MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: Ouch ! Long review and then near total rejection  (Read 7157 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

« on: November 27, 2009, 01:20 »
0
 :-[

I have had about 5 uploads of a total of about 60 images that have been sitting there and not been reviewed since 1 Nov.  Then all of a sudden they review ALL of them.  Only one gets accepted and all the rest get rejected!!  Each with the same rejection that they are not looking for that kind of image???

Same photos accepted and selling at other sites??

I have never had a problem like this with this site.  Its weird.  I wonder what is going on.


« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2009, 01:45 »
0
I wonder if it's a change of guidelines to iStock's, or even a transition to phase in the actual reviewers from iStock.

I haven't uploaded to StockXpert since about July. I usually had almost automatic acceptance there. Wonder what it will be like when (if) I start up again.

« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2009, 02:24 »
0
:-[

I have had about 5 uploads of a total of about 60 images that have been sitting there and not been reviewed since 1 Nov.  Then all of a sudden they review ALL of them.  Only one gets accepted and all the rest get rejected!!  Each with the same rejection that they are not looking for that kind of image???

Same photos accepted and selling at other sites??

I have never had a problem like this with this site.  Its weird.  I wonder what is going on.

Stacey (suwanneeredhead) and I just had the same thing happen to both of us with very large batches uploaded over different days and after long waits for the photos to be approved (graphics were cherry picked approved early on) there were mass rejections often with one approval out of an entire batch of 15 or 20. We're talking around 100 photos with blanket rejections between the two of us and the reviews happened at the same time ...

I too am wondering what is happening between them and IS ...

-Mark


« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2009, 02:52 »
0
Very strange... Things are just about the same as they've always been there for me. There was a stretch where review times got a bit long, but lately, less than a week seems to be the norm. No more rejections than usual, either.

hqimages

  • www.draiochtwebdesign.com
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2009, 06:44 »
0
Two long-time/full-time reviewers left Stockxpert due to disagreements with new Istock management.. the one or two reviewers that are left have been told the work will NOT be picked up by replacement staff from istock..

Honestly I have to commend the skeleton staff that are left for even bothering to keep the site going, and it must be tough on them too being understaffed, the forum is full of complaints but of course no-one knows or has been told what's going on.. the reviewers must be working flat out to try and get the queue down with, I repeat, NO REPLACEMENTS for the missing reviewers now, or in the future..

« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2009, 10:01 »
0
Well... that explains it.

Hmmm.     I find that they have one of the more labor intensive submitting processes too.  I guess I try a few more times.  But if I keep getting 98% rejections.... It may be time to move on.  They had been pretty good for me in the past both in review times and sales.

« Reply #6 on: November 27, 2009, 11:16 »
0
Very strange... Things are just about the same as they've always been there for me. There was a stretch where review times got a bit long, but lately, less than a week seems to be the norm. No more rejections than usual, either.
Review times have been running 1-2 weeks for me. That said, I've (almost) always had large % rejections when i submit in bulk (this has been the case for the last 2 years). However, when I submit in small batches (2-5), the rejection % seems to be much lower.
Sales have been steady regardless (knock on wood).

« Reply #7 on: November 27, 2009, 15:44 »
0
I don't submit to StockExchange, but I know the feeling.

I have simply stopped sending large groups.  I am totally convinced that reviewers will simply stamp the lot, reject them and move on. 


RacePhoto

« Reply #8 on: December 22, 2009, 11:34 »
0
Bringing a thread back from the near death experience. Two month old questions and while I was surfing the forums this morening I found a similar question on the StockXpert forum. Two messages, one help file, combined into this response. Anything in italics is my emphasis.

"In the Jupiter era we were asked to approve almost all subject as long as the quality was there in order to use the image count for sale as a marketing tool to get more buyers. This is no longer the case.

Images of nature and scenery are mostly rejected because the demand is not very high and because 95% of contributors upload this type of imagery."

"We also need to take into account production value. It is very frustrating as a contributor who devotes time and money on getting the perfect shots to see his work buried under pages of nature images with low or no production value. Again, about 95% of contributors upload nature and sceneries at one point and these subject matters are the lowest selling image types on the site yet they take up about a third of the content available online."

"TOPICS WE ARE NOT SO KEEN ON

Sunsets, landscapes, flowers, pets, very basic studio pics, vacation shots... If you think you can provide better than the ones we have online, upload them, but remember: we're very picky about these. "

ap

« Reply #9 on: December 22, 2009, 13:58 »
0
interesting post. a sunset landscape and a flower shot were just approved two weeks ago. i guess that won't be the case going forward (if there is any forward at StockXpert)?

also, i think their approval criteria is a work in progress. a bike shot (with human) was approved without a problem a month ago. but two weeks later, another batch were all rejected  for legal reasons.
« Last Edit: December 22, 2009, 14:02 by ap »

RacePhoto

« Reply #10 on: December 23, 2009, 01:48 »
0
interesting post. a sunset landscape and a flower shot were just approved two weeks ago. i guess that won't be the case going forward (if there is any forward at StockXpert)?

also, i think their approval criteria is a work in progress. a bike shot (with human) was approved without a problem a month ago. but two weeks later, another batch were all rejected  for legal reasons.

