MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: Ways they review  (Read 5810 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

« on: August 08, 2014, 14:26 »
0
Hi
I'm new to Pond5, and I'm just curious about their review practices.  When they review a batch of images, do they just review ONE image and if it doesn't meet their standards they reject ALL those in the batch (like Alamy), or does each individual image get a review?

Thanks,
Ruth


« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2014, 12:16 »
+2
Hi
I'm new to Pond5, and I'm just curious about their review practices.  When they review a batch of images, do they just review ONE image and if it doesn't meet their standards they reject ALL those in the batch (like Alamy), or does each individual image get a review?

Thanks,
Ruth

Ruth - Based on my experience, I can say that they do review every image.

« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2014, 15:01 »
0
Thanks for your reply.  I hope you're right.  The reason I ask is that I submitted 5 images for my first upload.  All were rejected, with the note,

"thank you for the upload but the quality of this image is too low and it is unlikely to sell. It is too noisy."

The verbiage implies one image was too noisy, yet all 5 were rejected.

I guess I'll keep trying...

Ruth

Goofy

« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2014, 15:05 »
0
Thanks for your reply.  I hope you're right.  The reason I ask is that I submitted 5 images for my first upload.  All were rejected, with the note,

"thank you for the upload but the quality of this image is too low and it is unlikely to sell. It is too noisy."

The verbiage implies one image was too noisy, yet all 5 were rejected.

I guess I'll keep trying...

Ruth

what iso setting are you using?

« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2014, 08:09 »
0
Uploaded 21 of my best sellers from SS and elsewhere to Pond5 and after 3 weeks wait over 60% were rejected!  If my best images can't get through their review process - although they have been accepted at 9 other sites - can't see the point in uploading any more.

I'm a pretty small time photo stocker but been doing this for 7 years and haven't had this experience before.

Anyone else had this from Pond5?  Did I just get a nasty reviewer?

fred

« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2014, 08:23 »
+2
Weird, I usually have 98-100% accepted of small and big batches. I only wish they started selling that material :D

« Reply #6 on: November 23, 2014, 09:46 »
-1
What a lame excuse to give ... "noisy". Sounds like a template reply.
I doubt reviewer even looked into it, imho.
As Fred pointed out, if they refused best selling pix from SS, what's the point.

For Ariene, no P5 won't start selling them at all, because they don't invest in sales at all.  SS puts huge effort to actually sell our material and I am thankful to them.

What's the point in uploading stuff for days and leave your files on some P5 data base bunker in hope somebody will notice them one day?  :o


« Last Edit: October 16, 2015, 12:10 by KnowYourOnions »

« Reply #7 on: November 23, 2014, 10:07 »
0
Don't loose yourvtime asking the rule of rejection: I found that are absolutely random in every stock company.
Last batch of 95 submitted to Pond5 where I had a 99.99% rate of acceptance, were rejected in one single review, but approved in every other site at 95%.
My absolute best seller (that come from a print publication of very high quality, in a double page A3 size) was rejected five time by shutterstock and sold hundreds of time by IS, FT, DT....
My best seller in SS was rejected by DT and IS, and a snap from the car was sold many many times in CC. And to conclude: a photograph of two pidgeons on a wire with sky only background, was rejected because the lack of release by Istock! It's part of the game, try again and again and....

« Reply #8 on: November 23, 2014, 15:40 »
0
Would anyone be able to explain how the review process for stock footage works in detail based on experience as a reviewer for a footage site? I'm happy to pay a bit to learn about how it works!

Thanks!!
Jeremy

« Reply #9 on: November 23, 2014, 15:59 »
0
Hey Jeremy, from what I ve heard, curators are usually super little paid students that don't care much about their work, as control of their work is practically impossible. Why would they care? Paid peanuts per hour to look into 10K of images per day. Impossible mission, imho.
And usually they are non-English speaking folks too.  :o
Why don't you apply and tell us how great this job must have been. ;-)

P5 - https://jobs.lever.co/pond5/52e99f61-4426-4628-8f9d-be0388b29bd2
SS - http://www.shutterstock.com/jobs/listings/2319-work-from-home-image-reviewer-editorial-north-america-

« Last Edit: November 23, 2014, 16:24 by SSArtist »

« Reply #10 on: October 05, 2015, 06:49 »
+1
I hadnt bothered with Pond5 for a couple of months as nothing had sold but, after a sale last week, I uploaded a batch and could see from the post-review message that they have the reviewing had been done by the Indian company V2 Solutions http://www.v2solutions.com/media/images.html

Based on what had been accepted and sold at other agencies the review was, shall we say, erratic and all the possible rejection reasons were lumped together for all rejected images with a one or more of these apply generic message.

