MicrostockGroup

Microstock Photography Forum - General => Symbiostock => Symbiostock - Technical Support => Topic started by: Anita Potter on August 13, 2013, 03:47

Title: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: Anita Potter on August 13, 2013, 03:47
I could've sworn I read something about that but can't seem to find the post.

My image pages looks like the jpg's have been compressed as they look a little blurry.  Is that normal and should I make a note about that.

Thanks.
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: picture5469 on August 13, 2013, 03:56
Read this, it might help
http://www.microstockgroup.com/symbiostock-technical-support/symbiostock-similar-images-widget-thumbs-blurry/msg336970/#msg336970 (http://www.microstockgroup.com/symbiostock-technical-support/symbiostock-similar-images-widget-thumbs-blurry/msg336970/#msg336970)
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: Anita Potter on August 13, 2013, 04:02
I don't have Jet Pack and the only active plugins I have are contact form 7, related posts by taxonomy and sy email updates and notifications.

Looking at the source code on one of my pages doesn't show any width or height restrictions.  It could also be this crappy monitor.
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: picture5469 on August 13, 2013, 04:06
I don't have Jet Pack and the only active plugins I have are contact form 7, related posts by taxonomy and sy email updates and notifications.

Looking at the source code on one of my pages doesn't show any width or height restrictions.  It could also be this crappy monitor.

I looked at them, they seem fine. Love the periodic table! I'm actually a chemist myself.

Why dont you post a link to one of the ones you think is really blurry so we can check it for you.
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: Anita Potter on August 13, 2013, 04:11
Okay will do.  Should've mentioned that I really need glasses as well  :P

(http://images.mddu.com/wp-content/uploads/symbiostock_rf_content/1721-smiling-thanksgiving-turkey.jpg)

Thanks.  I like chemistry as well but never pursued it which is a pity.  I love science.
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: picture5469 on August 13, 2013, 04:20
On your site the mini pic looks fine to me. also the bigger thumbnail on your site also looks fine. However, the image you posted here looks blurry. I think thats because its either a screen dump or been blown up slightly.

Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: FastRacer on August 13, 2013, 05:08
And make sure your images are being processed by imagemagick. When you process the uploads, it will say at the top of the page. If they arent, you need to add a bit of code to the php.ini file.
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: Nikd90 on August 13, 2013, 06:26
And make sure your images are being processed by imagemagick. When you process the uploads, it will say at the top of the page. If they arent, you need to add a bit of code to the php.ini file.

Can you please list the steps to add image magic ? What is the benefit of this over the default processing?
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: ShazamImages on August 13, 2013, 06:34
The turkey image that you posted above has definitely been resized slightly larger.  On your website (http://images.mddu.com/image/smiling-thanksgiving-turkey/?r=http://images.mddu.com (http://images.mddu.com/image/smiling-thanksgiving-turkey/?r=http://images.mddu.com)), the image is 573 x 443 px.  But the image you displayed above is 590 x 456 px.
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: FastRacer on August 13, 2013, 06:55
And make sure your images are being processed by imagemagick. When you process the uploads, it will say at the top of the page. If they arent, you need to add a bit of code to the php.ini file.

Can you please list the steps to add image magic ? What is the benefit of this over the default processing?


I am at work so cant do that right now, but a search of the SY section should have threads about image processing. The php.ini file should be in the root folder of your SY site. I did not have one at first, so bluehost created it for me. Then you have to open that file and add a code (sorry, just cant remember it exactly but something like imagick=so or something like that). And thats it.


Benefits: processes your images crisper. Also, not processing with imagemagick sometimes leaves horizontal gray lines in your thumbnail images.
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: Nikd90 on August 13, 2013, 10:20
And make sure your images are being processed by imagemagick. When you process the uploads, it will say at the top of the page. If they arent, you need to add a bit of code to the php.ini file.

Can you please list the steps to add image magic ? What is the benefit of this over the default processing?


I am at work so cant do that right now, but a search of the SY section should have threads about image processing. The php.ini file should be in the root folder of your SY site. I did not have one at first, so bluehost created it for me. Then you have to open that file and add a code (sorry, just cant remember it exactly but something like imagick=so or something like that). And thats it.


Benefits: processes your images crisper. Also, not processing with imagemagick sometimes leaves horizontal gray lines in your thumbnail images.

Will search the forum and change the processing to imagemagick. Few questions:
- I  would want to reprocess my images that are already online. Will that help?
- I hope bluehost allows it. Any IDea?
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: FastRacer on August 13, 2013, 10:48
And make sure your images are being processed by imagemagick. When you process the uploads, it will say at the top of the page. If they arent, you need to add a bit of code to the php.ini file.

