pancakes

MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: A question about image reviews....not a complaint, just a question  (Read 6765 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

« on: February 15, 2010, 08:45 »
0
I've been talking with another microstock contributor about the review process...on the whole, we feel the process is very fair. But the more we talked about it, we just got curious...how exactly does the process work? Does a single reviewer get assigned a group of images? Do they simply sit down in front of a big screen and make decisions based on a check list? Is there any software used to determine noise amount, etc? Does any of the reviewing get farmed out? Reviewing so many images just seems like such a massive process and at times seems a bit subjective (not very often in my case anyway...but we've probably all had an image rejected then after they've been re submitted, had it accepted). Again, I think the sites I contribute to do a great and fair job but I'd love to know how the process works. Any input would be appreciated. Thanks everyone. 


« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2010, 08:50 »
0
I'd love to know how the process works. Any input would be appreciated.
"Those who know don't tell and those who tell don't know."  ;)

RT


« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2010, 10:14 »
0
Each site is different, on some sites the reviewers are well trained

on others however:




« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2010, 11:53 »
0
I think all sites do things a little different.

I know some sites give groups of images to the reviewer, some sites give image by image.  The ones I know about use an online review system, but I wouldn't be surprised if others has reviewing software.  There is at least one company that reviews for microstock sites - they seem to be getting some business so I would guess that some sites farm their reviewing out.

I think between the 10 top sites in microstock there is probably 10 totally different processes of reviewing.

« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2010, 12:08 »
0
I hope one day we have a better system than we have now.  It is strange uploading to all these sites and they all have to pay for reviewers.  It would be better if we uploaded once, the image was reviewed once for technical quality and the sites then just decide if they want it or not.  It would save us a lot of time and them a lot of money.

donding

  • Think before you speak
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2010, 13:13 »
0
I'd think after an individual reviewer looked at thousands and thousands of pictures they'd all start looking blurry and that have that dreaded "noise"

« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2010, 13:30 »
0
I'd think after an individual reviewer looked at thousands and thousands of pictures they'd all start looking blurry and that have that dreaded "noise"
Quality Control in factories work like that, but pausing not to get too tired.

Women are known for having a very keen eye.  I, at the office, am famous for finding typing mistakes in drawings as soon as I lay my eyes on them.  I wonder if we make the best reviewers too? :D

donding

  • Think before you speak
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2010, 14:42 »
0
I'd think after an individual reviewer looked at thousands and thousands of pictures they'd all start looking blurry and that have that dreaded "noise"
Quality Control in factories work like that, but pausing not to get too tired.

Women are known for having a very keen eye.  I, at the office, am famous for finding typing mistakes in drawings as soon as I lay my eyes on them.  I wonder if we make the best reviewers too? :D
I use to have a very keen eye, but not so much any more....I guess that goes with age. You'd be right about breaks, I didn't take that into consideration. I just spend to much time on the computer trying to get the photos ready for the sites, that I forget to take breaks and my eyes always start to burn.

vonkara

« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2010, 15:22 »
0
Hire a professional reviewer before submitting. Those simply put their hands on their eyes for rejection or smile and clap their hands as a sign of approbation.



His CV was impressive... Even been a reviewer at Fotolia

donding

  • Think before you speak
« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2010, 15:24 »
0
Hire a professional reviewer before submitting. Those simply put their hands on their eyes for rejection or smile and clap their hands as a sign of approbation.



His CV was impressive... Even been a reviewer at Fotolia

That's a good one...:D :D :D :D Gotta love it!!


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
5 Replies
4798 Views
Last post May 31, 2006, 11:44
by fintastique
6 Replies
3423 Views
Last post June 24, 2007, 14:37
by hatman12
6 Replies
3905 Views
Last post November 30, 2010, 15:19
by luissantos84
3 Replies
5213 Views
Last post May 03, 2010, 09:38
by Jack Schiffer
2 Replies
1985 Views
Last post May 24, 2013, 06:26
by Kerioak~Christine

Sponsors

Mega Bundle of 5,900+ Professional Lightroom Presets

Microstock Poll Results

Sponsors

3100 Posing Cards Bundle