« Reply #11 on: October 06, 2015, 04:01 »
+1
I hadnt bothered with Pond5 for a couple of months as nothing had sold but, after a sale last week, I uploaded a batch and could see from the post-review message that they have the reviewing had been done by the Indian company V2 Solutions http://www.v2solutions.com/media/images.html

Based on what had been accepted and sold at other agencies the review was, shall we say, erratic and all the possible rejection reasons were lumped together for all rejected images with a one or more of these apply generic message.



Now I know why.... although it says they are from California, nevertheless...

I started only two months ago uploading footage to Pond5 and SS. Before someone even reviewed my clips at Pond5 I had already the first sale at SS. SS acceptance 90%. Pond5 only 60%, with always the same (silly) reason (shaky footage) from the same curator. As anyone knows who is contributing to Pond5, it takes a lot of work to upload and prepare your clips before sending them to review. But with obviously amateur reviewers it is not worth the effort, in my opinion. So I dumped Pond5 and concentrate on uploading to SS - so far pretty happy with the results.
« Last Edit: October 06, 2015, 04:06 by roboz »

« Reply #12 on: October 06, 2015, 15:06 »
+1
I have had the same experience with Pond5.  They rejected a couple accepted on SS and approved images rejected by several.  I am starting to see the review process as erratic.  Often the images that sell the best have been rejected by at least one site.

« Reply #13 on: October 11, 2015, 20:05 »
0
Reviews on Pond5 are no more erratic than anywhere else... I've had stuff rejected on SS and IS that are big sellers on Pond5 and Dreamstime.

One thing to remember is that MOST sites offer a way to request a re-review.  You just have to plead your case.  When I ask for a re-review of rejected files on Pond5, I have a 90% success rate.  But I make sure to be specific about why the first reviewer was wrong.

Same with SS, I've been pretty successful getting rejections reversed there as well.

« Reply #14 on: October 14, 2015, 17:23 »
+1
I disagree on the no more erratic, 74 out of 95 rejected, most of which had sold on SS and were on four other sites, seemed quite eccentric but thats by the by.

I agree about the request to re-review.  The strange logic of this at SS has been rehearsed to death on this forum and I have had useful discussions with reviewers who seemed to care at Dreamstime and Fotolia.

At Pond5, though, I dont know what the process is and, in any event, how does one construct a specific argument against a rejection applied to all 74 files of

"These images unfortunately contain one or more of these defects: blurring (it may be caused by poor focus, inadequate light conditions, or insufficient lens quality), noise (it may be caused by a high ISO, inadequate light conditions, or insufficient quality of image sensor), chromatic aberration (it may be caused by insufficient lens quality) and cannot be accepted. We would like to suggest examining your images at 100% resolution before uploading, to avoid this in the future. Thank you for your understanding." ?

Its not something to lose sleep over as I have only sold one image at Pond5 in nearly three months so what they accept, they accept but it is illustrative to me of the QA problems in offshoring core functions, something I am only too familiar with from years in software development.

« Reply #15 on: October 16, 2015, 07:58 »
+2
I care about two things:

1. That my clips & images get accepted
2. That they sell

So far I've been really lucky with #1, really never a problem. But the latter is where I struggle. P5 was good six months ago, but I am lucky to get two sales a month now.

« Reply #16 on: October 16, 2015, 08:03 »
+1
Uploaded 21 of my best sellers from SS and elsewhere to Pond5 and after 3 weeks wait over 60% were rejected!  If my best images can't get through their review process - although they have been accepted at 9 other sites - can't see the point in uploading any more.

I'm a pretty small time photo stocker but been doing this for 7 years and haven't had this experience before.

Anyone else had this from Pond5?  Did I just get a nasty reviewer?

fred

same here, had almost everything rejected in my first batch composed with my best selling images from other agencies

« Reply #17 on: March 23, 2016, 16:55 »
+2
Are they F****** kidding me.

365 images rejected, cause of to mutch noise: (100%/batch)

"Unfortunately, these images are too noisy and cannot be accepted. We'd really like you to submit again, so here are some tips about noise: Noise may be caused by a high ISO, inadequate light conditions, or insufficient quality of image sensor. We would like to suggest examining your images at 100% resolution before uploading, to avoid this in the future. Thank you for your understanding."

Atleast 2/3 of these files are already been accepted, on other sites (ss, fotolia, dreamstime, dp and 123rf)
« Last Edit: March 23, 2016, 16:58 by Sstr »

« Reply #18 on: March 23, 2016, 17:09 »
0
Their review process is out of control. Everyone is complaining about them.


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
10 Replies
3980 Views
Last post April 11, 2014, 00:00
by Me
0 Replies
1308 Views
Last post November 04, 2008, 16:59
by stockmdm
New ways to get paid

Started by zymmetricaldotcom Zymmetrical.com

8 Replies
4341 Views
Last post December 05, 2008, 18:55
by Talanis
3 Replies
1716 Views
Last post January 12, 2012, 12:42
by rinderart
23 Replies
4376 Views
Last post April 06, 2018, 22:46
by SuperPhoto

Sponsors

Microstock Poll Results