Can you please list the steps to add image magic ? What is the benefit of this over the default processing?


I am at work so cant do that right now, but a search of the SY section should have threads about image processing. The php.ini file should be in the root folder of your SY site. I did not have one at first, so bluehost created it for me. Then you have to open that file and add a code (sorry, just cant remember it exactly but something like imagick=so or something like that). And thats it.


Benefits: processes your images crisper. Also, not processing with imagemagick sometimes leaves horizontal gray lines in your thumbnail images.

Will search the forum and change the processing to imagemagick. Few questions:
- I  would want to reprocess my images that are already online. Will that help?
- I hope bluehost allows it. Any IDea?


Yes, you can reprocess. I had to after i had 100 or so already loaded.  Go to Royalty Free Images > All Images > check all on page and > bulk actions > reprocess.

Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: Anita Potter on August 13, 2013, 11:50
Shoot.  I'll have to hunt it down on my server.  That'll be fun reprocessing 550 images.
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: Anita Potter on August 13, 2013, 11:57
Dang it!  I still don't get access to it.
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: marthamarks on August 13, 2013, 12:07
And make sure your images are being processed by imagemagick. When you process the uploads, it will say at the top of the page. If they arent, you need to add a bit of code to the php.ini file.

Can you please list the steps to add image magic ? What is the benefit of this over the default processing?

+1 

I'd  really appreciate knowing that too.
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: marthamarks on August 13, 2013, 12:11
Shoot.  I'll have to hunt it down on my server.  That'll be fun reprocessing 550 images.

Kinda the way I feel. It's frustrating to have to keep going back to do different things to images already up on the site. I'm currently busy reworking all my posted one for SEO with Yoast. Now have to go back and do new work on them with Image Magik? Aargh!
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: marthamarks on August 13, 2013, 12:13
Yes, you can reprocess. I had to after i had 100 or so already loaded.  Go to Royalty Free Images > All Images > check all on page and > bulk actions > reprocess.

That's good to know. So... just figure out how to get Image Magik and then reprocess in bulk? Whew!  :)
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: Anita Potter on August 13, 2013, 12:22
It says I have imagick enabled need to look around some more to see how to enable it through SY.
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: Anita Potter on August 13, 2013, 12:27
I was going to activate and start Yoast today.  There's always sumthin isn't there?

I do have access to my php.ini file.  Does it matter where I put this code in there?

extension=imagick.so

Or does it need to go into a specific place?  Also my site is currently running PHP 5.4
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: marthamarks on August 13, 2013, 12:35
Well... I just Googled to learn something about Image Magick. This is what Wikipedia says:

"ImageMagick is an open source[1] software suite for displaying, converting, and editing raster image files. It can read and write over 200 image file formats. ImageMagick is licensed under the Apache 2.0 license."

So does that mean it's not for photography? Doesn't sound like it is.

Somebody knowledgeable, please advise on this. I'd really like not to have to tinker any more with my images. Thanks!
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: Travelling-light on August 13, 2013, 12:52
Well... I just Googled to learn something about Image Magick. This is what Wikipedia says:

"ImageMagick is an open source[1] software suite for displaying, converting, and editing raster image files. It can read and write over 200 image file formats. ImageMagick is licensed under the Apache 2.0 license."

So does that mean it's not for photography? Doesn't sound like it is.

Somebody knowledgeable, please advise on this. I'd really like not to have to tinker any more with my images. Thanks!

Your photos are raster images as opposed to vector images; ImageMagick is the industry standard for server-side photo processing, so nothing to worry about there!
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: FastRacer on August 13, 2013, 12:56
It says I have imagick enabled need to look around some more to see how to enable it through SY.


If it says image magick at the top left of the processing images page, then you are done. Bulk reprocessing for even 500 images shouldnt take that long. I think i did mine in about 5 minutes. You have more so might take a little longer. Makes a big difference tho.
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: FastRacer on August 13, 2013, 12:59
I was going to activate and start Yoast today.  There's always sumthin isn't there?

I do have access to my php.ini file.  Does it matter where I put this code in there?

extension=imagick.so

Or does it need to go into a specific place?  Also my site is currently running PHP 5.4


Thats it. It can go anywhere. Put next to the code that defines size limits etc. just be certain it is not mixed within commented out code. Which the majority of the file is. Live stuff is usually in a box.
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: Anita Potter on August 13, 2013, 13:23
I did that and even changed php versions but still not working.

Looking at the php pear packages it's not available.  So I'm not sure what gives.
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: Anita Potter on August 13, 2013, 13:53
Well this is cute.  I put in a support ticket and this is what I got back.

