guess who would be paying for it if the sites had professional reviewers and paid them properly.

Or from another perspective, we are, but they are saving on professional reviews and redirecting that into something more important  ;)

« Reply #10 on: March 30, 2015, 06:24 »
+17
Isnt this the way all agencies work? I know many reviewers from istock and they work from home, pretty sure other agencies also have a large number of reviewers from around the world. It gives them access to international teams and 24/7 review times.

Monitors have to be good quality and calibrated, but that is a normal requirement for a media professional, and most of them have illustrator or photoshop because they use it every day.

I really dont see anything unusual in the ad.

« Reply #11 on: March 30, 2015, 07:08 »
+4
Why would anyone apply when there is zero detail of remuneration? I guess only if you are super desperate, so unlikely to have the skills required!

Beppe Grillo

« Reply #12 on: March 30, 2015, 08:39 »
+1
Hasn't it always been like this in microstock?  Guess who would be paying for it if the sites had professional reviewers and paid them properly.

The sites with no reviewer at all (I mean those accepting anything) are more professional :D

« Reply #13 on: March 30, 2015, 08:56 »
+6
Why would anyone apply when there is zero detail of remuneration? I guess only if you are super desperate, so unlikely to have the skills required!

I think they offer you the chance to be a reviewer - one site asked me if I would like to do it a few years back (I said "no"). I know someone else who did reviewing for a bit and I believe it helped him a lot in recognising errors in his own work. The payment is very low, obviously, so the reviewers have to work through a huge number of images to make anything worthwhile. It astonishes me that their work is as good as it is.

« Reply #14 on: March 30, 2015, 09:03 »
0
I assume this is the way it has always been - most agencies don't have reviewers on site do they?  It is the perfect job for working at home.  It is interesting that they want so many hours per week and with no mention of pay or benefits - I can't imagine it would be attractive to many people.  They also don't require you to be a contributor so they could take people with no understanding at all of the industry from the contributor's side.  OTOH, they won't be competitors with the people they are reviewing so I guess that is a plus.  Also strange that they don't mention training - I assume they would have some sort of extensive training but that is not mentioned.  The other test is just for internet speed - nothing on how good you are at determining image quality, etc.  I suppose if you really want to know more about it you can apply - might be easier hitting "Reject" a few thousand times a day than producing images, and of course it would tell you how to do better yourself as mentioned already.

« Reply #15 on: March 30, 2015, 09:24 »
+2
Payment is per image or per image approved, so earnings will depend on how fast you work, and the sites - at least the major ones - provide training and run assessments on the work of the reviewers to try to maintain a uniform standard. I think that at least one site had some specialised software to help with the evaluation of images - I heard all this a long time ago but I presume it must still be so.

ruxpriencdiam

    This user is banned.
  • Location. Third stone from the sun
« Reply #16 on: March 30, 2015, 09:59 »
0
If I remember right at SS you have to have at least 500 images and an established port?



« Reply #17 on: March 30, 2015, 10:00 »
+5
Sounds like a decent opportunity if you need some extra cash.

ruxpriencdiam

    This user is banned.
  • Location. Third stone from the sun
« Reply #18 on: March 30, 2015, 10:05 »
+1
Current openings.

http://www.shutterstock.com/jobs/listings

Quote
Work From Home Image Reviewer

Headquartered in New York, Shutterstock is an innovative e-commerce company and a leading provider of royalty-free videos, photos, and illustrations. With over 30 million images and videos, Shutterstock sources content from a contributor community of thousands of photographers, videographers, artists and illustrators from around the world. We consider our contributor community, supply chain and operational capability to be among our greatest assets.

We are hiring Image Reviewers located in the USA to evaluate images for their overall quality, technical execution, commercial suitability, and adherence to our image acceptance standards.

