MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: Dreamstime makes an automatic move of images to free section  (Read 2838 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Lev

« on: April 15, 2022, 13:25 »
0
Got this:

***

"This is an automated notification. Your portfolio includes images that have been online for more than 4 years with no downloads up to the present. In order to keep up with the current standards we recommend transferring them to the free section, allowing fresh content to be more visible.

The following action options are available for you to decide:

- donate the image to the free section which can provide significant portfolio exposure and increase your sales; images can be disabled at any time later. We are also announcing a new feature that enables designers to donate a specific amount to the photographer (minimum $3 USD, entire amount awarded to you).
- keep the image online.

In order to review the images and take the desired action, please access the link below.
If no action is taken, your images will be automatically donated to the free section after 7 days from this email."


***

Sounds very bad. Does anyone know how to change default option for "keeping images online", or "delete images"? I've tried to find it but I can't.

I don't want to "donate" anything to free section, I've never opted-in for anything like this and I hate seeing this as a default option.


farbled

« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2022, 13:44 »
0
If I remember correctly, when you opt-out of freebies the first time there was (and might still be) an option to "always do this" going forward.

Lev

« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2022, 14:00 »
0
Unfortunately it's not there (at least in my case)

« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2022, 15:23 »
+2
I think there used to be a checkbox in the upload interface saying something to the effect of put this in the free section if it's rejected. If you unchecked that, the selection was remembered for future uploads - as with the extended license types and sell the rights options - but it was still visible.

It isn't there any more - I have no idea when it went away. I would never have any image in the free section and would want it deleted rather than go there, but it doesn't appear that's an option. I found an old message (from 2017) about an image of mine that at the time hadn't sold. The wording is similar to your message but not the same. The key thing is that the "default" action is taken if you do nothing, and in my case that was to leave it online. That image did subsequently sell (although it wasn't a runaway success to be sure!)

"Dear Jo Ann,

This is an automated notification. Your portfolio includes images that have been online for more than 4 years with no downloads up to the present. In order to keep up with the current standards we believe they should be removed from our commercial database, allowing fresh content to be more visible.

The following action options are available for you to decide:

- donate the image to the free section which can provide significant portfolio exposure and increase your sales; images can be disabled at any time later.
- keep the image online (default action).

In order to review the images and take the desired action, please access the link below.
If no action is taken, the default one is automatically selected.

Review the images:"
(URL that doesn't show anything now)

I haven't received any of these new notifications, but if I do, I'll write to DT support to request they implement a preference to let me delete such files. I looked at the legal agreements as I'd have thought they couldn't just give files away without a contributor's permission. I don't see any wording that would allow that:

https://www.dreamstime.com/terms

Lev

« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2022, 15:24 »
+1
It's not about rejected images, but about "no sales for 4 yrs"

zeljkok

  • Non Linear Existence
« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2022, 15:40 »
+1
Someone told me Shutterstock does this automatically, without your consent.  But you get 10 cents  ;D

« Reply #6 on: April 15, 2022, 19:07 »
0
I used to periodically get those notices but hadn't gotten one since Jan 2018 - Then I got two this week, and I'm sure I have more than those two images without sales in the last 4 years.

Lev

« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2022, 01:16 »
0
I think now they changed default option to "donate" for everyone, without a chance to change it back.

So every time you have to opt-out each new set of images, and if you fail to do it in 7 days (get ill, travel, don't notice an email etc), your images will be "donated" to their new free platform. I thin this change is directly related to this new platform. It has a separate name and webpage.

Platform name is mentioned on page where you should make a selection. Once I'll get another email with "your images will be automatically donated after 7 days", I'll take a look at this platform.

JaenStock

  • Bad images can sell.
« Reply #8 on: April 16, 2022, 05:02 »
+2
Thanks to your comment I have seen that now the general tone has changed and effectively, if nothing is done, the image goes to the free section. I can not allow that. I can't spend time on Dreamstime in any way or have to keep an eye on it. It is a waste of time.

« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2022, 10:18 »
+1
Got this:

***

"This is an automated notification. Your portfolio includes images that have been online for more than 4 years with no downloads up to the present. In order to keep up with the current standards we recommend transferring them to the free section, allowing fresh content to be more visible.

The following action options are available for you to decide:

- donate the image to the free section which can provide significant portfolio exposure and increase your sales; images can be disabled at any time later. We are also announcing a new feature that enables designers to donate a specific amount to the photographer (minimum $3 USD, entire amount awarded to you).
- keep the image online.

In order to review the images and take the desired action, please access the link below.
If no action is taken, your images will be automatically donated to the free section after 7 days from this email."


***

Sounds very bad. Does anyone know how to change default option for "keeping images online", or "delete images"? I've tried to find it but I can't.

I don't want to "donate" anything to free section, I've never opted-in for anything like this and I hate seeing this as a default option.

I talked about this before in other forums and people got mad for some reason thought I was lying. Anyway this was the reason I left them. They had 3 of my images in a so called free site but the site did charge a one time fee.

Lev

« Reply #10 on: April 20, 2022, 11:54 »
+1
I've sent a message to support, I hope they will react accordingly:

Hello,

I've started getting messages about images with no downloads for 4 years, saying:

"If no action is taken, your images will be automatically donated to the free section after 7 days from this email."

I'm not willing to donate anything to the free section ever. I never opted-in or agreed to this. So I'm asking you for 2 things:

1. If your automatics already "donated" my images to free section, please remove them from free section.

2. Can you please change default option for "unsold for 4 years" images to "keep online" for my account.

Regards,
Lev

Uncle Pete

  • Great Place by a Great Lake - My Home Port
« Reply #11 on: April 21, 2022, 10:31 »
0
I think now they changed default option to "donate" for everyone, without a chance to change it back.

So every time you have to opt-out each new set of images, and if you fail to do it in 7 days (get ill, travel, don't notice an email etc), your images will be "donated" to their new free platform. I thin this change is directly related to this new platform. It has a separate name and webpage.

Platform name is mentioned on page where you should make a selection. Once I'll get another email with "your images will be automatically donated after 7 days", I'll take a look at this platform.

I'm watching but I never got the notice?

« Reply #12 on: April 21, 2022, 15:02 »
0
How do I find a free images in my portfolio?


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
3 Replies
3196 Views
Last post February 07, 2008, 12:33
by sensovision
1 Replies
1797 Views
Last post January 25, 2013, 08:55
by ProImage
7 Replies
4641 Views
Last post August 14, 2013, 17:34
by KB
989 Replies
161039 Views
Last post March 18, 2014, 08:32
by KimsCreativeHub
9 Replies
1888 Views
Last post August 05, 2022, 12:22
by Uncle Pete

Sponsors

Mega Bundle of 5,900+ Professional Lightroom Presets

Microstock Poll Results

Sponsors

3100 Posing Cards Bundle