MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: Review times an issue? Why?  (Read 4504 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

« on: January 07, 2008, 00:37 »
0
Just read another thread on DT forum, where some young photographer is
getting ants in his pants waiting for his images to be reviewed. I realize that
having your images reviewed in a timely manner would be optimum for all concerned.

What baffles me though is this: The photographer wrote a thread spilling his distaste,
and then immediately identified that his post (thread) would be closed by an admin...and it was!

He also provided information, that other sites were doing well, and were not lagging behind on
their review times.

Do any of you ever get so frustrated that you see the need to take the same action?
Is it going to make any difference? Do you suppose a similar  post will really matter, and that the reviewers
will be put into "turbo" mode because we said something?

I suppose it's provides an outlet to let off some steam,  though the issue is in fact moot.

It's got me thinking though....how come the rest of the world is not doing what I think it should?
Doesn't everyone realize the world would be a better place if everyone just thought like I do?
It's about time everyone wake and smell the coffee, and get their butt on my time schedule!

But now I need to go back and upload more images to DT

The MIZ
« Last Edit: January 07, 2008, 00:39 by rjmiz »


JerryL5

  • Blessed by God's wonderful love.
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2008, 00:59 »
0
If he had searched first, he would have found a post with admin saying review times
are slow right now and they will be returning to normal as soon as possible.
In short, search before getting upset.

« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2008, 01:25 »
0
Well it is a fact that review times at DT are extremely high at the moment, 8 days or so. That thread was closed. So what?

1 - The thread was closed but not deleted. The last post I ever made at iStock was just deleted. I know of an independent forum (not SMG) that deletes posts.

2 - Dreamstime is the only site that gives an ETR. Isn't that nice? Other sites can be just as slow on rush periods but you never find that out till after the review. You can just guess, hope, and pray.

3 - Apparently there was a submission peak since during the past holidays; photogs had more time to upload, while many reviewers took a break.

4 - The worst thing a site can do is bring in new untrained reviewers in a rush, that turn out queer rejects. Me thinks quality control still has a priority over speediness in a business that thrives on quality. Whoever wants his shots online fast can just go to Flickr.

5 - There is also a good side on the 8-day review time at DT. My recent batches are online at SS (downsized) already for days. A few shots made it right into my most popular ones. If that special reviewer at DT dares to turn them down as not commercial, I can object with DT support with some solid facts ;-)

DanP68

« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2008, 02:54 »
0
But now I need to go back and upload more images to DT

The MIZ



Why bother.  They're never going to get reviewed anyhow...   ;)

They have been pretty bogged down since the holidays.  Honestly I wouldn't have been shocked if they shut down DL's for a day or so to help clear the queue.  But it seems they are starting to work through things without such measures.

I have so few complaints about a fine run site like DT.  It pays fairly, the reviews are consistent, the boards are terrific, and the site looks gorgeous.  Plus, Serban is a fellow metal head like me.  The latest batch I uploaded came back with about a 1 week wait estimate, which is less than the estimates I was given last week.  People just have to be patient.

« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2008, 05:33 »
0
Review times used to concern me when I only had a few image online but now I don't mind if it takes a few weeks.  Alamy have taken 3 weeks on all of my reviews and I am used to that now.  If the images are going to sell for the next 5 years, a few weeks doesn't make much difference.

« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2008, 06:42 »
0
I am personally fond of DT for the same reasons of DanP68. It was my first micro site I submitted to and they actually helped me to progress a lot giving 99% accurate reviews of my images.

I don't care of the queue, they will catch up and far better than innacurate reviews or mass rejection as some people are experiencing elsewhere.

I hope DT will have more and more customers and the only advice I can give to them is to eliminate that subscription program (even if I had very little downloads from it), I'd prefer them to be more quality strict if necessary in exchange.

« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2008, 06:51 »
0
This post is not about review times, DT or DT's work load.

This post is about "people"

« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2008, 08:26 »
0
if "people" wanna vent...let 'em vent... achieves nothing, but in the words of Cheryl Crow: "if it makes you happy, it can't be that bad". Just like you venting about people venting...it obviously made you feel better so that's cool.

« Reply #8 on: January 07, 2008, 08:59 »
0
Yeah, your right. This was a dumb subject to post about.

I'm sorry.

The MIZ

« Reply #9 on: January 07, 2008, 09:00 »
0
Why bother for being in such a rush!
Anyway, Sometimes the news will not be what you wished for.

« Reply #10 on: January 08, 2008, 09:43 »
0
If your competitor approval time is 24-48 hours and your is 8 plus days, you lose.

If your competitor generates more downloads, you lose.

If your competitor provide more earns, you lose.

If your competitor treats submitter better than you, you lose.

2 years ago DT was very fast on approval times, now this are dead last, even behind BS!

DT should take care of the submitter who bought them to the dance!
Micro all want to brag on the number of images on file or how many submitters. Quality beats Quantity evertime. The better Micros will learn this as this business matures.

I think DT is one of the better Micros .They are innovator in the business, but 8 day approval time is far below Micro industry standards.

« Reply #11 on: January 08, 2008, 09:50 »
0
It's far worse to put inexperienced reviewers right into the heat of the "battle".

That way you lose for sure.

« Reply #12 on: January 08, 2008, 11:34 »
0
They had announced new reviewers before Christmas.  Who knows, maybe they had to hire because others gave notice.  I just hope that when they get to my cue they are gentle...

How many reviewers do these sites normally have?


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
review times

Started by Greg Boiarsky General Stock Discussion

2 Replies
4632 Views
Last post September 01, 2006, 12:01
by Wisent
9 Replies
6361 Views
Last post December 04, 2007, 10:39
by maco0708
5 Replies
4720 Views
Last post April 10, 2008, 17:05
by camera shy
4 Replies
4119 Views
Last post November 08, 2007, 12:07
by vonkara
49 Replies
16459 Views
Last post August 10, 2008, 08:01
by borg

Sponsors

Mega Bundle of 5,900+ Professional Lightroom Presets

Microstock Poll Results

Sponsors