pancakes

MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: Everyone with a Complaint about IStock - THIS WORKED  (Read 14960 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

nruboc

« on: April 04, 2011, 13:49 »
0

Everyone who has a complaint about IStock, I would like to give a possible remedy that actually worked for me. I had a situation where I requested my images be removed from ThinkStock and after 6 months of waiting they still were not removed.

So I filed a complaint with the BBB (Better Business Bureau) of Canada.
http://www.bbb.org/canada/

It appears that IStock is eager to keep their A+  rating. In order to do so, they must resolve all complaints. A few days after complaining, my images were down. A great way to get some action taken if you have a legitimate complaint.


« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2011, 13:54 »
0
I can't believe this slipped my mind.

Of course, great job!

Yes, go ahead and keep informing the BBB as this has a major impact on iStock credibility and their image.

« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2011, 14:15 »
0
The same story with my father. He asked to remove his images just after thinkstock appears instead stockxpert. All images are still there! Every time hi writes to support and ask why they didn't remove images they replay him with standard answer (please wait for three months) but this no need to say that three months passed long ago...
How do you think will this BBB complaint work for non Canadians?

« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2011, 14:16 »
0
The same story with my father. He asked to remove his images just after thinkstock appears instead stockxpert. All images are still there! Every time hi writes to support and ask why they didn't remove images they replay him with standard answer (please wait for three months) but this no need to say that three months passed long ago...
How do you think will this BBB complaint work for non Canadians?

I wouldn't think that would matter. If you do business with istock, I would think you qualify to file a complaint.

« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2011, 14:24 »
0
At some point I hope to pull all my stuff out of IS and if they don't do that in a reasonable length of time,  this will be a good tactic to employ.

There is indeed a point where a business is no longer just "disorganized" or "screwed up", but has crossed the line into "shady" and "dishonest".

« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2011, 14:47 »
0
Hi nruboc,

Glad it worked out for you. My images are still there in spite of several complaints and requests of removal. My mails are being forwarded and I never hear back. I was thinking about sending a DMCA takedown notice, but this seems better.

I just have no idea which radio buttons to check here ?

Quote
Does your complaint concern employment practices?
 Yes  No
Does your complaint allege discrimination?
 Yes  No
Does your complaint allege civil rights violations?
 Yes  No
Has this complaint case ever been involved in litigation?
 Yes  No

digitalexpressionimages

« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2011, 14:53 »
0
I don't think istock is unique in their practice. Every agency is reluctant to remove images. When it happened to me (not with istock, won't go into who) I sent them a very stern warning that they were infringing on copyright as they were displaying my property without my consent. After 6 months of waiting, my account was taken down within 36 hours.

« Reply #7 on: April 04, 2011, 15:11 »
0

Everyone who has a complaint about IStock, I would like to give a possible remedy that actually worked for me. I had a situation where I requested my images be removed from ThinkStock and after 6 months of waiting they still were not removed.

So I filed a complaint with the BBB (Better Business Bureau) of Canada.
http://www.bbb.org/canada/

It appears that IStock is eager to keep their A+  rating. In order to do so, they must resolve all complaints. A few days after complaining, my images were down. A great way to get some action taken if you have a legitimate complaint.

If this gets out, which it seems to already have, iStock may need to start hiring more staff.

« Reply #8 on: April 04, 2011, 15:42 »
0
Start flooding the BBB with complaints about the clawback! ;D

« Reply #9 on: April 04, 2011, 15:42 »
0
GREAT idea. Circulating!

« Reply #10 on: April 04, 2011, 15:46 »
0
Someone needs to contact this iStocker:

I just noticed my account dropped $60+. I haven't received an email or sitemail regarding this action.  Are we getting Banged again?


http://www.istockphoto.com/forum_messages.php?threadid=321042&page=1

« Reply #11 on: April 04, 2011, 15:47 »
0
What about the rounding down of commissions that I read about on another thread?  We could all put in a complaint about that.

« Reply #12 on: April 04, 2011, 16:03 »
0
There are so many valid things to complain about, thanks for posting this nruboc, i hope many of us will file a complaint :)

« Reply #13 on: April 04, 2011, 16:13 »
0
What about the rounding down of commissions that I read about on another thread?  We could all put in a complaint about that.

Oh, yes. That, too. For sure.

