pancakes

MicrostockGroup Sponsors


Author Topic: Removing photos from your DP port?  (Read 2183 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

« on: October 22, 2023, 23:17 »
0
I'm considering joining DepositPhotos for a little extra cash. So far, Ive mainly contributed to the big agencies like SS, IS and AS. I'm not expecting huge sales from DP (seeing as they're a small agency) but a few extra dollars would be nice.

Out curiosity, is it straight forward to remove or disable individual photos from your port at any time? And would those same images then be removed from the partner sites?

Also, is editing metadata after submission straight forward as well?


« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2023, 23:49 »
0
You cannot delete your images at all, you can only deactivate them, so they are not up for sale anymore.
You have a list of your online photos in your dashboard and there is a deactivate as well as an edit button next to each image. While that's relatively easy to access, you have to do it one by one. Depending on how many images you have in your port deactivating them all can take hours.

In their ToS they write if you cancel your account, all images will be deleted within a year, but remain in their database till then. They do not mention any rules about how they proceed with images sold through partner sites. Though, from what I have heard, having images removed from partner sites even after you delete content or a whole account is very often problematic on all stock agencies.

« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2023, 00:07 »
0
In their ToS they write if you cancel your account, all images will be deleted within a year, but remain in their database till then. They do not mention any rules about how they proceed with images sold through partner sites. Though, from what I have heard, having images removed from partner sites even after you delete content or a whole account is very often problematic on all stock agencies.

Yea in the past, Ive read about Yay Images and the issues with removing images from that agency. I know that with Yay, any photos removed will still be available for sale on the partner sites. I was hoping that other agencies would be better in that regard (allowing removal from all partner sites.)

« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2023, 02:34 »
0
You cannot delete your images at all, you can only deactivate them, so they are not up for sale anymore.
You have a list of your online photos in your dashboard and there is a deactivate as well as an edit button next to each image. While that's relatively easy to access, you have to do it one by one. Depending on how many images you have in your port deactivating them all can take hours.

In their ToS they write if you cancel your account, all images will be deleted within a year, but remain in their database till then. They do not mention any rules about how they proceed with images sold through partner sites. Though, from what I have heard, having images removed from partner sites even after you delete content or a whole account is very often problematic on all stock agencies.

At some point I had a few images that I wanted to delete and after deactivating them, there was also a delete option. I don't know if that's still the case.

« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2023, 05:40 »
0
I'm considering joining DepositPhotos for a little extra cash. So far, Ive mainly contributed to the big agencies like SS, IS and AS. I'm not expecting huge sales from DP (seeing as they're a small agency) but a few extra dollars would be nice.

Out curiosity, is it straight forward to remove or disable individual photos from your port at any time? And would those same images then be removed from the partner sites?

Also, is editing metadata after submission straight forward as well?

uploading photos and adding metadata to DP is very simple,one of the faster agencies for uploading content if not the faster ever.

I deleted a lot of content on DP in the past so it can be done,I don't remember how a couple of years,maybe 3 years went by.

this year I decided to try again and after uploading a couple of thousand contents I started selling a lot.
now again I haven't sold anything for a month,but I haven't been uploading for a couple of months I think.

so I believe that if you upload a lot of content regularly,you continue to sell otherwise you don't sell anything.

Now I'll see how it goes,I'll wait a bit,but if I continue to sell absolutely nothing without new uploads,I'll quit again.

« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2023, 05:46 »
0


At some point I had a few images that I wanted to delete and after deactivating them, there was also a delete option. I don't know if that's still the case.
No,  there is no delete button, just a re-activate button and I do not think there ever was. I found an old thread where it was already discussed that DP does not offer a delete option.
Dreamstime is the agency where you have to deactivate images and then you get a delete option once you deactivate the image. Maybe you are confusing these two?
« Last Edit: October 24, 2023, 07:39 by Her Ugliness »

« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2023, 05:54 »
0


At some point I had a few images that I wanted to delete and after deactivating them, there was also a delete option. I don't know if that's still the case.
No,  there is no delete button, just a re-activate button and I do not think there ever was. I found a thread from 2016 where it was already discussed that DP does not offer a delete option.
Dreamstime is the agency where you have to deactivate images and then you get a delete option once you deactivate the image. Maybe you are confusing these two?

no I deleted them,I don't know now,but I deleted them because when I started reuploading this year I had no more content,I had deleted them all.

maybe it's possible that I sent an email to DP,as I said I don't remember because it's been about 3 years,but I sure deleted them all.
« Last Edit: October 24, 2023, 06:07 by Injustice for all »

« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2023, 07:39 »
0


maybe it's possible that I sent an email to DP,as I said I don't remember because it's been about 3 years,but I sure deleted them all.

This was actually mentioned in the thread - They also do not delete content after e-Mail request:
https://www.microstockgroup.com/depositphotos/we-can-not-delete-your-files-fro-dp/


« Reply #8 on: October 24, 2023, 11:58 »
0


maybe it's possible that I sent an email to DP,as I said I don't remember because it's been about 3 years,but I sure deleted them all.

This was actually mentioned in the thread - They also do not delete content after e-Mail request:
https://www.microstockgroup.com/depositphotos/we-can-not-delete-your-files-fro-dp/

very strange indeed!anyway it was 2012,perhaps something has changed in the meantime.

Now I want to know how I did it too because I think I'll have to do it again soon! :D

I still leave my content for a few months,It was going pretty well before,good enough for DP!


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
4 Replies
5759 Views
Last post December 11, 2008, 18:26
by kaycee
9 Replies
5380 Views
Last post November 22, 2011, 00:55
by RacePhoto
2 Replies
3319 Views
Last post December 01, 2014, 04:24
by Yay Images Billionaire
6 Replies
2368 Views
Last post March 06, 2019, 12:41
by cathyslife
0 Replies
2464 Views
Last post January 01, 2021, 11:09
by Slavoj

Sponsors

Mega Bundle of 5,900+ Professional Lightroom Presets

Microstock Poll Results

Sponsors