MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: All Minipics Now Show Large Previews  (Read 1529 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Leo Blanchette

« on: January 11, 2014, 02:51 »
0
1.5.3
See here: http://www.symbiostock.org/community/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=932


By request hover-previews are generated now. A huge improvement over all previous versions is that ALL minipics, regardless of page, are hover-able and show previews.

Example on my site: http://www.clipartillustration.com/

It was a tricky little issue, but now whenever you hover over a minipic an AJAX process starts, and you can always get the preview regardless of whether or not its a search result. :D
« Last Edit: January 11, 2014, 03:02 by Leo »


« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2014, 03:16 »
0
Lovely!

Things seem to be mostly working but here are a couple of things I noticed:

1. You fixed the problem Martha noted where the preview falls off the right side of the browser window, but the same thing happens if you're at the bottom of the window - the preview is only partially visible and needs to move up by the amount that's hanging off the bottom

2. There's an odd double flash as the preview loads the first time -  the window briefly appears and then goes away again. I can't get a sure-fire description of how to get the double flash but it happens a lot (Chrome, Mac 10.9.1)

3. The alt text (tooltips) shows the title much of the time but it then switches to "undefined". This comes and goes, even for the same page of search results, so it's not a problem with the image itself as you'll sometimes see the title and sometimes see undefined

4. Should we (you!) dump the magnifier icon now there are hover previews? It seems redundant even though you can see the sizes & prices on that window.

5. Once or twice I got a bizarre double preview window for the same image - one a bit higher up than the other - plus a preview for a second image. I can't reproduce this though.

Leo Blanchette

« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2014, 03:56 »
0
1. You fixed the problem Martha noted where the preview falls off the right side of the browser window, but the same thing happens if you're at the bottom of the window - the preview is only partially visible and needs to move up by the amount that's hanging off the bottom

I'll give that a second look. Temporarily I let it pass since its easier to adjust, but if its a big issue I'll see if I can't get it to hover properly. The trick is making sure it doesn't intersect with the mouse pointer or bad things happen.

2. There's an odd double flash as the preview loads the first time -  the window briefly appears and then goes away again. I can't get a sure-fire description of how to get the double flash but it happens a lot (Chrome, Mac 10.9.1)


I'll check that on a few browsers. I hadn't seen it.

3. The alt text (tooltips) shows the title much of the time but it then switches to "undefined". This comes and goes, even for the same page of search results, so it's not a problem with the image itself as you'll sometimes see the title and sometimes see undefined

Let me know what instances you see that. The only way it would go "undefined" is if it displays the image before it gets the response from AJAX.

4. Should we (you!) dump the magnifier icon now there are hover previews? It seems redundant even though you can see the sizes & prices on that window.

I decided to keep those since it shows prices and such.

5. Once or twice I got a bizarre double preview window for the same image - one a bit higher up than the other - plus a preview for a second image. I can't reproduce this though.

Let me know if it happens again. If your being speedy gonzolas with the mouse I can see that might happen.


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
1 Replies
2172 Views
Last post February 26, 2009, 09:46
by hafssol
7 Replies
4036 Views
Last post April 04, 2011, 10:22
by tab62
5 Replies
2313 Views
Last post March 25, 2012, 14:35
by CD123
465 Replies
47252 Views
Last post December 04, 2015, 02:43
by ravens
2 Replies
1700 Views
Last post January 24, 2016, 06:39
by Karen

Sponsors

Mega Bundle of 5,900+ Professional Lightroom Presets

Microstock Poll Results

Sponsors

3100 Posing Cards Bundle