pancakes

MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: Review times indicator way off?  (Read 1980 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

« on: October 01, 2011, 05:55 »
0
Hi everyone,

I was wondering, is it just me, or is the review times indicator on CanStock's homepage way off?  For instance, I uploaded some files last night and, at the time, it said review time was about 4 minutes.  Currently, it says 33 minutes.  The batch I uploaded last night (about 16 hours ago) is still in the pending queue.  I have similar experiences with other batches.

I am not really complaining about the review times as such, since CanStock is usually still fast compared to other sites.  It's just that, when a site makes a big deal about displaying current review times, it is pretty annoying when they do not appear to make sense.  If you it's not possible to predict review times reliably (or at least within a small margin), then I think it would be better to not show anything at all.  If you can't deliver what you are promising, so to speak, it gets to be a little frustrating.

Anyway, just curious if I am the only one experiencing this and, if not, how other people feel about this.  In general, I like CanStock and I would like to see it do well.  So this bugs me a bit...

Inge


« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2011, 09:49 »
0
They are pretty close to the time posted as long as you don't attach a new model release, then it can take a week.  Next time you use same release it won't take that long.

« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2011, 10:02 »
0
Hmmm... mine don't even have (or need) releases, so that shouldn't be the problem.  Still good to know, though.

« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2011, 18:51 »
0
Once in a while there's a glitch - I just contacted support about some files still pending after a week. There was some sort of problem which was quickly sorted out. If things aren't through the queue on Monday, perhaps try a support ticket.

Other than releases, use of certain keywords can flag files for special handling. The Olympic Mountains in Western Washington got one of my files in trouble - Olympics is one of the "laywers look at it" keywords that can hold up a file. I'm not aware of any list of such keywords you can consult, however.

« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2011, 04:17 »
0
Apparently, they were having an issue with the introduction of some new code.  I received an email that my files were corrupt, but later I received another message telling me that was a glitch and my files temporarily got lost in the system.  I was able to resubmit the files today (they were still there, I just had to click the button to submit them for review), and they were reviewed within the time limit indicated on the home page.

Although, of course, any glitch is inconvenient, these things happen and I was happy with their communication about the issue.


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
review times

Started by Greg Boiarsky General Stock Discussion

2 Replies
3797 Views
Last post September 01, 2006, 12:01
by Wisent
9 Replies
5361 Views
Last post December 04, 2007, 10:39
by maco0708
5 Replies
3764 Views
Last post April 10, 2008, 17:05
by camera shy
4 Replies
2729 Views
Last post November 08, 2007, 12:07
by vonkara
49 Replies
13820 Views
Last post August 10, 2008, 08:01
by borg

Sponsors

Mega Bundle of 5,900+ Professional Lightroom Presets

Microstock Poll Results

Sponsors

3100 Posing Cards Bundle