MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: Unsold images now automatically moved to free section?  (Read 2138 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

« on: July 14, 2022, 09:06 »
0
Email now reads:
"This is an automated notification. Your portfolio includes images that have been online for more than 4 years with no downloads up to the present. In order to keep up with the current standards we recommend transferring them to the free section, allowing fresh content to be more visible.

The following action options are available for you to decide:

- donate the image to the free section which can provide significant portfolio exposure and increase your sales; images can be disabled at any time later. We are also announcing a new feature that enables designers to donate a specific amount to the photographer (minimum $3 USD, entire amount awarded to you).
- keep the image online.

In order to review the images and take the desired action, please access the link below.
If no action is taken, your images will be automatically donated to the free section after 30 days from this email.

Review the images: https://www.dreamstime.com/oldfiles.php
"

Wasn't the default that the image stays on line? or at least you could set it to that?

Also the "old files" page now only gives the re-keyword (for a fee) or move to free section with no option I can see to just keep it online, even though the email says this is an option. Is this a new policy?


« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2022, 10:23 »
+1
Yes, the default was keep the images online.  Sneaky, as most will just delete that email and they will get defacto thousands of free images.

« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2022, 11:49 »
0
Email now reads:
"This is an automated notification. Your portfolio includes images that have been online for more than 4 years with no downloads up to the present. In order to keep up with the current standards we recommend transferring them to the free section, allowing fresh content to be more visible.

The following action options are available for you to decide:

- donate the image to the free section which can provide significant portfolio exposure and increase your sales; images can be disabled at any time later. We are also announcing a new feature that enables designers to donate a specific amount to the photographer (minimum $3 USD, entire amount awarded to you).
- keep the image online.

In order to review the images and take the desired action, please access the link below.
If no action is taken, your images will be automatically donated to the free section after 30 days from this email.

Review the images: https://www.dreamstime.com/oldfiles.php
"

Wasn't the default that the image stays on line? or at least you could set it to that?

Also the "old files" page now only gives the re-keyword (for a fee) or move to free section with no option I can see to just keep it online, even though the email says this is an option. Is this a new policy?

Why i left them and wirestock. Theyre just waiting for you to slip and take your images

« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2022, 14:07 »
+2
this must be a big joke!
"automatically donated to the free section after 30 days from this email."
Are they kidding? how can this be legal?

« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2022, 16:23 »
0
I reached out to Dreamstime asking about this, and I received a reply stating that there has been no change in the unsold image policy. Contributors still have the same three choices: donate to free section, delete, or keep online in portfolio.

« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2022, 16:53 »
+5
I reached out to Dreamstime asking about this, and I received a reply stating that there has been no change in the unsold image policy. Contributors still have the same three choices: donate to free section, delete, or keep online in portfolio.

But it should be an -opt in-.  Not an -opt out-.

« Reply #6 on: August 04, 2022, 00:59 »
0
Delete is a joke, because you cannot delete any image on dreamstime anymore! Only select for not available.
Or is this the only way we really can delete old images and later upload again via wirestock?

« Reply #7 on: August 04, 2022, 01:38 »
0
I reached out to Dreamstime asking about this, and I received a reply stating that there has been no change in the unsold image policy. Contributors still have the same three choices: donate to free section, delete, or keep online in portfolio.
Do they mean the policy hasn't changed but the way you make the choice has? You had the option of donating to free, but you could set your own default.

« Reply #8 on: August 05, 2022, 00:48 »
0
I reached out to Dreamstime asking about this, and I received a reply stating that there has been no change in the unsold image policy. Contributors still have the same three choices: donate to free section, delete, or keep online in portfolio.
Do they mean the policy hasn't changed but the way you make the choice has? You had the option of donating to free, but you could set your own default.

I did not ask that specifically; I was just told that "nothing has changed for the free section", and that we can still select what happens to the images. The reply also stated that if a change were to happen, that they would make an announcement.

If this is something that you are wondering about, it might be good to contact support and to ask. The situation does not directly affect me at the moment since I went through a several year period of not uploading to microstock anywhere, so I do not have any media that are currently approaching the 4 year of no sales mark. My older items have already passed that threshold, and the newer uploads have a few years to go before they hit it.

Uncle Pete

  • Great Place by a Great Lake - My Home Port
« Reply #9 on: August 05, 2022, 12:22 »
0
Delete is a joke, because you cannot delete any image on dreamstime anymore! Only select for not available.
Or is this the only way we really can delete old images and later upload again via wirestock?

"The Contributor is entitled to disable file(s) from his portfolio by using the appropriate section of Dreamstime.com (My Account/Online files). Read the Contributors` Exclusivity and Non-Exclusivity Terms for specific details regarding the contributors` obligations. Dreamstime is entitled to retain low res copies of disabled content for site indexing and archival reference purposes, in order to allow previous buyers to verify the accuracy of the content or to allow the Photographer to reactivate the file(s). For the avoidance of doubt, Dreamstime will cease all future licensing of any Media that has been disabled from your portfolio unless and until you request that the disabled Media be reactivated."

No Free for me.

I haven't ever had DT ask me to make any file a free image. I have many unsold files as do many of us. I never clicked that option when I uploaded them. Maybe they haven't gotten to me yet?


Why i left them and wirestock. Theyre just waiting for you to slip and take your images

I've never had Wirestock ask for any image to be converted to free. I don't know of anyone except you that has received this notice from Wirestock?

DT yes, seems to be something they do, but never WS?


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
3 Replies
3200 Views
Last post February 07, 2008, 12:33
by sensovision
5 Replies
5725 Views
Last post February 08, 2010, 05:10
by sam100
6 Replies
4651 Views
Last post January 28, 2011, 18:41
by OM
1 Replies
1803 Views
Last post January 25, 2013, 08:55
by ProImage
12 Replies
2848 Views
Last post April 21, 2022, 15:02
by Unamas

Sponsors

Mega Bundle of 5,900+ Professional Lightroom Presets

Microstock Poll Results

Sponsors

3100 Posing Cards Bundle