MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: The official MIZ review of 6 stocksites  (Read 13477 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

« on: June 17, 2008, 01:51 »
0
My Ratings from 1 to 10 (10 highest rating
Istock, Dreamstime, Fotolia, StockXpert, 123RoyaltyFree, and Bigstockphoto

iStock
Earning potential for my image style    3
My actual earnings   4
Timeliness for review   1
Reviewers fairness   1
Acceptance to rejections ratio   1
Site navigation   6
Payment swiftness   8
My personal ranking in the order of all from 1 to 6   6     (1 being highest) 


Dreamstime
Earning potential for my image style    10
My actual earnings   10
Timeliness for review  4
Reviewers fairness   9
Acceptance to rejections ratio   8
Site navigation   9
Payment swiftness   9
My personal ranking in the order of all from 1 to 6   1     (1 being highest) 

 
Fotolia
Earning potential for my image style    8
My actual earnings  7
Timeliness for review   6
Reviewers fairness   4
Acceptance to rejections ratio   7
Site navigation   7
Payment swiftness    4
My personal ranking in the order of all from 1 to 6   3     (1 being highest) 

StockXpert
Earning potential for my image style  8 
My actual earnings
Timeliness for review  10
Reviewers fairness   10
Acceptance to rejections ratio   10
Site navigation   9
Payment swiftness   9
My personal ranking in the order of all from 1 to 6   4   (1 being highest) 

123RF
Earning potential for my image style    9
My actual earnings   2
Timeliness for review   8
Reviewers fairness   9
Acceptance to rejections ratio   10
Site navigation   8
Payment swiftness   8
My personal ranking in the order of all from 1 to 6    5  (1 being highest) 

BS
Earning potential for my image style  10 
My actual earnings   8
Timeliness for review  3 
Reviewers fairness   8
Acceptance to rejections ratio   9
Site navigation   7
Payment swiftness   10
My personal ranking in the order of all from 1 to 6    2 (1 being highest) 

Cranky MIZ
The voice of reason


dullegg

« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2008, 10:06 »
0
what???? IS reviewer fairness and rating  so low?
c'mon MIZ... you must be kidding.
i would give IS a higher rating than most ::)

fotoKmyst

« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2008, 10:13 »
0
MIZ i have to agree with BigStock in 2.
but the rest are out of whack.
more like fotolia is definitely misplaced,
with the order as such : StockXpert, BigStock,IS,DT, 123 , FT

i must point out that 123 low is only because it is new to me.
so i see 123 placing quite high in the future.

« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2008, 15:08 »
0
So much figures and colors just to tell everybody you don't like IS  ;)

But it seems they don't like you either or at least IS reviewers  :o

Thanks The Miz for sharing your thoughts!

« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2008, 15:16 »
0
Is it my reading or is Miz's acceptance ratio rating backwards. Miz for iStock you rate your acceptance to rejection ratio a 1 and your rating system has 1 as the highest, meaning iStock accepts more of your stuff than any other site. Since this is extremely unlikely I suspect the ratings were suppose to be the other way around. Or why in the world would rate iStock as last when they accept all of your stuff and you rate them with an earnings potential of 4.

helix7

« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2008, 15:24 »
0
So much figures and colors just to tell everybody you don't like IS...

Sort of what I was thinking. Lots of bells and whistles just to whine about not being able to cut it at IS.



« Reply #6 on: June 17, 2008, 16:01 »
0
Hey I'm the first one to admit I SUCK on iStock!
I just don't have what it takes. I do a lot of PS work and they don't want PS concept images.
I don't blame them, that's their policy and I go along with it without complaints.

iStock is a viable and honorable business. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about them.
I am an artist more than a photographer. They prefer photography pure and simple. I understand
that and accept it no matter how many rejections I get.

Cranky MIZ
The voice of reason
« Last Edit: June 17, 2008, 16:21 by rjmiz »

« Reply #7 on: June 17, 2008, 16:18 »
0
Miz, what  kind of an animal an "aetist" is ?

tan510jomast

« Reply #8 on: June 17, 2008, 16:20 »
0
Is it my reading or is Miz's acceptance ratio rating backwards. Miz for iStock you rate your acceptance to rejection ratio a 1 and your rating system has 1 as the highest, meaning iStock accepts more of your stuff than any other site. Since this is extremely unlikely I suspect the ratings were suppose to be the other way around. Or why in the world would rate iStock as last when they accept all of your stuff and you rate them with an earnings potential of 4.

to be fair to MIZ, i am afraid you read it wrongly yingyang.
if you notice, at the top, MIZ DID specify the rating going one way ie 10 highest rating,
and at the bottom he DID specify the ratings going the other way ((1 being highest)  .

so i think it is you who read it wrongly. ;)
it doesn't matter what you construe, MIZ did specify the difference.