« Reply #14 on: April 04, 2011, 17:06 »
0
Someone needs to contact this iStocker:

I just noticed my account dropped $60+. I haven't received an email or sitemail regarding this action.  Are we getting Banged again?


http://www.istockphoto.com/forum_messages.php?threadid=321042&page=1


Thread is locked and admins are contacting him/her privately. That way, none of us can know exactly why their account dropped $60.

« Reply #15 on: April 04, 2011, 17:21 »
0

Thread is locked and admins are contacting him/her privately. That way, none of us can know exactly why their account dropped $60.

Yup. How long before the thread disappears?

nruboc

« Reply #16 on: April 04, 2011, 17:28 »
0
There are so many valid things to complain about, thanks for posting this nruboc, i hope many of us will file a complaint :)

Sure no problemo... actually VB inc should get some thanks too, because he inspired me to post :)

« Reply #17 on: April 04, 2011, 17:38 »
0
There are so many valid things to complain about, thanks for posting this nruboc, i hope many of us will file a complaint :)

Sure no problemo... actually VB inc should get some thanks too, because he inspired me to post :)

You're such a hater! ;)

nruboc

« Reply #18 on: April 04, 2011, 17:43 »
0
Hi nruboc,

Glad it worked out for you. My images are still there in spite of several complaints and requests of removal. My mails are being forwarded and I never hear back. I was thinking about sending a DMCA takedown notice, but this seems better.

I just have no idea which radio buttons to check here ?

Quote
Does your complaint concern employment practices?
 Yes  No
Does your complaint allege discrimination?
 Yes  No
Does your complaint allege civil rights violations?
 Yes  No
Has this complaint case ever been involved in litigation?
 Yes  No

Hi There,

I put 'No' for all of those, but you may interpret 'employment' in the first question differently. Since they are paying you. I think either a Yes or No for the first question would apply

« Reply #19 on: April 04, 2011, 17:58 »
0
Can people also complain about their crappy customer service and their rudeness?

lisafx

« Reply #20 on: April 04, 2011, 18:07 »
0
Really great idea!  Thanks so much for sharing this!

I might suggest only contacting BBB with specific complaints though.  If they are suddenly flooded with all sorts of complaints along the lines of "they suck", I think they may not take them as seriously. 

« Reply #21 on: April 04, 2011, 18:34 »
0
Really great idea!  Thanks so much for sharing this!

I might suggest only contacting BBB with specific complaints though.  If they are suddenly flooded with all sorts of complaints along the lines of "they suck", I think they may not take them as seriously. 
I completely agree. As far as reputation is concerned, iStock has already done a fantastic job of shooting themselves in the foot many times over. But for e-mails and requests that go unanswered for weeks (I've always had a pretty decent turnaround time for my support tix), the BBB is definitely the way to go to get things moving if all else fails. 

« Reply #22 on: April 04, 2011, 18:43 »
0
Can people also complain about their crappy customer service and their rudeness?

to be honest the only rudeness I've seen is on the forums from the likes of Lobo, whenever I've contacted customer service directly they have been very polite.

« Reply #23 on: April 04, 2011, 19:20 »
0
Can people also complain about their crappy customer service and their rudeness?

to be honest the only rudeness I've seen is on the forums from the likes of Lobo, whenever I've contacted customer service directly they have been very polite.

It hasn't affected me, but it appears that customer service is very very slow on response time to customer inquiries in several threads I've seen regarding refunds, people buying credits and not having them appear in their account, etc.

nruboc

« Reply #24 on: April 04, 2011, 19:35 »
0
There are so many valid things to complain about, thanks for posting this nruboc, i hope many of us will file a complaint :)

Sure no problemo... actually VB inc should get some thanks too, because he inspired me to post :)

You're such a hater! ;)

With good reason :)


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
2 Replies
3330 Views
Last post March 13, 2007, 16:11
by ludesal
63 Replies
14689 Views
Last post January 10, 2014, 21:16
by ShadySue
0 Replies
1386 Views
Last post December 28, 2015, 12:27
by seawhisper
4 Replies
2666 Views
Last post January 29, 2018, 12:09
by BaldricksTrousers
10 Replies
9563 Views
Last post February 08, 2020, 02:58
by Alex_YayImages

Sponsors

Mega Bundle of 5,900+ Professional Lightroom Presets

Microstock Poll Results

Sponsors

3100 Posing Cards Bundle