Quote
ImageMagick is not provided on premium service, for this to be installed a VPS server is needed or a dedicated server

The image processor doesn't mess with the original files that buyers would download?  Those would remain intact how they were originally created?
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: ajt on August 13, 2013, 14:00
Original files remain untouched, but when buyer downloads smaller image, it is resized by image processor. And without ImageMagick buyer can get this:

http://www.microstockgroup.com/symbiostock-technical-support/horizontal-banding-on-watermarked-images-%29/msg310157/#msg310157 (http://www.microstockgroup.com/symbiostock-technical-support/horizontal-banding-on-watermarked-images-%29/msg310157/#msg310157)
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: Anita Potter on August 13, 2013, 14:07
$#%$##$%!!!

I can't afford to move hosting any suggestions on what I can do or am I royally screwed.

I'm going to go over into a corner and cry now  :'(
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: FastRacer on August 13, 2013, 14:31
$#%$##$%!!!

I can't afford to move hosting any suggestions on what I can do or am I royally screwed.

I'm going to go over into a corner and cry now  :'(


Some hosts will refund money if you have to move...maybe yours does? I think this is the reason why leo suggests bluehost...because of all the hosting companies, it works best with SY.



Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: Anita Potter on August 13, 2013, 14:38
I have my domain hosted with Go Daddy wonder which of their packages offers the use of Image Magick.

I also need a monthly plan like pay a few months at a time as I can't do a yearly package at this point in time.
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: picture5469 on August 13, 2013, 15:12
I have my domain hosted with Go Daddy wonder which of their packages offers the use of Image Magick.

I also need a monthly plan like pay a few months at a time as I can't do a yearly package at this point in time.
How have the other people on Godaddy solved this problem?
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: Anita Potter on August 13, 2013, 15:26
I was looking around on the Go Daddy site and it's available on their Linux Hosting.  Course I no absolutely nothing about Linux does that mean (and bear with me cause I'm going to feel like an idiot asking) that their hosting is Linux based (it can be selected during signup not sure if it would be changeable afterward) and will I have problems working on my site with a Windows OS?
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: ShazamImages on August 13, 2013, 16:36
The image processor doesn't mess with the original files that buyers would download?  Those would remain intact how they were originally created?

ImageMagick is mainly used to create the thumbnails, watermarked images, and resize images when a buyer purchases an image that is smaller than the original size.

If it is used on your original files, it is probably just used for IPTC info (such as the copyright in your image).  I haven't checked that yet.
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: CrackerClips on August 13, 2013, 16:52
I was looking around on the Go Daddy site and it's available on their Linux Hosting.  Course I no absolutely nothing about Linux does that mean (and bear with me cause I'm going to feel like an idiot asking) that their hosting is Linux based (it can be selected during signup not sure if it would be changeable afterward) and will I have problems working on my site with a Windows OS?

I have a Linux hosting account on Godaddy and after banging my head against a wall for a couple months I realized that simply upgrading to the latest version of PHP made imagemagick instantly available to my symbiostock site. As I converted an existing website into a symbiostock site, my site had an older version of PHP. If you are setting up a new hosting account with godaddy it should already have the latest version of PHP. I'm not sure about your Linux/Windows question. Give godaddy customer service a call. I've always had a positive experience with them.
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: ShazamImages on August 13, 2013, 17:16
I was looking around on the Go Daddy site and it's available on their Linux Hosting.  Course I no absolutely nothing about Linux does that mean (and bear with me cause I'm going to feel like an idiot asking) that their hosting is Linux based (it can be selected during signup not sure if it would be changeable afterward) and will I have problems working on my site with a Windows OS?

I use GoDaddy hosting (w/ Linux) and have had almost no issues with them.  Everything (WordPress, php, ImageMagick, etc) has worked fine from the beginning.
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: Anita Potter on August 13, 2013, 19:44
I found a setting in the CSS file that added padding around at 50px.  I'm taking it down and it's changing the size of the image on the image page.  It's making it bigger preview.  Not sure if I can get it down to where the preview is the original size or not but it's getting there.
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: Nikd90 on August 14, 2013, 09:59
I managed to edit php.ini. My photos are being processed using imageMagik. But I am unable to reprocess my old images; the server is getting timeout
Title: Re: JPG compression on image page?
Post by: FastRacer on August 14, 2013, 11:15
I managed to edit php.ini. My photos are being processed using imageMagik. But I am unable to reprocess my old images; the server is getting timeout


In php.ini i think there is a setting for that, but i have read that depending on your host that might happen. If you cant change that setting, maybe try smaller batches?