MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: Stock Submitter. Can I restore old backup without losing new data?  (Read 257 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

« on: May 17, 2019, 21:08 »
0
So, I was having trouble and uninstalled and reinstalled SS to try to fix the problem.  I have done a lot of work since the reinstall of SS, before I realized that none of my old data was there for all the images I had processed before the reinstall (several hundred images).  I have a backup from before the reinstall, but I am wondering if I can restore that old back up without changing the current data.  To make it simple, I just want to add the data from the old backup to SS without out changing the current data.  Can I do this?  How can this be done?


« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2019, 21:57 »
0
Unfortunately, that's not possible I'm afraid.
However, I don't quite understand what data did you lose exactly? Metadata of your content has nothing to do with backups as it's stored in the JPEG files themselves and will not be lost no matter what happens with the program and it's configuration.
The only information that could get lost is your release database. In that case there are several things you can try to restore it.
Please let me know what information did you lose exactly?

« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2019, 00:15 »
0
The STATUS data and all the titles, keywords and tags, is what I lost.  All the images that were uploaded and submitted to microstock sites no longer show their status in association with the sites, i.e. "Ready", "Uploaded", "Submitted".  They have not tags or other information associated with them.   So, now I have no idea which ones have already been uploaded and submitted.  It as if I had never did anything to them or submitted them.  Weeks of work gone.

Only images I have worked on AFTER the reinstall show any data or status.

« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2019, 04:04 »
0
It means that you (or other software) has either removed or overwritten the JPEG files (since the metadata is stored in JPEG files).

« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2019, 11:07 »
0
It means that you (or other software) has either removed or overwritten the JPEG files (since the metadata is stored in JPEG files).

Humm... I don't see how.  Only if moving the files from one folder to another would do this (i.e. "Submitted" folder to "Approved" or "Rejected" folders).  Does moving files to a different folder cause this?

« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2019, 14:34 »
0

OOPS!  My Bad.  I moved the files to a different folder then I remembered.  Sorry for the bother.  Thanks for the help.




« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2019, 14:38 »
0
On a side note.  I recently upgraded to the basic plan  (100 monthly uploads).  If I decide to upgrade to the next level (250 uploads a month) can I do so and have the fee applied to the basic plan (4 euro) applied towards the upgrade?

« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2019, 21:09 »
+1
On a side note.  I recently upgraded to the basic plan  (100 monthly uploads).  If I decide to upgrade to the next level (250 uploads a month) can I do so and have the fee applied to the basic plan (4 euro) applied towards the upgrade?

Yes of course, you can upgrade to another plan by paying the difference in their prices. So if you do so, 6 EUR will be charged from your account balance and you will have +150 submissions for the rest of the current 30-day period.
Please note that you won't be able to switch back to the Starter plan unless you purchase a new 3-month package because this plan is promotional.

« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2019, 12:34 »
0
On a side note.  I recently upgraded to the basic plan  (100 monthly uploads).  If I decide to upgrade to the next level (250 uploads a month) can I do so and have the fee applied to the basic plan (4 euro) applied towards the upgrade?

Yes of course, you can upgrade to another plan by paying the difference in their prices. So if you do so, 6 EUR will be charged from your account balance and you will have +150 submissions for the rest of the current 30-day period.
Please note that you won't be able to switch back to the Starter plan unless you purchase a new 3-month package because this plan is promotional.


Thanks.  One more question.   I am trying to upgrade to the newest version of SS but "Windows Defender" will not let the EXE file run.  I am using Windows 10.  Just thought you would like to know this information.


Here is a screenshot of the error I get when trying to install SS (StockSubmitterSetup_15.exe)


« Reply #9 on: May 23, 2019, 05:20 »
0
Yes it's caused by the installer being not signed.
You can ignore this warning safely, click more info and run anyway.


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
6 Replies
2455 Views
Last post November 10, 2016, 09:33
by Niakris
14 Replies
5838 Views
Last post March 07, 2017, 01:03
by oz@n
11 Replies
5306 Views
Last post October 31, 2017, 05:32
by Niakris
3 Replies
799 Views
Last post February 16, 2019, 16:05
by izzikiorage
0 Replies
86 Views
Last post May 16, 2019, 23:38
by thenatureguy

Sponsors

Microstock Poll Results