MIZ, i also admire your honesty that you SUCK on istock.
it takes a lot to admit the truth. for that, you have my respect  ;)
« Last Edit: June 17, 2008, 16:23 by tan510jomast »

alias

« Reply #9 on: June 18, 2008, 04:31 »
0
Hey I'm the first one to admit I SUCK on iStock!
I just don't have what it takes ..... I have absolutely nothing bad to say about them.

So what is the thing in purple ink about reviewers' fairness = 1 ? You seem to be saying that you don't think the reviewers are fair.

« Reply #10 on: June 18, 2008, 06:55 »
0
to be fair to MIZ, i am afraid you read it wrongly yingyang.
if you notice, at the top, MIZ DID specify the rating going one way ie 10 highest rating,
and at the bottom he DID specify the ratings going the other way ((1 being highest)  .

so i think it is you who read it wrongly. ;)
it doesn't matter what you construe, MIZ did specify the difference.
Ah, thanks. That's probably the most illogical way of rating things I've seen (inverting the ratings system for certain ones), but I'm reading it correctly now.

@Miz, since you're more artist than photographer have you tried creating vectors. Every time I see one of your images it is a raster/computer generated image. I know istock doesn't like those but they do like vectors.

Microbius

« Reply #11 on: June 18, 2008, 07:00 »
0
Miz most definitely has tried vectors, I'm sure some of those threads are still about on SS somewhere.......

« Reply #12 on: June 18, 2008, 07:04 »
0
Nope

Cranky MIZ
The voice of reason

Microbius

« Reply #13 on: June 18, 2008, 07:26 »
0
Nope they aren't there anymore or nope you've never tried?

bittersweet

« Reply #14 on: June 18, 2008, 07:31 »
0
Luckily a recent HOW magazine customer survey doesn't seem to rank istock quite the same way:
http://www.istockphoto.com/forum_messages.php?threadid=71783&page=1
 :D


« Reply #15 on: June 18, 2008, 07:38 »
0
I'm sorry. Did I explain I was rating them from a contributors point of view?
I think my intention was to imply that this was "My" personal rating....me....the MIZ.

That survey you point out seems to indicate a BUYERS point of view.

Hey, guess what!? Your not gonna believe this (hehehe) but this thread is NOT about iStock.

(I hate people who drift off into their own little world and don't pay attention.)

Cranky MIZ
The voice of reason

« Reply #16 on: June 18, 2008, 09:16 »
0
Quote
I am an artist more than a photographer.

Can you be both an artist AND a photographer? :-\
« Last Edit: June 18, 2008, 09:30 by epantha »


« Reply #17 on: June 18, 2008, 09:17 »
0
Quote
They prefer photography pure and simple..

And you could submit some artistic photography that is still suitable for stock? You seem to be quite creative with your graphic design.
« Last Edit: June 18, 2008, 09:20 by epantha »

« Reply #18 on: June 18, 2008, 09:21 »
0


iStock
Earning potential for my image style    3


Geez people. Give the guy a break!  He stated right up front that IS doesn't care for his image style.  That would certainly lead to lower ratings in the other areas.  Everyone has different opinions about each of the sites.  There's no need to pound on someone because their opinion doesn't match yours.

cphoto

  • CreativeShot.com
« Reply #19 on: June 18, 2008, 09:28 »
0
You're obviously missing a big one: Shutterstock.

« Reply #20 on: June 18, 2008, 09:34 »
0
Is that one of those new social networks like facebook, or myspace?

Cranky MIZ
The voice of reason

bittersweet

« Reply #21 on: June 18, 2008, 09:49 »
0
Hey, guess what!? Your not gonna believe this (hehehe) but this thread is NOT about iStock.

(I hate people who drift off into their own little world and don't pay attention.)

Cranky MIZ
The voice of reason

You're right. It's all about you. I apologize for losing sight of that for a moment.


« Reply #22 on: June 18, 2008, 09:59 »
0
It's ok this time, but please try and pay attention and don't drift off into another world.

Cranky MIZ
The voice of reason

bittersweet

« Reply #23 on: June 18, 2008, 10:00 »
0
Will do.  ;)

fotoKmyst

« Reply #24 on: June 18, 2008, 11:10 »
0
You're obviously missing a big one: Shutterstock.

Is that one of those new social networks like facebook, or myspace?

Cranky MIZ
The voice of reason


yuck, i hate facebook, myspace,... so i guess i won't enlist for the SS.
;D ;D ;D 


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
5 Replies
5472 Views
Last post September 16, 2008, 17:29
by melastmohican
57 Replies
16999 Views
Last post June 05, 2009, 03:13
by grp_photo
9 Replies
5534 Views
Last post September 16, 2009, 09:36
by Adeptris
0 Replies
1527 Views
Last post December 25, 2010, 23:13
by madelaide
23 Replies
9121 Views
Last post August 04, 2011, 02:54
by PayoneerTeam

Sponsors

Mega Bundle of 5,900+ Professional Lightroom Presets

Microstock Poll Results

Sponsors

3100 Posing Cards Bundle