MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: How to disable whole portfolio on Dreamstime?  (Read 5778 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

« on: January 12, 2009, 09:36 »
0
I would like to disable all of my images since I want to go exclusive on iStock.

I contacted dreamstime to do it for me and this is what I got:
"Thank  you  for  contacting  Dreamstime.


We cannot disable the images for you. Please disable them from your end.


If you want to disable your whole portfolio, please note that there are some rules to be observed.

http://www.dreamstime.com/terms#contributors


Contributors are required to keep at least seventy (70%) percent of their portfolio online with Dreamstime.com for a period of at least six (6) months. You may disable all files older than six months from the date of review at any time. You will be allowed to disable a total of thirty (30%) percent of your total images submitted within the past six (6) months. Images that were disabled and then enabled again will be counted as new submissions, no matter of their original upload date.  "

I am OK with the rule and I haven't uploaded anything in the last 6 months. BUT, is there any way to easily deactivate all my files at once??? I don't want to go through all my files one by one. How did you guys do it?


« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2009, 09:40 »
0
Don't know that you can.  I've heard people saying that they had to do it one by one.  Tis the price you pay for going exclusive. ;)

abimages

« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2009, 11:02 »
0
Yup, gotta be one by one :'(

hali

« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2009, 11:16 »
0
Congrats on being exclusively Istock.

Just wondering, when you become exclusive, do you HAVE TO delete all images elsewhere? This could be difficult. What if you've been a contributor to say macro stock, mid stock, and micro, and all these for say many many years.

It seems a bit extreme to HAVE TO delete everything past.
After all, you become exclusive effective today, so I would think anything FROM TODAY  becomes exclusively Istock, not retroactively.

Can an exclusive Istocker shed some light here.

« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2009, 11:27 »
0
It seems a bit extreme to HAVE TO delete everything past.
After all, you become exclusive effective today, so I would think anything FROM TODAY  becomes exclusively Istock, not retroactively.

I'm afraid IS admin do not share your opinion  ;)

jsnover

« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2009, 11:36 »
0
Nothing can be for sale as RF royalty free anywhere if you want to be exclusive at IS. It's not a "from this day forward" sort of deal.

And yes, it's a pain to delete a large portfolio from DT one by one, but that's the deal. A while back there was someone who had written some scripts to do the job. He was willing to share them but they'd need mods (probably) to match up with current site behavior and someone else's port. When I deleted my DT portfolio last August I was on vacation, and figured if I hadn't finished the job by the time I got back, I'd modify the scripts. I did finish before the end of vacation time.

« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2009, 11:52 »
0
Nothing can be for sale as RF royalty free anywhere if you want to be exclusive at IS. It's not a "from this day forward" sort of deal.

And yes, it's a pain to delete a large portfolio from DT one by one, but that's the deal. A while back there was someone who had written some scripts to do the job. He was willing to share them but they'd need mods (probably) to match up with current site behavior and someone else's port. When I deleted my DT portfolio last August I was on vacation, and figured if I hadn't finished the job by the time I got back, I'd modify the scripts. I did finish before the end of vacation time.

Thank you jsnover
I only have 344 images on DT so I will do it one by one (It should not take more that couple of hours).

How did you delete your images on Bigstock? I contacted them few days back but no response. Is there any way to delete the images on my own? If I get DT and BS done I am ready to click the exclusive button.

« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2009, 13:17 »
0
Regarding Big Stock, I believe you have to write to support so they can delete your portfolio and inactivate your account.

jsnover

« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2009, 13:23 »
0
I wrote to support on Big Stock to ask them to delete it, and after a small hiccup, they did.

Initially support said I had to request my final payment, then they'd delete my images. They said they couldn't just make the payment.

As they have a clearance period (it was a week when I left), I didn't want 7 days worth of sales as a balance I'd never be able to collect. After a couple of e-mail exchanges, they got what I was trying to do and agreed to delete my portfolio, and then after 7 days I could request my balance, which they paid. I had to give them a reason why I was closing my account. I tried to avoid answering that in the first reply I sent, but they insisted. It's not that it's a big deal, but I just didn't see why there had to be conditions on my request to cash out and close my account.


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
2 Replies
2337 Views
Last post May 03, 2010, 15:20
by Xalanx
12 Replies
4562 Views
Last post June 04, 2011, 03:09
by wordplanet
2 Replies
3011 Views
Last post July 22, 2013, 12:06
by pixsol
11 Replies
5982 Views
Last post June 04, 2015, 01:57
by Kamran
8 Replies
2514 Views
Last post January 03, 2017, 12:20
by etudiante_rapide

Sponsors

Microstock Poll Results