This is a freelance work-from-home position using the reviewer's own equipment and based around the reviewers available schedule.
Responsibilities:

    Efficiently evaluate and approve images based on defined acceptance standards.
    Operate as an authority for technical standards, trademark exceptions, fraud detection, copyright and release requirements; review images for adherence to content standards and suitability for inclusion in our commercial image catalog.
    Perform exceptionable and consistent image evaluations in a high volume, fast-paced, and super detail-oriented manner.
    Apply metadata standards, with light metadata editing and a keen eye for keyword and title relevance to drive accurate search engine results.
    Provide consistent, objective, efficient, concise and accurate feedback to contributors.

Requirements:

    Mandatory: Domain expertise and passionate enthusiasm for photography with 2+ years of professional photography experience, preferably as a photographer, contributor to stock agencies, photo editor, or photo researcher.
    Must be available to work 25-30 hours per week including 5-8 hours per weekend.
    Must have high-speed wired broadband Internet access [at least 25mbps download speed to test: http://www.speedtest.net/], own a PC or Mac, and own a sufficient and accurate color display for viewing high-resolution images.
    Adept at photo editing, image resolution, and metadata evaluation, along with a basic foundation of best practices in post-production processes.
    Understanding of evolving image industry trends, styles, and commercial value.
    Comfortable and enthusiastic about making many detailed judgments repetitively.
    Highly organized, super analytical and extremely detail-oriented.
    Strong command of English; ability to read/write and participate in operations and business meetings.

Software: Knowledge of Adobe Photoshop, Google Docs and Microsoft Office Suite.

In addition to applying, please complete the following questionnaire to be considered for this position -- http://goo.gl/YXv868

 Equal Opportunity Employer, M/F/D/V

« Reply #19 on: March 30, 2015, 10:20 »
0
Someone must look over reviewers somehow, otherwise they can just press the "ACEPT IMAGE" button continuously without checking the image and make some "easy" money...

Maybe they have to have a % approved and % disapproved images and this explains why they are sometimes hardest; they must fulfill their % of disapproved images (just a theory)

Beppe Grillo

« Reply #20 on: March 30, 2015, 11:00 »
+1
^ I think that there is not a single button to push to accept the image or one to push to reject it.
It should be, I imagine, a list to check [yes/no] + a corresponding list of errors.

It would be interesting to know, from somebody with experience in reviewing images for microstocks, how it works exactly.


« Reply #21 on: March 30, 2015, 11:19 »
-1
^ I think that there is not a single button to push to accept the image or one to push to reject it.
It should be, I imagine, a list to check [yes/no] + a corresponding list of errors.

It would be interesting to know, from somebody with experience in reviewing images for microstocks, how it works exactly.

Yes, you are right... but i use the "ACEPT Button" as a metaphor of just acept images quickly without real check it...

« Reply #22 on: March 30, 2015, 11:27 »
+1
ALL agency do the same!

Some even offer English lessons to their curators! Go figure!  :o
https://jobs.lever.co/pond5/7bb489f3-7d74-4dfd-929b-7eee8d51131e
Based in Eastern Europe = paid peanuts.

https://www.facebook.com/pond5/photos/a.10152767445834777.1073741835.29824144776/10152767448689777/?type=3&theater

 :-X
« Last Edit: April 01, 2015, 01:55 by KnowYourOnions »

cuppacoffee

« Reply #23 on: March 30, 2015, 11:41 »
0
DT Careers - Image Editor
http://www.dreamstime.com/careers/image-editor

DT Careers - Other Opportunities
http://www.dreamstime.com/careers/

« Reply #24 on: March 30, 2015, 11:43 »
0
DT has the "exclusive" clause though.


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
3 Replies
2587 Views
Last post August 11, 2008, 06:03
by Microbius
17 Replies
5736 Views
Last post November 12, 2008, 17:15
by AVAVA
3 Replies
2853 Views
Last post December 11, 2008, 13:37
by icefront
29 Replies
4648 Views
Last post May 25, 2017, 14:13
by Pauws99
11 Replies
1053 Views
Last post May 07, 2019, 09:19
by BalkanskiMacak

Sponsors

Microstock Poll Results