MicrostockGroup Sponsors

Author Topic: Fooducate - Potential Copyright Violations  (Read 2983 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

« on: October 27, 2013, 20:44 »
Somewhere along the line I subscribed to a newsletter by "Fooducate".  Tonight when reading a post about herbs and spices I noticed at the bottom of the article that they had given credit for the images to various websites.  You can see the article here:
newbielink:http://blog.fooducate.com/2013/10/27/top-10-must-have-spices-and-herbs-for-every-pantry [nonactive]
I just checked on the one of nutmeg at the bottom using Google image search and found it is really a Dreamstime image: newbielink:http://www.dreamstime.com/stock-photo-grated-nutmeg-image19501970 [nonactive]

I imagine most of the images are actually stock and are being used without proper licensing.  I'm not the image police, but it irks me that people don't understand that it is not okay to lift an image  from one site and use it on their own.  Anyone want to follow up on this?  I'm not sure of the proper course of action since none of my images are involved.


« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2013, 00:10 »
This happens all the time. Someone buys an image and uses it on their site. Someone else lifts the image but gives credit to the original site thinking that is where the image originated. At least they tried to give credit to who they thought was the original source. I don't think this was intentional however it is still wrong. The final user may not know that what they did was use an image that should be purchased. If they did know, I'm sure they have done it more than once. Although this doesn't make it right, it is a common problem. Images purchased by one party are lifted by another and then another. I'm sure you know that.

If you feel strongly about the second use you can leave a comment on that article or contact them (which will not be easy since it is associated with the New York Times). You can do that yourself since you tracked it down, no one else needs to. You can also contact the DT photographer by leaving a comment on their image in the Tools tab. Another thought, since the photog is not exclusive, they may be selling it on other sites so DT may or may not be the place where the original purchase was made. I'm afraid that if you look further you will find many of these.


Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
16 Replies
Last post May 10, 2008, 02:41
by DanP68
8 Replies
Last post July 12, 2008, 08:18
by Nemo1024
27 Replies
Last post August 28, 2014, 12:23
by PixelBytes
5 Replies
Last post July 11, 2014, 11:38
by MatHayward
10 Replies
Last post March 21, 2019, 05:19
by soozinz


Mega Bundle of 5,900+ Professional Lightroom Presets

Microstock Poll Results


3100 Posing Cards Bundle