What they are saying is, if you want to submit something that they are already overloaded with, which also don't sell well, it needs to be above average. It appears that yours were good enough.  :)

Second part, I'll guess that the IS legal team has been educating the StockXpert reviewers to their standards and we will probably see both sites attempting to have consistent rules for rejection and approval based on content. This will make for less mystery in life. I'm all for it when I see how varied other agency opinions have been in the past. Since material from both sites will be going to the "site without a name" (just like Prince?) it only makes sense to have the same standards going in.

ap

« Reply #11 on: December 23, 2009, 02:33 »
0

Second part, I'll guess that the IS legal team has been educating the StockXpert reviewers to their standards and we will probably see both sites attempting to have consistent rules for rejection and approval based on content.

 :D i'm sure they all appreciate the re-education. the only thing is that these same photos were all approved at is. now what?  ;)


« Reply #12 on: January 15, 2010, 13:36 »
0
the same here. Whole batch rejected for the reason "we don't need this subject..."

« Reply #13 on: January 15, 2010, 13:55 »
0
my experience with StockXpert has gone back to the good ones as i originally experienced before the internal conflict that left them sort of left in limbo.
since my return to submitting new images to StockXpert, after an initial batch of "we don't need this subject", i decide to stop thinking of StockXpert as the old StockXpert.
ie. they obviously don't want the same old same old.
since then, StockXpert have been approving all of my new works and very promptly.

it's obvious they want a new site to rise from the ashes of a once excellent StockXpert.
we cannot expect them to just take our same old same old , and with the same breath expect StockXpert rebirth.

as Race pointed , they want IS standard, but something more.
i think that's good news. it's a new decade, and i for one welcome StockXpert 's rebirth.

RacePhoto

« Reply #14 on: January 29, 2010, 16:58 »
0
the same here. Whole batch rejected for the reason "we don't need this subject..."

Just uploaded one, and before I could finish the keywords and click submit it for review, the status popped up as "rejected by admin_crew poor lighting" do they have a robot that reviews images now? In my account it shows as pending? Huh? which is it?

This is an edit of a refused image, where I fixed the problem with a reflection and altered it back to isolated on black, which it was shot as,  before I "fixed" ;) it and made it isolated on yellow. Which I thought was a more appealing background color for food.

Automatic rejection for re-upload of similar image, without looking at it? Automatic rejection for isolated on black? How does a photo get rejected in under 60 seconds?


donding

  • Think before you speak
« Reply #15 on: January 29, 2010, 17:02 »
0
Wow Race that was quick...just to bad it was rejected....would be nice if the accepted ones moved through that fast!!

« Reply #16 on: January 29, 2010, 18:10 »
0

as Race pointed , they want IS standard, but something more.
i think that's good news. it's a new decade, and i for one welcome StockXpert 's rebirth.

Well... not that what you say isnt true..to a degree it may very well be true.
     However,  I just punched in a thread about an hour ago reviving this topic....
     As said on that thread,  I just experimented with an upload there, havent uploaded there since mid of last year or so.   The three images were rejected.  One,  'not interested".  The other two,  a dining room table and a brick sidewalk  rejected for need of a property release.
  My point.  I have all three images in my IS port.  So in my particular case with these particuar images... this doesnt apply.
   I'm wondering if they are 'shutting down'  people that already have an IS port???  Is that stupid thinking?  ...or paranoia...  LOL  8)=tom

RacePhoto

« Reply #17 on: January 29, 2010, 18:24 »
0
All of the above?  ::)

What I suspected was either I hit an upload while someone was right there watching for uploads and looking for something to do, or, it registered as the same image, even though it wasn't, and the system spit it out?

In the past I've had a good acceptance rate on StockXpert and whether it's a few days or a week, doesn't bother me that much. Could be that they are reviewing all the StockXpert old files for porting over to the new mystery site, while adding the new ones and it's a heavy work load.

Maybe the thing about IS reviewers is the answer and they are taking everything up to IS standards, which would explain the recent changes. Used to be I'd get things accepted at most sites about the same except IS. But IS was consistent with what they took or refused. Now IS and StockXpert are running the same. SS and BigStock are about the same.

Just surprised that I could have a photo refused before I could get the keywords and categories added.

Some from last week 11 days waiting, went through overnight along with eight from late last night, which are already accepted.
« Last Edit: January 29, 2010, 18:27 by RacePhoto »


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
23 Replies
6738 Views
Last post June 30, 2008, 12:39
by oboy
14 Replies
3831 Views
Last post May 10, 2008, 07:30
by a.k.a.-tom
1 Replies
1639 Views
Last post June 15, 2009, 16:11
by melastmohican
21 Replies
6504 Views
Last post July 08, 2009, 18:16
by Squat
13 Replies
4308 Views
Last post March 19, 2014, 14:15
by Julied83

Sponsors

Microstock Poll Results